We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute boutique hotel”
Review of Le Safran La Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Safran La Suite
Ranked #54 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We spent one night in the hotel as we were arriving at 6pm and had to take a taxi to the Cardamom mountains the day after for a 4 hour ride. We choose the hotel mainly because of the restaurant attached so we have dinner immediately after check in.

It was a very good choice as we had a lovely dinner in the open air restaurant. We ordered Amok and Khmer fondue and for our son noodles with chicken. All three were delicious but specifically the Khmer fondue and noodles were really good. Both had a good combination of herbs, spices and sauce to give the dishes a delicious flavour. I was really impressed and would recommend this place to anyone.

The room was basic but designed nicely. It is Cambodia and we do not expect 5 star rooms when paying only little. The deluxe room had a nice balcony overlooking the pool and the garden. There was enough space for an extra bed for our son. The room was clean, they had some lovely lamps next to the bed. There were tea mking facilities, a cabinet and a spacious bathroom with walk in shower and enough towels for the three of us.

Staff were very helpfull. When we came down for a drink after we put our son to put, the restaurant was already closed (it was about 9.30pm) but they immediately served us drinks at the pool. When some guests arrived a bit later they even lit up the restaurant again and served dinner.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony are the best, they have a lot of light and overlook the pool/garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Really depends on what you're looking for. I was here on business for about 2 weeks.

Location- If you're spending more than say 4 days, you would want good options to eat and drink closeby. La Safran is located very close to the Independence monument and the river side is a 20 min walk away or 5 mins by tuk-tuk.

Helpful staff- They have a bunch of eager helpful staff- they helped me sort out my tuk-tuks and bus tickets to Siem Reap over the weekend. They speak English reasonably well so no problems there.

Balcony- If you want a room with a balcony, where you can sit relax, enjoy the morning and the evening, this is a good option.
They also have a small library of sorts downstairs where you can just grab a book and laze on the couch in the evenings. There's also a small pool if you feel like relaxing in it, it's quite small you can't really 'swim-swim' but quite a few tourists enjoy what I'd call 'soaking up some water and then some sun' by the pool.

Breakfast is reasonably ok with reasonable options-fruit and coffee, rice noodles with chicken soup, croissant, pain au chocolate, omlette.(I don't remember all of it exactly but broadly this is what I recall) I had it everyday for 2 weeks so no problems there.

From my experience, for a solo traveler or a couple traveling to Phnom Penh, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keats S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed 4 nights at the Le Safran La Suite Hotel and thought it was really nice when I arrived. The pool is small but clean and the hotel looked stylish, new and charming. The guys at the reception are very friendly, by welcoming and helpful. They organised me a bus and helped me with all questions and queries.
BUT: I booked the room for $38 per night, which is the lowest category they have. The rooms for $38 don't have windows!!! When I came into my room I thought it was only this room which had no window and asked to be moved to another room, however, all rooms in this category don't have windows upand unless you are willing to up the budget by $7 per night to get a room in the higher category this is what you get. I think $38 for a very minimalistic room with no window is a rather steep price.
Do not get your washing done at this hotel. I payed an astronomical price of almost $20 for a couple of t-shirts, some socks and underwear.... $20??? Really?
I do agree as well with a previous reviewer regarding the breakfast. It's just ok but really not great.

I did however very much enjoy the pool and the peacefulness of this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MS_travelingasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel has a nice range of food and drinks in the restaurant but no cocktails - which would be nice around the pool ! The rooms in hospital white style capped minimalistic are spacious and bright ! The asset of this hotel is the staff which is not qualified but always smiling what makes my day ! Pool is small and clean !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at Le Safran for 10 nights (1 x 2, 2 x 4 nights) during our 3 week visit to Cambodia. The hotel is situated in a very quiet street but very close to the centre of the city - a short walk. We stayed in a deluxe room and the suite, both could not be faulted. The rooms are spacious, clean and have a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities as well as bathroom essentials and a safe and air conditioning. Bottled water was replenished each day. Breakfast is excellent, the bread was just like you get in France! There was a choice Omelets, boiled eggs, bacon, ham - plus fresgh fruit. There was also an Asian choice of Chicken Noodle soup - absolutely delicious! The staff at La Safran are extremely helpful and friendly. Sothira and her team at reception were always available to help with any queries we may have had. They organised transport for us on several occasions. We were able to leave luggage at the hotel whilst we were away for a few days at a time. In the middle of the day it was lovely to be able to come back to the swimming pool to cool off in. If we return to Phnom Penh we would not consider staying anywhere else but Le Safran. Thanks to the whole team for making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Busy_Girl_HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The rooms are well decorated, the atmosphere is quite, with a taste of Khmer art. Nice small swimming pool in the garden, very friendly service and excellent food. I stayed four nights and will certainly try to have a room in the same hotel when I return to Phnom Penh.
It is located close to the Monument of Independence and close to all centers of interest.

Room Tip: Standard and superior rooms are fine. The suite is very large, wonderful, if you can offer it, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pachathai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I go to Phnom Penh quite often because my daughter works there. It is an excellent place to stay -- if you have the self-discipline to avoid eating too much of their great food. Le Safran is the restaurant and it can be busy on weekends because it is very popular with local residents. The boutique hotel has less than 20 rooms, no elevator, and is quite modestly priced. But it is much quieter than many hotels in that price range even though it is quite close to the Quay and the center of the city. Even with the small number of rooms it has a pool of excellent quality and large enough to enjoy. If you demand "action city" chose another place. But it you want a place to rest and chill after exploring Phnom Penh you can't do better at this price range.

Room Tip: Room 10 is very good value, totally quiet, and just one flight up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.3 mi away
Teav Boutique Hotel & Spa (Bassac)
0.3 mi away
Omana Hotel
Omana Hotel
#44 of 274 in Phnom Penh
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
#79 of 274 in Phnom Penh
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home Chic Hotel
Home Chic Hotel
#45 of 274 in Phnom Penh
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
#58 of 274 in Phnom Penh
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Safran La Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Safran La Suite

Address: #4 Street 282 | Boeung Keng Kang I, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Safran La Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Le Safran de Phnom Penh, Hotel & Restaurant. Our hotel is located in a quiet street near Norodom Boulevard, a few steps from the Independence Monument in the heart of Phnom Penh city. Our team will welcome you in Khmer, French and English. Le Safran de Phnom Penh has 15 spacious and tastefully decorated rooms including a family suite. On site, enjoy our restaurant offering traditional Khmer cuisine, a boutique of local products and authentic antiques. And relaxing, our pool, the cocktail bar and our massage lounge will be at your disposal throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Safran La Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing