We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mike's Burger House

Mike's Burger House
Ranked #163 of 1,386 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Other Phone Numbers 069 55 66 71 012 633 971
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I suppose I set myself up for disappointment as I went to this place expecting something really amazing. People tend to put Mike's on a pedestal.

Anyway the food seemed clean enough etc so nothing really to complain about, I just don't think the burgers are very good. They don't taste as they should and they are constructed badly, making them difficult to eat.

If you didn't know any better, say if you had never eaten a decent hamburger, then this may do the trick for you. I would imagine any westerner, especially anyone that had eaten a hamburger in the US, would not be too impressed with this place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank zipfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    52
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best traditional USA burger in Asia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I note on some reviews that people aren't as impressed as they expected to be. As a traveler all over Asia and one who lived in various parts for 13 years, I can say that Mike makes the best USA style burger I have had anywhere in Asia. If you are coming from the USA on vacation, you wouldn't be as impressed because its what you expect from a good burger in your home town. You don't know how hard it is to source the ingredients and produce this great final product. It is expensive compared to local Khmer foods, but burgers in most Asian destinations are expensive and food for the rich, not the blue collar folks. The service is great, Mike will greet you, and don't forget the fish sandwich which is better than what you get at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GuyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“But Really, the best burger in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have known Mike since he first started in a smaller shop, with two employees. And the burgers just keep getting better. The buns are made fresh, twice daily, and served hot. It is the best burger I have had in such a long time. Better than most American burgers.

Try the Pineapple Bacon Burger! That is my favorite. I came to Phnom Penh for 8 days and have eaten there 3 already.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ctcox324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was expecting more from the reviews, first off it seems a strange choice location wise, away from the city center in a gas station. The service was friendly but the burger itself nothing at all special, couldn't really taste the pattie as too much sauce used, and the fries were frozen ones not freshly cooked. Maybe ok if just need a quick bite, but so many places in the city center why go all the way out towards the airport? Also relatively expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian_Tak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The burgers are dry and don't even seem like real beef but some sort of pre packaged garbage. It is extremely over priced and the burger isn't even better than Lucky's Burger. If you want a good burger there are plenty of other places to go and if you want a burger better than Mike's you can go just about anywhere. Try getting a burger at Cadillac Grill on the river if you actually want a good burger.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoobydoo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mike's Burger House also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Mike's Burger House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing