We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had my wallet stolen from restaurant”
Review of Number 9 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number 9 Hotel
Ranked #34 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“had my wallet stolen from restaurant”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Have to give this place a poor review because of this and a couple of other things. Got there Sunday and was put in a big room which was OK except the key wouldn't open the door even the staff couldn't get the door to unlock, had to get the cleaning service key. Next day moved to a single room. That night (partially my fault) I had my wallet stolen from the restaurant when I accidentally left it on a table and went up to my room didn't discover it missing until the next morning. Staff didn't seem to care about my problem (bet one of them took it). Alan the manager was somewhat friendly and looked over the video but saw nothing apparently the table was in the one dead spot in the video. Also he wouldn't call the police so I could file a report said it would cost me $200 to file a report. Also not offered any help in even finding the Korean Embassy (I live in Korea and needed a re-entry permit since my Korean alien ID card was stolen) or calling Thai Airways to change my ticket so I can get back to Seoul. Heck he didn't even offer to waive the $5 late check out fee for me

Wifi wouldn't work in my room either seems like 305 is a dead spot, again went to complain and the staff didn't seem to care. Food prices in restaurant seemed expensive even compared to other guesthouses along the strip there, wound up eating in other guesthouses.

not worth it given the rude staff, yeah what happened to me was partially my fault but if you are going to have extensive video coverage you should cover the front of the place where the tuk-tuk drivers hang out

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    118
    90
    54
    33
See reviews for
25
116
74
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here recently for 5 days? 6 days? It's a nice clean updated hotel. Nice furniture and decor. My room was small and had a view of a brick wall, but it was the cheap room. The bed was comfortable, clean sheets, clean bathroom stocked with shampoo, toothbrush etc. The staff was lovely and accommodated all my requests. I ordered mostly Western food and was pleasantly surprised at the selection and quality of the food. I live in Thailand and have gotten used to Western food not tasting quite right. They do it right here. The food is a bit spendy for Cambodia but they have specials for ~ $5/meal and you're really paying for the atmosphere. For cheaper eats, you can stroll out to any local place. All in all a nice comfortable place to stay in the chaos of Phnom Penh. Only downside is that it's a bit far from the shopping/bar areas. You'll need a tuk tuk for about $1-2.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomaicGypsy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We did not want to go to the riverside so we decided to eat here, since the ambiance seems good. The menu looks delightful too. I ordered tom yum chicken and my husband had asked for fish and chips. When the tom yum was set on the table, it was very soupy...very thin sauce and it looks like the cook just enjoyed pouring water. I already finished eating and that's the only time my husband's food arrived.

Their mango shake is terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASEManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York Mills, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I tried the massage at Oriental Massage and it was so fantastic. Immediately i step out of Number nine hotel. Tuk Tuk driver asked me where do you want to go. I said massage. They said massage here is no good, then they took me to the other massage about 10 minute by tuk tuk. I spent 25 dollar for the massage and it was so very terrible massage. Finally i try the one near Number nine hotel" Oriental Spa" the massage was so very good, friendly, great service and quality and i spend only 7 dollar for body massage. Finally i found that all tuk tuk drivers there are cheating to get some commission if they bring me to the other places. The hotel and location there excellent, lovely stay but never get any recommendation from Tuk Tuk"

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights. Hotel is very nicely decorated. A double twin room was very small. Hotel does not provide bottled water in the room. This is the only hotel I've stayed at in Cambodia that had not provided bottled water in the room. Food at hotel is overpriced. Hotel is rather noisy. Good location. Nothing special!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyfromKailua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

I was recommended hotel number 9 by a friend and colleague. I was told it was a cheap and cheerful hotel. When I got there is was pleasantly surprised to see how well appointed it was. The room I stayed in was small but very clean and just right for one person. I had no window but enjoyed having a sleep in without one. The staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend it to others :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasooie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks. The staff at the bar is friendly and helpful and the Wi-fi is good and also the location is great. Thats about all that is good with this place. The cleaners did not clean the rooms good and they skipped a few days sometimes. The manager is not helpful at all. He only pretends to be. I got some money and items stolen from my room, and he was going to look at the security camera and help my in different ways. At first he was really nice and helpful and said that if I needed anything it was only to send him an email. I needed a verification for my insurance company that this really occurred so I send an email asking for that. He has not yet replied and it has been 6 weeks.
So choose another hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.5 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#44 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mou Hotel
The Mou Hotel
#219 of 267 in Phnom Penh
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#22 of 322 in Phnom Penh
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
House Boutique Eco Hotel
House Boutique Eco Hotel
#6 of 322 in Phnom Penh
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alibi Guesthouse
Alibi Guesthouse
#9 of 322 in Phnom Penh
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nawin Guesthouse
Nawin Guesthouse
#23 of 322 in Phnom Penh
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 9 Hotel

Property: Number 9 Hotel
Address: 7c St. 258 ( River Front Area) | Near Royal Palace &National Museum, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 9 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Number 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing