We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value - Soothing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The stellar reviews received by King Grand are certainly well deserved. I stayed 3 nights last month and it’s hard to find serious fault with this new boutique hotel.

Check-in was a breeze. Reception was friendly & helpful and speak good English. I had asked for and was confirmed, via Agoda, a double; however, with the aid of the attentive and discerning reception, I was able to opt for a brighter, higher (5th-floor) twin with an attractive view of the neighbourhood, incl. notably of the Mekong & Tongle Sap River junction --something magical about that confluence of lake proportions, what with all the greenery juxtaposed to bustling commercial traffic. Nice, too, that you could open the screened-sliding door onto the narrow balcony and allow a crack of fresh air to flow in. Good mattress: I slept very soundly in the twin by the sliding door window.

Three quibbles: Negotiating the narrow space between the further-in bed and the wall in order to access the wardrobe and washroom was a bit annoying; as it was to discover, in this otherwise state-of-the-art hotel (e.g. security cards for elevator and rooms), the basin sink provides only cold (ok, cool) water. I was informed the former won’t be an issue with the somewhat larger rooms in the soon-to-open new wing of (?) / companion to (?) Grand Boutique. (I believe it’s a separate bldg.) Not sure about the water issue. Finally, the 7th-floor sun-deck lounge, though quite lovely with a splendid view, is just that: the accompanying ‘pool’ is really just a tub to climb into, so have no illusions about any kind of swimming pool. I believe the new bldg. will offer pretty much the same (perhaps on somewhat a larger scale?) in that regard.

Breakfast a` la carte was excellent. Excluding potatoes, you can choose freely among no shortage of items. It would be nice if they could do poached eggs. Reasonable coffee: espresso machine…with refills (!).

Finally, the GM, Mr. Sivam Raman, is a real gentleman: approachable, eloquent and very hospitable & informative.

Room Tip: For ambience and view, go to floor 5 or higher., esp. ones with view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

Good location just walking distance from the King Palace and the riverside. Room was new and comfortable with DVD, TV, air-condition. Breakfast was good. Staff spoke good english and were very friendly and helpful. We stayed here for two nights. We got welcome coctail. I appreciated the fact that there were absolutely no mosquitoes in the room. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pczps022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The king grand boutique hotel is a new hotel on a quiet street one block from the river. On a requested higher floor provided us with a great river and city view. I can't say enough about the service and friendliness of the staff; we felt like royalty the way we waited on. The rooms are well-appointed with ample space and original design. The bed, linen and pillows are of high quality especially for the low room rates. A thoroughly enloyable stay.

Room Tip: High floors offer a great view over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Staff spoke good english and were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very comfortable with free wifi. Food was good and the hotel is in a good location just walking distance from the riverside. Very accomodating when I needed to get laundry done and returned ASAP!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offshore-tiger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for New Years Eve and had an absolutely fantastic time. We initially picked this hotel as I had read the reviews and was pleasantly surprised to see that the general manager took the time to read and comment on each post (it clearly shows how much they care).Whilst the staff were very friendly, the general manager, Mr Shivam Raman, in particular went out of his way to make the stay as pleasant as possible and was more then accommodating. We attended a free bbq for new years eve on the top of the hotel and having mentioned we were vegetarian, Mr Raman also organised great vegetarian food for us. The food was absolutely delicious (especially the breakfast the next day), the views from the rooftop were amazing and the rooms quite lovely. The location of the hotel was also excellent; less then 10 mins walk to the Silver Pagoda & Royal Palace. I would definitely stay there again if we visit Phnom Penh again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjdlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel only one night, on our way from Vietnam to Siem Reap. This is a shame, because we had a really pleasant experience and would have stayed for a longer time. In particular, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, we even got an unexpected welcome cocktail, and the hotel manager came to personally greet us. The standard rates are not cheap, but we managed to find a good bargain through booking.com, therefore we can't complain. The hotel itself is either new or recently restored, its location is excellent (the view on the Royal Palace, just a few minutes walk, is great), rooms are large enough and comfortable, and the small pool on the rooftop offered a pleasant break from the long trip. The included breakfast, served at the table, was also good. We would definitely stay here again at the same price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sivam R, General Manager at King Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear Respectfull Guest,

First of all my heartiest thank you for staying with us. Our whole King Grand Boutique Hotel team appreciate your effort for writing a kind review about your stay here. Yes you are true, my staff's are wonderful because i choose the best and they are dedicated to their work. Honestly to say i need some more time to build their invidual capacity to the highest international level and your positive reviews are helping them to achieve the goal.
Yes we do serve ala carte breakfast, we haven't practice buffet breakfast yet because i want our guest get a fresh breakfast to begin their day. We do serve espresso, cappucino, latte, mocha for breakfast and it's included. I promise you, if you visit Phnom Penh again please be our HONORABLE GUEST and get the ROYAL service. Thank you and Happy New Year.

Yours Faithfully,
Sivam Raman
General Manager
email: gm@kinggrandboutiquehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Oh dear ... as they hand us both a "welcome drink", the Reception staff apologise profusely, and inform us that our room is not ready..
Andy & I have just returned to the King Grand for our second stay there, following a six day trip to Siem Reap.
After the six hour Mekong Express bus ride we're in desperate need of a shower. Instead, we find ourselves, somewhat forlornly, wandering the local streets to pass the thirty minutes we've been told will be needed to prepare for our check in.
Time's up and we're back at Reception. A wide beaming smile accompanies the room key that we're given. I look at it. Room 701? How can that be? There are only six floors. We get in the lift wondering if we've previously missed seeing a button for floor seven. We haven't. As we step out onto the sixth floor we're greeted by an applauding bunch of "Santa's little helpers". Unsure how to respond, we ask for guidance to our room. Collectively, they point to some steep stairs running heavenwards beside the roof top plunge pool. We make the climb & open the door to a fabulous suite. Large, tastefully furnished, superb views out over Phnom Penh, and with all the trimmings you'd expect, this was an unexpected and truly wonderful surprise. Thank you Santa Sivam and all your little helpers. :-)
Now, there can't be many hotels in the world where the General Manager asks you what time you would like him to dress up in his Father Christmas costume, but (as Andy mentions in the following link to a short video clip) this is such a place!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1Lh1fuwdL4
When time allows we'll post more pics & video clips.
Mr Raman, your staff are a credit to you.
A great stay. We're already saving for our next return.
Wishing you all a peaceful and prosperous 2012.
Andy and Marcia

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0 mi away
Queen Grand Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 276 in Phnom Penh
1,206 reviews
0.9 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#8 of 276 in Phnom Penh
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#20 of 276 in Phnom Penh
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 276 in Phnom Penh
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 276 in Phnom Penh
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Grand Boutique Hotel

Address: No 18 , Street 258 | Sang Kat Chak Tomuk , Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £28 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Grand Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Grand Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for tourists and corporate guests who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. Whether you're on business or pleasure, the King Grand Boutique Hotel is a luxurious haven, elegantly furnished to provide you with a comfortable stay. You can enjoy a wide range of facilities and traditional Cambodian hospitality in King Grand Boutique Hotel. Experience ultimate luxury and bask in the splendor of elegance at the King Grand Boutique Hotel, the perfect base to explore the legendary Phnom Penh City and undiscovered treasures in Cambodia. It is located in the heart of the city where you can walk to anywhere in a minute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing