We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bar staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eighty8 Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing bar staff!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed in a delux dorm during my stay as the standards were full, the rooms were spacious with a locker big enough for my backpack. The beds were huge and super comfortable! The hostel itself is a bit out of the main city area but i didn't find this an issue, they have a tuk-tuk stand outside and the drivers are super nice, one even took us to his local restaurant and ordered all our food (none of the menu was i English). The hostel also offers a free tuk-tuk pick up when you first arrive so even though my mini bus from Kampot was over 40 minutes late the driver was still waiting for me! The pool is a huge bonus in the city and ive heard they do have pool parties although i missed the one for the month when i was there! But possibly the best part of the hostel are the bar staff, they are super friendly and remembered my name straight away! They were always smiling and are a real credit to the hostel, especially Charlie (it was a while ago that i stayed but i think thats his name)! I really recommend this hostel if you don't mind being away from the night life and even then a few people in a tuk-tuk really doesn't cost too much money!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank British_Travel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    218
    88
    29
    26
See reviews for
17
151
174
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It's a really nice place where you can spend a few days.
The bar is good, a bit overpriced if you compare it with local bars around the area but it's OK for food and some drinks. We stayed in a private room and it was very clean and big enough for two people.
The stuff is lovely, super friendly and always trying to be helpful.
The main problem I found was the music, always the same songs and during the afternoon/evening it was too loud.
We definitely enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdropl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Loved this place - the staff were really friendly and accommodating, the communal area is cool with a funky renovated colonial design, plenty of space and a swimming pool. the food was DELICIOUS and the music was cool. everything was clean and well maintained. the wifi was reasonably fast and the most reliable I had in my whole trip. HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone coming through Phnom Penh.
Book ahead, they are (understandably) popular.
Thanks for an awesome stay Peter!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was by far the cleanest hostel i have stay at, i read a few comments about the price of the food, it is more expensive than the local street food but defo worth it! they have a swimming pool and the bar area is always full of other travellers to chat to. They have WIFI downstairs in the common area which is free and they also clean your clothes properly not like the cheap place down the road that lost my fisherman pants. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable, with huge beds, a great bar /restaurant area and swimming pool. The staff are incredibly helpful (Ta the receptionist is a legend!) and it's very reasonably priced.

Next time I'm in Phnom Penh, I'll definitely stay here!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Would definitely recommend this place in Phnom Penh - decent but not great location, good communal area with swimming pool, and friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were fairly nice with massive beds which was great

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Friendly staff, most spoke pretty decent English which was a nice surprise as most Cambodians I encountered did not. The rooms were nice and pretty clean, with wide comfy beds a strong ceiling fan and good air conditioning. However there was no door to our bathroom -_- ... Also my friend had some clothes washed at the hostel during our stay and they lost his towel as well as gave him a pair of someone else's socks...I am not sure if the owner of the penguin socks was able to reclaim them but my friend's towel is still out there somewhere. The staff in turn gave him one of the hostel towels which served us just as well.

The food at this hostel was very good but a little on the pricey side, if ordering fruit juice make sure to specify if you want it made with actual fruit and not syrup. Had a few instances where my drink order was mixed up but the staff was very polite and corrected my order at no extra cost.
Wifi only works downstairs near the bar area and the pool is not really for swimming. It is quite small and in a place where it would be very awkward to parade around in a bikini. But none the less it adds a nice decorative touch.
I did not schedule any of the tours they offer because I found them to be over priced, I think the trip to Oudong Mountain was priced at 30$ and The Killing Fields tour was 18$ but I managed to get a TukTuk to driver to take me and my friend to Oudong and the Killing Fields(Choeung Ek) for 25$ total. We gave the guy 5$ gas at the end of the day (in the morning we saw him put in 2$ which got us to Oudong and back no problem) and invited him to have lunch with us Both locations are in fact very far from eachother but as you will see 1$ goes a very long way in Cambodia....our grand total was probably around 42$ for the day including our own lunches as opposed to 48$ for JUST transportation had we booked through 88Backpackers. Also I am not sure if their Killing field tour is to the actual Choeung Ek or if they only take you to Tuol Sleng...

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags consider a lower floor...there is no elevator here and none of the staff even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colombianita201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Manager at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for the feedback.

Your info on the tours is not correct.... not really sure what your point is.

Safe onward travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,152 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 243 in Phnom Penh
1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 243 in Phnom Penh
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#19 of 243 in Phnom Penh
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Property: Eighty8 Backpackers
Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 243 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hostel in the city complete with a swimming pool and now including an amazing FREE breakfast buffet per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing