We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, centrally located.”
Review of Burly Guesthouse

Burly Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burly Guesthouse
Ranked #125 of 335 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I was recommended this place by a Khmer friend, as it is popular amongst locals as a good place to stay when visiting PP. At $7 per night you can't go wrong and the rooms are sufficiently clean, and serviced every day. There is a lift. The staff are friendly and free albeit slow wifi in rooms. The Burly is in a good location with good value restaurants only a short stroll away. It is close to Olympic stadium and Orussy market.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

first of all this is not a hotel with full services that travellers are used to expecting. It's cheap and good enough for a night's sleep and staff are friendly. But let's list out some of the pros and cons anyway.

Pros
- Affordable
- Reasonably clean but not immaculate
- 2 Restaurants across guesthouse that serves reasonably good food.
- free wifi on every floor
- friendly staff
- lift
- Reasonably close to most sights, like the genocide museum it's very near.
- air-conditioning available. I'm glad to have this!

Cons
- noisy
- extremely slow wifi
- small rooms, toilets and beds. If you're a european / american sized big dude. This might be a bit small for you.
- can't lock the room from inside. We woke up once at 9am with our doors opened but figured it must be the cleaner who left it open!! Very unsafe.
- Do not believe the pictures you see on their website!!!
- Dim lighting.

If you're a backpacker this is an ok guesthouse to stay in.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stumbled upon this guesthouse by accident, and really appreciated that it was out of the main fray of backpacker guesthouses. It was very clean and peaceful, especially on the upper floors. You can walk to local markets, and Four Corners Coffee Roasters (no drinks, but great source for beans as they roast on site!) is just across the street. Comfortable stay and very helpful staff. When checking out, I had to leave one of my suitcases behind as I've been hauling too much on this trip. After just a minute or two the staff went out of their way to come after me, thinking I had forgotten it. Would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Phnom Penh!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xylembonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We really enjoyed staying here: it was cheap, clean and even a bit luxorious by backpacker standards. The elevator was a huge plus.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a double bedded room with fan and cold water The price was $US 7 per night, which we thought was good value. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Burly Guest House is a 10 min walk down the road from Capitol Tours and is close to the local sites. We recommend Asian Spice for cheap but freshly prepared eats. If we were to come to Phnom Penh again - we would stay at the Burly Guest House

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earthpilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 277 in Phnom Penh
895 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,589 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#85 of 277 in Phnom Penh
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burly Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burly Guesthouse

Address: #70, Street 111, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £9 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burly Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing