We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be worse..”

#11 Happy Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
#11 Happy Guest House
Ranked #144 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I showed up to 11 Happy at 1am (night bus from Sihanoukville) and the staff was awake and willing to help me find a room which was really nice. The prices were higher than I had expected and the first 3 rooms the staff showed me had not been cleaned. Finally I got a clean room, but it had no windows, was very warm, and didn't have the most comfortable bed. I personally think it is possible to find a cheaper, more comfortable place to stay in Phnom Penh. Also very confusing that there is a guesthouse with this same name on Street 258 (which actually seems to be the better choice).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Food Very expensive and not best quality, bathrooms dirty and old, beds never cleaned, cleaners rude, drains blocked. Only want Asian people staying!! Very hot rooms need more fans! Not very friendly staff, won't be staying again

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyhw2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Ate in this restaurant all 4 nights we were in PP. This might sound boring, however, were staying across the street and the MASSIVE menu (at least 15 pages!), ranging from local food, to Indian, Italian, Mexican, and ever-changing list of about 10 specials, brought us back night after night. HUGE portions as well. Super cheap, super friendly, great music or movies playing every day/night. Love love loved this place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank heathk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I've stayed here on a number of occasions whilst visiting Phnom Penh. The rooms are very basic but they are also very cheap. You get what you pay for. The staff there work very very hard and always have a smile on their face (the girl on reception works 7am-midnight seven days a week). The restaurant area is a nice place to chill out, good cheap food, good music and a pool table. The tuk-tuk drivers might be a bit pushy but wouldn't you be if you earned $2-$3 a day and had a wife and kids to support? Like all Cambodians, they're good people who are just trying to earn a living.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salmon_Allstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This review is for #11 Happy Guesthouse on street 258, opposite the Okay Guesthouse. It is not the same guesthouse as the one near the lake. I tried to make a new listing for it, but TripAdvisor wouldn't have it.

I stayed in #11 Happy guesthouse 1,5 nights.
The first night was in one of the slightly more expensive rooms, together with a travel partner.
The second night the travel partner had left and I switched to one of the cheaper, windowless rooms (number 9). The room was a bit moldy and its location near the kitchen brought some smell with it. But the biggest problem was the bedbug I killed on the bed after having watched a movie on my netbook. I gathered my things straight away and the reception clerk gave me one of the nicer rooms for the same price. As I was reading a book on my new bed I felt, or imagened, a little itch at my elbow. As I got up another big bedbug and a small one scurried away. Another big one had been enjoying a meal at my feet. I decided to check out straight away, in the middle of the night. At least I didn't have to pay for that night.

Besides the bedbugs the guesthouse is not too bad. Rooms can be had pretty cheaply and the restaurant area is definitely nicer than the one at Okay guesthouse. It also has a pool table. One annoying thing that both #11 Happy and Okay have in common is the desperate inhouse tuk tuk drivers that bug you everyday. Their receptions also like to push their bustickets and other services on you.

Room Tip: Check your room for bedbugs first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jip33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank maroille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nahud28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 274 in Phnom Penh
851 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#75 of 334 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#79 of 274 in Phnom Penh
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to #11 Happy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about #11 Happy Guest House

Address: 11D, Street 93, Sras Chok, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing