We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is an art”
Review of White Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Mansion
Ranked #6 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Service is an art”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of June. We had the suite room 114. The room is huge and very nicely furnished. The air con is good ( if you keep the fans on because the ceilings are so high). The location is a little way out of the main night time area but a tuk tuk is only $3 and are available right outside the hotel. The staff were most welcoming and friendly. They always open the doors for you and greet you with a welcoming smile. The pool area is lovely and needed after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast was good. We would definitely recommend this hotel. The wifi password is "serviceisanart" and they seem to have this totally mastered.

Room Tip: The suite was excellent but talking to other travellers all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pje39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for taking the time to write your kind words following your recent stay at White Mansion.
I was delighted that you enjoyed all the facilities and most importantly the service we provided you with. I have passed on your comments to the team. Please do join us again soon: the really very hot season in Cambodia is almost over.

Many thanks once again.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    402
    55
    18
    4
See reviews for
333
936
123
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel , the service was wonderful the staff went out of their way to help us with any questions . They recommended beautiful Resturant s and all the sights to see . Our room was huge and the pool lovely , after full days out visiting temples and the sad sights at the killing fields it was a needed oasis .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vivianashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Viviana,

I am very appreciative of the very kind words you have written following your stay at White Mansion. Our aim with all our guests is to ensure we try our very hardest to make all of our guests feel at home and meet their expectations.

I do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon in the near future.

Warm regards,


Ms Sokha Meu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosco city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel service was fantastic staff very friendly pleasant stay
Price bit expensive but hotel was fantastic
Clean room good art over all excellent specialty staff very good location bit inside 5 mtr from river side

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you to you for your kind review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our lovely former Residence of the American Embassy.

We all hope to see you again in the near future for a peaceful retreat at White Mansion.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Second stay for 6 nights. Would be my choice again. Why? The ambience of staying in a hotel that reminds me of the past (the high ceilings, the huge rooms and design), yet modern and tastefully decorated -wonderful artwork. It is quiet, has a lovely little cafe to have delicious breakfast of your choice. A lap pool too.
And the people who make the place - such friendly staff who make you feel welcomed and give you personalized attention. Service is indeed an art they have mastered. A perfect little oasis to unwind and energize for the next day. Plus internet is included. Just perfect.

Room Tip: First floor facing the pool was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you to you for your kind review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our peaceful and lovely former Residence of the American Embassy.

We all hope to see you again in the near future at White Mansion.

Warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in the White Mansions for to days in a delux room, it was fantastic, very spacious, the bathroom was huge and everything is very clean. The mini bar has free coke and lemonade, plus water and is stocked daily. We went back at the end of our holiday and had a twin room, it was just as nice. The staff are all friendly and helpful, they will do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. The location is good, very central, within walking distance of the Palace and other attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 overlooking swimming pool, this is a delux room. On our rreturn we stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Brenda,

Thank you for sharing this raving review of your stay with us - we're absolutely thrilled by it!

Feedback from our guests is always useful to us as we continue in our endeavour to provide a level of service and personalised experience that is second to none. It is so heartening to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience in the near future!

Warm regards,

Ms.Sokha Meu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here in early May for 2 nights in a suite. The rooms are large and that is the only plus I can point out. We got to the room and it was excruciatingly hot. The air only runs when you have your key card in and they will only give you one. We went down to the front desk and asked for a second card and I mentioned that the room was too warm. The rude response from the gentlemen was "you must have just arrived in Cambodia because that is how it is everywhere" We had not just arrived and it is not the norm to not have air in Cambodia. Also they only give you a second key if you sign saying if it is lost you will pay $5. It's a card not a key and getting an extra copy shouldn't be that difficult.
On to the beds. They all tend to be firmer in Asia but this one out of the six hotels we stayed in was by far the hardest and most uncomfortable. Their web says they are king in the suites and feather beds. It was a double and I promise not a feather in the whole place. I slept about 2 hours the first night due to the heat and the uncomfortable bed. The next day I had some extra time and decided to go get a massage and out of the hot room. The lady went over a spot that caused some pain so I said ouch that hurts and pointed to the place and said no. The lady next went over the same spot again but used 5 times as much pressure. This time I screamed and jumped off of the table. The lady said sorry no English. Note to the hotel one of the only words you should teach a masseur is ouch or ow! The rest of the massage was like a child rubbing lotion on my back and I left with my back in pain. The second night was much better than the first because I slept on the couch and it was much softer than the bed and right in front of the air.
Service was mediocre at best. The most friendly help we got was from Tom the tuk tuk driver. Don't bother asking for a restaurant recommendation because it seems like they have a set list that they go from. We got the same answer and list both nights from 2 different people even though the second night we asked for a French restaurant and the list didn't include a single one. The restaurant on sight was limited and mediocre at best.
We were on the first floor and we could hear every single transaction that went on in the lobby. So if you stay here ask for a floor on the second floor.
The decor in the hotel is modern and just a bad choice. It clashes with the original architecture of the building. There are obnoxiously large pieces of abstract art for sale hanging on the wall that don't go with any of it.
I am not sure how this hotel is even in the top five on trip advisor. My advice is stay somewhere else. This is not what service should be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank willtravel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgoan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lovely well maintained hotel. Good buffet breakfast ( v good muesli and croissant !) . Very clean rooms. Good tv channels. Helpful staff. We had one excellent room and other one had challenges in terms of storage space and bathroom design ( but I guess this would just be an aberration and the hotel cnfmd to us that they wl set right the storage issue permanently). .

We had a few difficulties which when raised upto the GM and the 'owner' were satisfactorily resolved.

Impressed with their service motto. They really follow it through.

Wld love to stay with them again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room 410 if available. This must be the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Emperor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-WM, General Manager at White Mansion, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing your feedback to me and the owner... I fully emphasize with the unfortunate experience relating to room amenities and we are truly sorry for that.

As you said, we immediately reported your comments with the Maintenance manager in order to solve this issue.

We again humbly apologize but we truly want you to have a wonderful time in our Kingdom of Cambodia. We would be delighted to have you and your lovely family around again.

Please rest assured that White Mansion takes the comfort of it's guest as a top priority.

With warm regards,

Ms Sokha Meu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
1.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#8 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mansion

Property: White Mansion
Address: 26 Street 240, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage [ˈvɪntɪdʒ]: denoting something from the past of high quality, especially something representing the best of its kind. Welcome to the historical residence of the American Embassy in Phnom Penh. Unique charming boutique hotel, White Mansion is located in the heart of the city, only few steps away from all major highlights and business area, in a quiet environment. New addition, the famous French Eric Kayser Bakery and Cafe is now part of our offer on site. A unique experience of Phnom Penh to enjoy your nights as well as your breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing