We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away, hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Ranked #86 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Nice location, tucked in the arts district. Very little street frontage as it really is a hidden gem.
Staff are very humble and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. Mind your feet, there are lips on most floors so stubbing toes on the first night was common.
Plus side- location, comfort and quiet. Good safe and air conditioning
Minus side - towels thin and didn't seem to be changed each day.

All and all a good experience - stay was for 4 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We made our own way to the hotel and it's about 20mins away from the airport. The lobby has a greek mediterranean feel but the chinese red lanterns in the cafe area threw us into a slight confusion in its theme hahaaa...
The staffs were quite helpful and checked us in pretty fast, 7 of us were all assigned 4 rooms at Level 9 and the room interior is quite special with its sink outside the bathroom. My room's airconditioning is weak whereas my friend's room's aircon is strong. There's only 1 lift serving all 12th levels and we ended up walking down the stairs when the lift took too long and is packed by the time it reaches our level.
But the most irritating bit was when all the rooms' water started getting cut off after 1 person finished showering. Called the staff to help turn on the water again and it took them more than 2 hours till 12:30am to get the water back on.
The rooftop pool looks inviting but we didn't manage to try it. Breakfast lacks variety but we got by with it as we were checking out already. Overall the value is good except for the missing water.

Room Tip: High floors are advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venusattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our group of four loved our stay here. This adorable boutique hotel is tucked away down a cute laneway entrance, like a little hidden gem. Being from Melbourne, home of laneway venues it felt a bit like home. The hotel has a luxe resort feel- polished concrete, low-key neutral tones and a cute outdoor bar and courtyard. Our rooms exceeded our expectations - spacious and comfortable with a huge bath. Breakfasts were great and they even had NZ ice cream. You can use the pool at the sister hotel, a 5 minute walk away or $2USD by Tuktuk. The pool has a great night time view over the Royal Palace, and you can enjoy a cocktail at the bar. The walk didn't bother us, we looked through the artisan shops on the way. Staff were great - polite, accommodating and ready with drinks on arrival. They connected us with Mr Sol our intrepid driver who drove us to Siem Reap and back. He also has a tuktuk in Siem Reap so drove us around the temples. Highly recommend using his service! He made our trip!
Overall Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel provides the perfect retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the hot, dusty Phnom Penh streets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A pleasant surprise as you walk down the alley. A very cool and cosy resort feel but there is no pool. You can walk to a nearby sister hotel and use the pool there but really spoils the holiday feel. Showers were awful. Too hot or too cold. Impossible to get the temperature correct. Apart from these issues the rooms were very nice and roomy with a balcony. No views. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

From the street this might look dodgy, but go down the alley way to find a delightful, clean hotel. Rooms are large and well enough appointed, and the breakfast is great with omelettes to order. The little square where you dine is quiet and cool and they serve drinks and lunch there too. If you'd like to swim the sister hotel down the road has a rooftop pool and bar, which you can use by getting a coupon from reception.

My only complaint was that the staff spoke less English than they really need in a hotel with mainly foreign guests. I had a Group of 18, all with differing standards of rooms, and although I tried to check in each one individually ensuring they all got the right room types, it became clear on check out that this had not occurred, with some of those who paid the lower price having had the best rooms (good for them but not so good for the ones who missed out). It also meant that the additional room charges were all on the wrong rooms. It was hard to sort out due to the lack of English and the fact that the staff kept telling me that the computers were 'broken'.

However the price was extremely good and the hotel very nice so these things can be managed as long as you maintain a good cheer! There's no point getting upset as they are just such beautiful and well-meaning people.

I highly recommend this hotel for any one with a budget i this range.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting the standard of room you ordered as it seems a bit hit and miss in this re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for a few days and returning next week. Rooms are good size and the place is trendy - polished concrete floors, feature brickwork. Very nice feel about the place and the breakfast cooks make a killer omelette. Breakfast is quite limited sufficient.

Finding the place can be a challenge for Tuk tuk drivers as it is up a small lane way and cannot be seen from the road. Very close to waterfront and the fabulous Latin Quarter restaurant is only 50 metres. Close to Palace and a ride to the Central Market is $3.

Only gripe was the bathroom. The water was either cold or seriously scalding and we had to constantly - and I mean every 5 seconds - alter the settings or gelt out of the way. Someone could get a serious burn from this. We had a shower/bath in our room and it is shaped so the flat spot is very small making standing sideways the only option. Quite high too so if mobility is a problem request a room with shower only and not the bath. There was 18 of us from 1 group and we all had a whinge about the shower.

No pool but you can get a voucher and walk 100 metres up the road to another frangipani hotel and use the pool there. Everyone said it was v good.
Despite that we are staying there again so it was not a deal breaker but I now know what to request.

Room Tip: Request shower only no bath. No lift so closer to the ground is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel entrance is a little bit hard to find cause there's only a very small sign on the street that leads to a long corridor. But once you stepped inside, you'll feel that this place is one of those amazing boutique hotels. The rooms are very clean but exceptional friendly staff. I highly recommend this hotel especially they take a stand on no sex tourism that has become a very serious problem in Cambodia. This also mean one thing though, no guests are allowed to stay overnight.

Best part of this hotel is that right opposite on the street has some amazing street food and if you walked along a little further, it is all the painting and art store in the district. Amazing location!

The only downfall of this place is that there're no bathroom door with just curtains. Make sure you're really comfortable with who you're sharing the room with, otherwise its pretty awkward.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mythary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
#24 of 274 in Phnom Penh
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 274 in Phnom Penh
875 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel

Address: # 43 Street 178, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh, Pearl of Asia in 1920s and the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Ideally situated at the heart of Phnom Penh City and just few minute walk from the riverfront, along Sisovath Quay and the banks of the Tonle Sap, Mekong and Bassac rivers, this leading Phnom Penh boutique hotel is within easy reach of tourist attractions and Phnom Penh landmarks like Royal University of Fine Arts, the National Artefacts Museum, the resplendent Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the quaint streets dotted with charming cafe, designer shops, and art galleries of Phnom Penh. This charming accommodation has a long been a favorite in Phnom Penh for both business and leisure travelers and also makes an ideal base for sight-seeing tours of Wat Phnom, Independent Monument, Toul Sleng Genocide Museum, Russian Market, dazzling sunset boat cruises along the Mekong River and other touristic and lively areas. All well decorated and comfortable guest rooms with their large spaces and furniture as well as standard amenities at the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel would give you a comfort and feel of home away from the home. The Room is well equipped with modern amenities and you can choose from 3 different categories of rooms – twin junior suite room, double junior suite room and double suite room. The Fine Arts Restaurant on the ground floor offer fine Royal Khmer and French cuisines and offer a large selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing