We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Break in to the hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Ranked #82 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Break in to the hotel room”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Me n my collegues stay in this hotel between 29th july to 2nd aug. To my horror, when we are sleeping in the hotel room. Both of our wallets n handphone got stolen. The security in this hotel is not recommend to stay in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for choosing Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel and also for taking the time to share your stay experience with us.

At Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, we always strive to provide a pleasurable journey and exceptional stay for each of our valued guest. We would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience this has created during your stay. As you recognized our team effort was helping you every step which related to this issue.

We have now reinforced more securities and guards to ensure there will be no such case happen for our future guests.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    107
    38
    17
    10
See reviews for
35
98
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We've just left the hotel as we are off to Siem Reap, and are sad to leave. All in all the hotel was great, the location was perfect, if a little hidden off the main st. Some ppl have commented that it's hard to find. All you need to do is keep your eyes out for the Blue Chilli bar and it's literally a couple of doors down. Plus this seclusion means the hotel is quiet. The rooms are large and comfortable and The wi-fi is good. The only issue (and this is being picky) is the bath/shower. Due to the shape it's actually quite hard to stand under the shower. It's concave so no flat section, however this is only a minor issue and would stop me recommending nor staying there again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremiah80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your positive comment on this forum. We are delighted that you had such a great stay experience. We’re appreciated that you brought up about bathroom/shower issue, our team is looking into possibilities to make it safe for our guests.

Thank you ones again for your patronage, and we hope to have you back again very soon!

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This boutique hotel, located on Street 178 within easy walking distance to the river front, National museum, and royal palace, is a wonderful experience. The balcony rooms are huge, tastefully decorated, with every amenity. I loved the stone bathtub and wooden sink. The bed was rattan and very comfortable, the lighting was tasteful, with indirect lights. Exquisite rooms. The staff was professional and supremely friendly and helpful in every way. Another reviewer commented that the balcony is not accessible, which is not accurate. Although the balcony has no view, it is accessible (unlocking and opening the door), and has a comfortable chair to sit and smoke, for those so inclined, since smoking is prohibited in the room. One negative feature of this beautiful boutique hotel, is that it is hidden. Unless your tuk tuk driver knows it, it all but impossible to find with only a hand painted wooden sign above the entrance which is indistinguishable. The only other complaint is about the hot water for the shower, which will neither stay hot nor cold. It is either too hot or too cold and will not stay at a constant temperature.
Otherwise, in terms of comfort, cleanliness, amenities, location, staff friendliness and service, and price, the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel is an excellent choice for a long or short stay in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Edward,
We really appreciate and sincerely thank you for your recent stay and share full score reviews. We're all glad to receive your positive feedback that you had a wonderful experience and loved the property. We’ve already shared your comments with our team and they’re very happy to see your message. Our team is looking into hot/cold water pressure and hotel’s sign. Thanks for your comment.

We’re pleased to offer you, your family or friends a very special discount of 15% on best available rate for direct booking only for your return trip in the future visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in a short distant future.

With personal regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I thought $45 a night for a quality room was fairly good until I stayed at a few more places that are cheaper and just as good.

Cannot fault the staff on friendliness.

We were happy with the room which was quite trendy and well furnished. However, I'm sorry. A curtain that separates the bathroom from the rest of the room area? I like my privacy when it comes to the bathroom. I am sorry to be base but what if I am evacuating my bowels in the morning after a spicy curry last night? I wouldn't want to listen to it.

In room wifi was good as was the TV that had foreign channels.

If you go looking for this hotel on your own, you will have a hard time finding it as it is down an alleyway.

Overall, a nice little place that is tucked away but close to everything.

One simple thing I was impressed with, they know how to poach an egg perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a door on the bathroom. If they have such a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Barry,

We thank you so much for your recent stay and for most of positive feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We’re really appreciated for comments about bathroom door. Our senior management are looking into it and find the solutions.

Our team looks forward to serving and welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

With best wishes,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is a few blocks away from the National Museum of Cambodia, Royal Palace, and Silver Pagoda, and also the river front (for good dining). But that’s about the only good thing I could find about it – the location.

Apart from that, everything else is a sheer disappointment. Even the door/entrance is easy to miss, which our taxi driver did actually miss the first time, and we ended up at another Frangipani on the very same street (and we had to walk back all the way with our luggage). So be very careful which Frangipani you are booking, there are 2 on the same (178th) street.

The hotel room is a decent space for 2 people without any décor. The bathroom/restroom has no door, just a curtain (3/4th the total length). If you are alone in a room, you wouldn’t care, but apart from that, it’s plain bad. I don’t mind having a bathroom door without a lock (which I have experienced in several of my trips to New Zealand, Japan, Taiwan, the US), but this I found weird even with my wife. The bath tub is very difficult to get in and out of. The water temperature is like a switch – either very hot or very cold, you just can't adjust it. Don’t expect the provision of a toothpaste/brush, other toiletries (they do provide a shampoo and a body wash, that’s about it). They only provided 1 towel and when we asked for 1 more, they said they were doing the laundry and would give one later (they never did). The bathroom has 2 lights, one of which was off and the other flickering – we asked the hotel to get it fixed, they said they would – again, never happened. The breakfast is not the usual buffet that you are used to. You have 2 options and it’s very limited, and that will not fill your stomach. There’s no swimming pool, just a dingy puddle that’s breeding mosquitoes.

The service was ridiculous. When we told them about the problems, their response was like this “we apologize, but that’s okay”. We never understood the “that’s okay” part. Most of other airports offer you a free airport transfer both ways, which is a good 20-30 USD savings (this one does not, you can buy for 12 dollars one way).

We were 7 people (3 couples + 1) in 3 rooms and even though we booked together well in advance, the rooms given were on 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors. Not one of us were remotely okay with the whole experience. Please ignore this so-called hotel and book a different one (you can get great options for same or lesser prices).

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel. In terms of location, you might want to try out the other Frangipani hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeshavKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Frangipani Fine Arts and also for taking the time to share your stay experience with us.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable journey and exceptional stay for each of our valued guest and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve the satisfactions for our future guests.
We would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience this has created during your stay.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We are a couple with daughter of 13 years. We saw this Fragipani hotel several times during our internet search price USD 45 for three persons. When we actually booked it the advertisement was even USD 25 for 3 persons. I booked at booking.com did the whole payment section and then i was thrown of the web page. Could not find that page again, so finally booked it at Hotel.com 3 persons for USD 45 but got a confirmation for 2 persons ?. At arrival told my story at the reception, showed the web site with 3 persons/ USD 45, but the hotel manager Mr Vong VannaK Dith would not listened at all and insisted that we paid USD 15 extra. Which we finally did. He did not want to tell who his manager was nor give his telephone number. It is not the USD 15, but the stubbornnes and the absolutely guest unfriendliness which made me write this review. We saw sa similar review later at trip advisor. So it is their dirty trick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisvanbeurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your most recent visit to Cambodia and we would like to appreciate your comments.

We’re sincerely sorry about an extra person rate issue. This is 3rd part website and of course they have terms and conditions for 3rd person charging rate. Our team has no reason or intention to overcharge our own guests.

Once again, please accept our apologies and we sincerely hope that in spite of this inconvenience, we will have the opportunity serve you in the future.

Warmest regards,

Hotel Management
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was expecting a budget accommodation experience but this hotel was really wonderful. The staff and service were exceptional. The room was very clean and comfortable. And little touches like bottled water and fantastic air conditioning were very much appreciated. No pool on site but a quick tuk tuk ride or walk down to the Frangipani Royal Palace hotel and pool there was available for us to use anyway! Well worth the money saved to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your positive comment on this forum.

We are delighted that you had such a marvelous experience with our services, staff and facilities here. We have shared this review with our entire team and they are pleased after reading this review. Thank you for your compliments.

Thank you ones again for your patronage, and we hope to have you back again very soon!

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#64 of 264 in Phnom Penh
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Khmeroyal Hotel
Khmeroyal Hotel
#139 of 264 in Phnom Penh
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#100 of 264 in Phnom Penh
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#186 of 264 in Phnom Penh
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel

Property: Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Address: #43, Street 178 (Near Royal Palace), Phnom Penh 12300, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh, Pearl of Asia in 1920s and the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Ideally situated at the heart of Phnom Penh City and just few minute walk from the riverfront, along Sisovath Quay and the banks of the Tonle Sap, Mekong and Bassac rivers, this leading Phnom Penh boutique hotel is within easy reach of tourist attractions and Phnom Penh landmarks like Royal University of Fine Arts, the National Artefacts Museum, the resplendent Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the quaint streets dotted with charming cafe, designer shops, and art galleries of Phnom Penh. This charming accommodation has a long been a favorite in Phnom Penh for both business and leisure travelers and also makes an ideal base for sight-seeing tours of Wat Phnom, Independent Monument, Toul Sleng Genocide Museum, Russian Market, dazzling sunset boat cruises along the Mekong River and other touristic and lively areas. All well decorated and comfortable guest rooms with their large spaces and furniture as well as standard amenities at the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel would give you a comfort and feel of home away from the home. The Room is well equipped with modern amenities and you can choose from 3 different categories of rooms – twin junior suite room, double junior suite room and double suite room. The Fine Arts Restaurant on the ground floor offer fine Royal Khmer and French cuisines and offer a large selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing