We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”
Review of White Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Mansion
Ranked #7 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

stayed here for three days in November 2013
Staff at a very good level
very helpful and attentive
Also managment very friendly and helpful
nice clean rooms and lovely pool
you checked out with a very warm feeling
This is as you would expect from a hotel

fine quality
compliments

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenYvdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Your kind words about our team sound like music to my hears! Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to write about your very pleasant stay in White Mansion Phnom Penh.


We all hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,451
    406
    55
    18
    4
See reviews for
339
948
124
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel was recommended to us, and we are so glad that we acted on the suggestion.

Although it is slightly away from the main tourist drag down on the river front, the White Mansion is a haven to which one can retreat from the noise, bustle and traffic of Phnom Penh. The building was formerly the US Embassy residence. It is spacious and elegant with very attractive rooms. We had a mini suite. The bathroom was almost large enough to host a party and the bedroom a ball!! Not really, but you get the picture. The marble floors and exceptionally high ceilings gave a feeling of space, light and cool. We were certainly very comfortable during our three nights at the White Mansion.

Le Cafe is on the ground floor and serves breakfast, drinks, coffee and French pastries and light meals. While the menu is not extensive, the meals were reasonable, tasty and well-presented.

The staff were attentive, courteous and ultra efficient. On our last day we asked for a late check out as our flight did not leave until late evening. As our room was needed for incoming guests, we were allocated another next door until 6 pm for an additional $20. It was very welcome and made such a difference to our comfort and convenience.

The White Mansion has a resident dog, Marcelle, who works very hard as a meeter and greeter. She is delightful, and it was a homely touch to have her around - although I noticed she quickly disappeared if anyone appeared to be uncomfortable with her presence.

I would certainly recommend the White Mansion to anyone, be they holiday or business travellers. I am sure you will not be disappointed - and the cool and welcoming pool is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Due it its location, the views from the rooms are not very interesting. If a view is important, per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJRAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your wonderful experience at White Mansion in Phnom Penh. It's guest feedback such as yours that ensures us we are maintaining our standards of providing excellent service to our guests.

I shared your nice words to the all team, including Marcelle!

We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The spacious old building is the soul of the hotel, it provides you enough spaces in room and in the open area, and it also gives u a touch of the colonial feeling. what's more, high ceiling makes air circulation better which helps to cool you down when you are back from outdoor. The general manager is like the chamberlain of your house, keep everything you need and provide whatever you needed. He stayed night in the front door to greet you back, and the overall service from housekeeping to restaurants are also excellent.
Location is also perfect, you could have tuk tuk easily or it's also convenient to walk out.
If you are not looking for luxury hotel but a warm and cozy one, this is what I recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mung M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Mung,

Thank you for giving White Mansion the "home away from home" status. Indeed, working here everyday, we do our best to make everyone feel at his best.

Kind regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We returned after twelve months for yet another holiday in Cambodia.The hotel had a few changes in personnel but it still had the ethos of excellence at its core. Sokha is now the General Manager and at front of house is the excellent Younes. Both were so helpful, organising restaurant appointments and cars. On the last morning at 4am, Sokha was there to give us a coffee and send us on our way.
The room (314) is a large suite with huge beds and a sitting area. The cafe does not have a large menu but its breakfasts are excellent and our poolside food was first rate.
The location is excellent for restaurants and the markets, There was always a tuc-tuc outside with English speaking drivers who would look after us for a single visit or for an extensive round trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macbrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
It was good to have both of you back! Thank you so much for your second visit, it was a true pleasure.

No need to share your sweet review with everybody, you already talked to all of us. We appreciate a lot your interaction with us and the fact that above all, you love Cambodia. Thank you for being such an Ambassador!

See you next Year for a 4am coffee again? :)

Best wishes for 2014 and warm regards.

Sokha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

White Mansion is a lovely hotel, established in the old US embassy. The building is beautiful, and the rooms are very spacious and well set out. The location was ideal, and the attentive staff were excellent. We enjoyed the pool area in the later afternoons, a 25 metre lap pool, a bonus in a city!
It felt like a home away from home. Excellent value too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jungones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

A home away from home... That could be our motto! It perfectly describe our aim for each single guest we have the pleasure to welcome at White Mansion.

Thank you very much for your review and describing our historical Residence of the American Embassy as lovely.

We hope to see you again. Best wishes for 2014.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the white mansion with our 1 1/2 year old son recently. The staff were very helpful and loved playing with son. We loved the room with beautiful 12 foot high ceilings and the pool was a welcomed relief after a long day checking out the sights. We would definitely stay here again when in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Prue,

Thank you for sharing your experience at White Mansion with your sweet family. Indeed, Cambodians are very family oriented, we just love the warmth of children playing with parents and friends. And your son is so cute... :)

Please come back anytime, we are waiting for you!

Best wishes for 2014.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naha, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice, although it would have been perfect were it not for the hotel staff acting as touts upon your arrival. After traveling to Phnom Penh, the last thing one needs is the hotel staff accosting them about whether or not they want to book an overpriced tour. I expect this kind of behavior from a sketchy tuk-tuk driver, not from hotel staff, let alone hotel staff visibly being supervised by hotel management. This is shameful and taints an otherwise nice experience.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter5195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
the 252
the 252
#14 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,238 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 267 in Phnom Penh
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion

Property: White Mansion
Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage [ˈvɪntɪdʒ]: denoting something from the past of high quality, especially something representing the best of its kind. Welcome to the historical residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh. Unique charming boutique hotel, White Mansion is located in the heart of the city, only few steps away from all major highlights and business area, in a quiet environment. New addition, the famous French Eric Kayser Bakery and Cafe is now part of our offer on site. A unique experience of Phnom Penh to enjoy your nights as well as your breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing