We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good food”
Review of Number 9 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number 9 Hotel
Ranked #34 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not so good food”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We did not want to go to the riverside so we decided to eat here, since the ambiance seems good. The menu looks delightful too. I ordered tom yum chicken and my husband had asked for fish and chips. When the tom yum was set on the table, it was very soupy...very thin sauce and it looks like the cook just enjoyed pouring water. I already finished eating and that's the only time my husband's food arrived.

Their mango shake is terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASEManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    121
    92
    54
    33
See reviews for
25
117
75
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I tried the massage at Oriental Massage and it was so fantastic. Immediately i step out of Number nine hotel. Tuk Tuk driver asked me where do you want to go. I said massage. They said massage here is no good, then they took me to the other massage about 10 minute by tuk tuk. I spent 25 dollar for the massage and it was so very terrible massage. Finally i try the one near Number nine hotel" Oriental Spa" the massage was so very good, friendly, great service and quality and i spend only 7 dollar for body massage. Finally i found that all tuk tuk drivers there are cheating to get some commission if they bring me to the other places. The hotel and location there excellent, lovely stay but never get any recommendation from Tuk Tuk"

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights. Hotel is very nicely decorated. A double twin room was very small. Hotel does not provide bottled water in the room. This is the only hotel I've stayed at in Cambodia that had not provided bottled water in the room. Food at hotel is overpriced. Hotel is rather noisy. Good location. Nothing special!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyfromKailua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

I was recommended hotel number 9 by a friend and colleague. I was told it was a cheap and cheerful hotel. When I got there is was pleasantly surprised to see how well appointed it was. The room I stayed in was small but very clean and just right for one person. I had no window but enjoyed having a sleep in without one. The staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend it to others :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasooie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks. The staff at the bar is friendly and helpful and the Wi-fi is good and also the location is great. Thats about all that is good with this place. The cleaners did not clean the rooms good and they skipped a few days sometimes. The manager is not helpful at all. He only pretends to be. I got some money and items stolen from my room, and he was going to look at the security camera and help my in different ways. At first he was really nice and helpful and said that if I needed anything it was only to send him an email. I needed a verification for my insurance company that this really occurred so I send an email asking for that. He has not yet replied and it has been 6 weeks.
So choose another hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Spent 5 nights at Number 9 in April 2013 and had a wonderful stay. Rooms were clean, great bathroom with hot water, aircon was a lil noisy but the service was fantastic from the front desk right thro to the cleaners. Food was a bit pricey but great quality. Location is also really good - a short walk to the river front, great massage parlours in the same road and plenty of tuk-tuks wanting your business right outside the door. Would definitely return there next time I'm in phnom penh.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathaliesweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is one of the options which can be in between the budget and the luxury hotels, as it's really clean and tidy and they have a very good food. Little more expensive than outside, but come on! This is a hotel! The staff doesn't speak fluent English, but it's fine! They are trying their best to help you and to be super kind to you. All the things which you need as a guest, they understand it. But if you will talk about another topics, their English doesn't really help. But over all, they are really good, and you can compare them with 4 star hotels, not less.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#20 of 325 in Phnom Penh
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nawin Guesthouse
Nawin Guesthouse
#25 of 325 in Phnom Penh
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Artist Guesthouse
The Artist Guesthouse
#8 of 325 in Phnom Penh
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alibi Guesthouse
Alibi Guesthouse
#10 of 325 in Phnom Penh
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
#16 of 325 in Phnom Penh
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Thematic Hostel
Aura Thematic Hostel
#14 of 235 in Phnom Penh
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 9 Hotel

Property: Number 9 Hotel
Address: 7c St. 258 ( River Front Area) | Near Royal Palace &National Museum, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 9 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Number 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing