We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of White Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Mansion
Ranked #8 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed 4 nights in this beautiful boutique hotel. The location amenities, spa, cafe, pool, decor and staff were all top notch. The staff were exceptional, great service & extremely helpful going out of there way to accommodate us. Great location on 240 street! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaG2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Donna,

Thanks you to you for your kind review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our lovely former Residence of the American Embassy.

We all hope to see you again in the near future for a peaceful retreat at White Mansion.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
There are newer reviews for White Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a junior suite thanks to their special offer (69 $ a night). Everything was perfect! The rooms are very well decorated (i would say they even look better in reality than on the pictures displayed on the website). The complementary breakfast is delicious and has a lot of choice. "Service is an art" is their motto and it really makes sens. All the staff is extremely friendly and smiling. There you can really feel that they care about their guests. Special mention for M. Younes who speak perfect french and was really nice talking to and very helpful. we were here to celebrate my husband 40 birthday and they offered us a cake from a delicous french pastry. The spa was very good too.
Staying here was an excellent, classy, restful break in the middle of our 8 months backpackers trip. We had the service of a palace in a human-size hotel: we really enjoyed it!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Delph-onagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Delphine,

Thanks you to you for your kind review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our lovely former Residence of the American Embassy. Very few days per year, we sometimes have a 50% discount on last minute booking (within 24 hours, only in low season): glad you could get it to experience White Mansion!

We all hope to see you again in the near future for a peaceful retreat.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I don't rate too many things as full marks but this hotel definitely deserves it. We had a lovely time staying here, the room was beautifully appointed, the staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming and the location is convenient yet in a fairly quiet street.
Usually there is something that you would like to see improved but quite honestly for us this just hit the mark !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jaydee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Jaydee,

We are appreciative of your wonderful feedback regarding your stay at White Mansion. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that a guest felt welcomed and well taken care of throughout his or her stay. I will certainly share you compliments with the entire team.

We hope to put another smile on your face the next time you are in Phnom Penh!

Warm regards,

Ms. Sokha Meu
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Unfortunately we stayed only one night in this beautiful boutique hotel. This old house has been renovated with great taste and the room we stayed in was very comfortable: spacious, sober and tasteful, high speed internet, quality bedding. We have dinner in the restaurant despite a late arrival and breakfast which we were served the next day was excellent: croissants, baguettes, real Italian cappuccino, ... at will in a very contemporary decor. Staff - lovely - showed availability and efficiency throughout our brief stay. Finally, this hotel is a few minutes walk from the main tourist interests. An address to remember and we would stay very likely, but this time for a longer stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Nicole,

Thanks you to you for your kind review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our lovely former Residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh.

We all hope to see you again in the near future for a peaceful retreat at White Mansion.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here one night. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. They allowed us to rent their shuttle van and arranged a tour guide for us. The $33 ninety minute massage was AMAZING! A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinpretzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I appreciate your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at White Mansion. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and felt you were well taken care of from the moment you walked through our doors. I will pass your compliments onto our Spa teams. The guest's experience is their number one priority and they strive to make each guest feel comfortable and at home.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to White Mansion very soon.

Warm regards,

Ms. Sokha Meu
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed there only one night, because it was totally off budget but we really enjoyed our stay. The staff is super nice and caring, the swimming pool is refreshing (I mean the water is cool, which doesn't often happen in Cambodia !) and the room we had was huge and very clean. There were Asian fruits on a plate to welcome us, we got two cocktails as soon as we entered the hotel, the staff took care of our backpacks for us and brought them to our room... We felt like king and queen !
Prices are really high for the mini bar and laundry compared to what you can find in shops but that's the standing right ?
The breakfast is therefore excellent and included ! Good pancakes and fruit juice, you can ask for a refill...
We wished we could have afford more nights there !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColineDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Coline,

Thanks you to you for your kind review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our peaceful and lovely former Residence of the American Embassy. Thank you for mentioning that your stay worth the little extra on your bill compared with smaller hotels.

We all hope to see you again in the near future for a peaceful retreat.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We usually check into SPG hotels for vacations but since there's none in PP, my partner had initially wanted to book a cheaper hotel by the river since this was like our "cheap weekend getaway". Our Siem Reap visit 3 years ago left us "templed out" and we wanted to do just the Pol pot regime history and chillax so I suggested we book a "better" hotel where we would appreciate time spent in (as opposed to cheap hotel with no window view or amenities).

I read many good reviews about the White Mansion Boutique Hotel but to be honest, they were not within our budget range (especially for a non international brand, who would expect to pay so much?). We contacted a few others (Kabiki, Pavillion etc) but they were either fully booked or we had to switch rooms halfway during our stay. Alas, we had no choice but to book WM. Their double room looked tiny in the pictures and since they were having a promotion on their Junior suite during that time, we booked the latter. We also booked the hotel pick up service.

The driver was friendly & asked if it was our first time in PP and welcomed us. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were surprised there's no driveway into the hotel. The car simply parked just outside on the street and we got off to walk into the main entrance. At the reception, we had a welcome drink each and a wet towel to freshen up. We were also briefed on PP's city map by the hotel staff and then led to our room. The hotel dog was obedient and did not bother guests.

Our "junior suite" was located on the 1st level (reception being "B" Lvl). It had the pool view from one of the side window and the opposite apartment view. It had very high ceiling which made it look spacious and an ensuite toilet with shower. We won't really term this as a "suite"; but the size of the room suffice for couples or a small family with young children. The pillow was too uncomfortable for my liking. I had insomnia on the first night and had no choice but to request a change of pillow at 5am after battling the neck ache and tiredness. The staff (though sounding sleepy and one didn't really understood English) saw to my request immediately and brought me a new softer one. Kudos to the young chap who brought me my saviour pillow! The next morning, one of the staff, Yunus, also checked on me during breakfast to ensure I slept well with the new pillow. It's a very much appreciated gesture. Thank you.

However, we did not enjoy our showers much as it became quite stressful not to wet the floors. The shower area is "semi open" and as many guests have complained, our concern is the same - getting our toilet floor wet after every shower is very irritating. Try using a wet floor mat and worry about slipping every time. The toilet gets choked after a "big business" is done (thanks to the old trusty toilet plunger, we managed to unclog it ourselves and save us some embarrassment). The body lotion smells like the stench of someone's smelly feet/pee. The reading lights on the bed head is too blinding! We appreciate the turn down service but those biscuits served have lost its crisp and are unpalatable.

These are little "misses" but basics that the hotel should seek immediate resolution to. In my opinion, if you are to do it, then do it right! And if you are paying so much (USD) in a 3rd world country, one would expect justification on its price equivalent.

Complimentary: Soft drinks and mineral water in the mini bar is FOC. They will replenish it daily. This is one good differentiation strategy; though we don't drink too much carbonated drinks but still a good perk. Laundry bag and a few other stuff are chargeable so before you take a piece of "souvenir" with you, read the menu please.

Pool: The pool was narrow but appropriate size for 2 to swim in, we took a 9am plunge one morning before breakfast to beat everyone else. It was cold but very refreshing! At night, the pool glowed like a blue lagoon and the bats come out to feed on the little insects that are on top of the water.

F&B: Breakfast is served unlimited ala carte. The staff were all friendly and accommodating. Not a wide variety of food but enough of the American & Asian fare to fill one up. The passion fruit juice and pineapple jam was nice and different, but one would think the lack of other tropical fruit juices/jam selection in a tropical country where most private establishments are run by the French is quite a disappointment. Strawberry jam, orange marmalade, where art thou? We enjoyed all our meals at the cafe. The fish amok, tomyam soup and coconut ice cream was delicious, but the beef loklak needs less salt/MSG though. We also thought that the prices could be reviewed and brought down lower. Last we discovered, the papaya salad we had in the hotel cafe (USD7.50) costs only 75cts at the night market. I do not think that manpower costs should come at an expense of ten times more for a basic dish.

Hotel spa: We tried feet massage at the hotel spa on our first evening but found that it was really below average. The girls were a bit slack and we felt like we overpaid for someone to touch our feet and not do a proper job.

Proximity of the hotel: we walked to the nearby Lucky supermarket one evening. Most other times, we took a US$3 tuk tuk to places of attraction, massage, manicure etc. Cambodia is mostly too hot to walk in the afternoons. We also learnt to appreciate the quietness of the street we were on after touring the night market and riverfront which was full of "dodgy couples" and bad traffic.

We had an enjoyable stay at the hotel overall, just a few "hit and misses" but I would think the hospitality of the staff (and the peaceful quiet street of 240) made our vacation more bearable.


  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownsugar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your comment. Please note our Chef cooks absolutely everything daily and fresh, he never used MSG and it has always been forbiden in our kitchen anyway.

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 272 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 272 in Phnom Penh
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion

Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £67 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the historical Residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh. Unique charming Boutique hotel, White Mansion is located in the heart of the city, only few steps away from all major highlights and business area, in a quiet environment. As a gift, all Privilege rate bookers will receive a complementary pick up from airport with a private car, a relaxing Welcome Khmer Massage, a delicious unlimited Eric Kayser breakfast (serve daily from 6am until 5pm!), a welcome drink, a welcome fruit plate, Early check-in and Late check-out whenever available, free use of the minibar in the room, unlimited WiFi and at last but not least full flexibility with free cancellation up to 24 hours prior checking day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing