We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers? Really?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eighty8 Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Backpackers? Really?”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We thought we'd save some money by booking into a backpackers. What a surprise! If the name didn't give it away I would have never known! We stayed in a double room which had an ensuite bathroom, very clean and spacious (cleaned daily). The AC was fantastic! The pool was cleaned every morning and great to jump into after the heat of the day. The bar/restaurant/pool area is a great place to meet other travellers but also has places to sit on your own to contemplate your next adventure. The staff are friendly and can't do enough to help (if they don't understand your needs they will find someone who does). Food good, wifi works, all our trips, buses visa's etc booked here. A little out of town but a great walk into it. The manager is friendly and helpful (but watch your hubcaps-joke!).
We loved this place so much we came back for a second visit. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOOtsie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    218
    88
    29
    26
See reviews for
17
151
174
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Coming from a 4* hotel in Vietnam the idea of backpacking could be seen as a step down. How wrong could I be ! From the moment we were met at the bus stop to the moment the kitchen staff went out to find the ingredients that they had run out for our meal of all the staff have been first class. We stayed in a private room with en suite which was cleaned every day and had it's own balcony which was a great touch. Slightly out of the town centre (no bad thing) the Tuk Tuk drivers that operate from here are 100% trustworthy and go out of their way to tailor your trip to exactly what you need and want. The happy hour and quality of food cannot be faulted and so far this has been our favourite property in SE Asia. Would definitely stay here again and recommend this to anyone. Awesome !

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UkWowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in the Standard Double Bed Private Ensuite, it was clean, bathroom was big. It's not prepared when we arrived so we had to wait. You can book bus ticket at the reception, and the bus company will pick you up at the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

very nice backpacker atmosphere, stylish interior including pool, location okay, possibility to rent motorbike and to book trips, friendly service, restaurant a bit expensive! we really enjoyed our stay. definitely recommendable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

One of the best hostels I've stayed in on my travels. Dorms were very clean and comfortable and the bar was great for meeting others. Reasonably close to bars and other attractions, just a short tuktuk drive away!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hostel without a booking and were fortunate enough to be checked in straight away. The hostel bar was busy but not too loud and the rooms and bathroom were very clean. The hostel really did exceed our expectations and the bar staff and reception staff were very accommodating and welcoming. Do not expect a palace when you arrive (it is still very much a hostel) but it is great value for what you pay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if ever in Phnom Penh.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We booked a superior double room two days ahead of time. When we arrived they had lost our booking through a system glitch, and offered us a mattress in an empty room, which we reluctantly accepted for $10 for the night. It turned out to be worse than expected, and in hindsight we probably should have looked for something else. The walls didn't go all the way to the ceiling, so the hallway light flooded the room and we heard people in the hallways all night. The next morning we asked to speak to management but we were met with resistance. We persisted and were able to speak to the owners the following day, who explained the cultural differences and reasons for their reaction to a complaint. They refunded the first night and were empathetic about the situation, and very easy to deal with. If you have a problem at this hostel, be sure to speak to management. They will do what they can to resolve it. We regret not having done so sooner.

Overall we left more than satisfied with our stay. The rooms are clean, the pool is great, the showers are HOT, the food is good (if a bit overpriced) and the drinks are cheap and delicious!! Try the happy truffles!!! I wish I had bought a few more for the trip. We had problems using wifi on our phones during the evenings but everyone around us using computers seemed to have no issues. If you're shy about bumping out staff to use the pool table like we were, write your name on the board (a tip we wish we had known sooner). Although we mentioned this to the owner and don't think it will be an issue again.

All in all a great experience - just make sure to speak to the owner if you have a problem - he really will bend over backwards to resolve issues, if you are able to speak to him.

After meeting management it is clear that they are great people doing great things for Cambodia, and it's worth splurging for a couple of days on good drinks and meals brought to you by the pool :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Happy to have helped.

Happy that we could fix your problems.

Safe onwards travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,151 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,487 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 243 in Phnom Penh
1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 243 in Phnom Penh
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#19 of 243 in Phnom Penh
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Property: Eighty8 Backpackers
Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 243 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hostel in the city complete with a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing