We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be a 3 stars hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Ranked #85 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 21 September 2013

New hotel in a quiet area.
Pros: Clean hotel, nice rooms, swimming pool in terrace, good breakfast variety. Quiet location.
Cons: No wardrobe or safe in rooms. Badly design showers, gets wet all over. Small lobby. No air condition in breakfast area, so flies are seen. Far from downtown.
While still a good hotel for the money, I gave 4 stars because the place is clean, staff very friendly and courteous, but because of the cons, I will not comeback to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoskTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for only 2 nights.
We found the hotel to be in a great location. Staff where very friendly, we received a wonderful welcome upon arriving and they where also very helpful with information.

Breakfast was not anything too exciting but the coffee was the best in Cambodia!

Tuc-tuc drivers outside hotel where very trust worthy and very reasonable. We had a lovely man drive us all the way up to Siem Reap!

All in all value for money and would stay here again with out a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieCD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The location was great nice and quiet what you need for either a holiday or business, for us it was business we had a convention and all organized well, the restaurant menu was also perfect some Western food, also local food and staff was good service with a smile, the main pool always clean, on the roof had a bar & you could order from the menu of the restaurant and had a great big rooftop Spa to relax and plenty of seating either for pleasure or business, the rooms were clean & best of all the internet worked every time and included in the price, just a 3 minute walk is the Russian market lots of local artifacts, art and clothing also the local Tuk Tuk guys were very fair with their prices and knew every where we needed to go . An awesome stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankbuck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed for nearly 2 weeks in the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel. The place was central to everything but the little alleyway to enter into it made it an oasis. The rooms were beautiful but the best thing about the place was the friendliness of the staff. There was one particular lady there called Channa who was brilliant in her willingness to help and initiative.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony because it can feel a little caged in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We thought we were booked in this hotels' sister hotel (there are several hotels named frangipani in the area), we wanted the one with the pool and we made the reservations directly with their site. We requested to be transferred but the receptionist said their sister hotels were booked, and she did not even check by calling or looking at her computer. Since we were just staying one night only, we let it pass. On hindsight, thank goodness it was just a stay for one night. The floor in the room was dirtier than the streets outside. We were wearing sandals and when we removed them to walk barefoot in the room, we had to scrub our feet literally to remove the dirt. I don't know how this hotel can pass off as a boutique hotel, the rooms looked like they were only $20 a night. (see attached pictures). Breakfast was only an egg station and a handful of selections. Not recommended, we passed by its sister hotel when we were walking and we wouldn't have minded paying more for a room that looked better. We wanted to laze around the room but the ambience in the room fairly shouted at us to get out..it had a dark and depressing feel since the walls were not painted, it was just cement. And there was just a curtain separating the bathroom from the bedroom, maybe it was part of their boutique hotel thme but it looked cheap and unworthy of the room's cost. Have seen hostels and guesthouses looking better than this. And we were also baffled as to why there was a ladder in the bathroom. The hotel name is a misnomer. yes, I am aware that they are close to the campus of teh School of Fine Arts but there should be an effort at least to live up to those words. Sadly, there is nothing fine nor artistic about the place. Two good things though about our stay is the good water pressure in the showere despite the dirty looking tub; and the smiling receptionist assigned during the day who was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwano a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We travel often to Phnom Penh and have stayed many times at the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel. My original review was to pose the question: boutique or upscale backpacker hotel? Certainly it is among the best values in town, and although some services have declined, such as the nice breakfast, replaced by a rather desultory buffet, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming.

And then we got robbed. Our room was 105, on the 2nd floor. The front door had a chain and the balcony was locked. Sometime during the night, a thief was able to get in through one of the windows we believe (my wife heard a strange tapping outside before she fell asleep). The thief came into the room and stole my ipad, iphone, and some cash from the bedside table next to my head. This was a serious professional as I am a light sleeper (I thought I was...). They then exited through the balcony door, and hopped over to the next building. In the morning we couldn't believe it had happened.

The hotel helped us call the tourist police, who extorted $30 dollars from me and allegedly another $10 from the hotel. The hotel offered to pay for half which was kind on the day, although I now think they might have paid it all. There were apparently 2 guards on duty, although I have no faith in night watchmen in Cambodia, who are usually asleep or drunk (no offense intended, I'm the same myself most nights).

The reason I am ranking the hotel with only 2 stars is that in my view, regardless of how nice the staff are or how good a value a place is at any price segment, the hotel's primary objective should be to keep their guests safe. And in this regard, the hotel failed miserably. We had an intruder in the room as we slept. End of story really. I'll note there are security cams all over the hallways, but none facing the interior courtyard; and that the building is surrounded by open apartments that make entry quite easy for a skilled thief. We are really happy nobody was hurt. I strongly suggest the hotel add bars across the bathroom windows, and to tell the guests to bolt the balcony doors.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 1st or 2nd floor rooms! The higher the better. Lock everything and put your valua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevieDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights on our way back to Vietnam. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice and clean it was. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast is good. Just a short 7 minute walk to the riverfront street with loads of great bars, shops, and restaurants. We would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReynaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
#27 of 274 in Phnom Penh
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 274 in Phnom Penh
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#44 of 274 in Phnom Penh
458 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel

Address: # 43 Street 178, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh, Pearl of Asia in 1920s and the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Ideally situated at the heart of Phnom Penh City and just few minute walk from the riverfront, along Sisovath Quay and the banks of the Tonle Sap, Mekong and Bassac rivers, this leading Phnom Penh boutique hotel is within easy reach of tourist attractions and Phnom Penh landmarks like Royal University of Fine Arts, the National Artefacts Museum, the resplendent Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the quaint streets dotted with charming cafe, designer shops, and art galleries of Phnom Penh. This charming accommodation has a long been a favorite in Phnom Penh for both business and leisure travelers and also makes an ideal base for sight-seeing tours of Wat Phnom, Independent Monument, Toul Sleng Genocide Museum, Russian Market, dazzling sunset boat cruises along the Mekong River and other touristic and lively areas. All well decorated and comfortable guest rooms with their large spaces and furniture as well as standard amenities at the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel would give you a comfort and feel of home away from the home. The Room is well equipped with modern amenities and you can choose from 3 different categories of rooms – twin junior suite room, double junior suite room and double suite room. The Fine Arts Restaurant on the ground floor offer fine Royal Khmer and French cuisines and offer a large selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing