We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wandering, yet in a Home away from Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel
Ranked #49 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wandering, yet in a Home away from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Location wise, the Villa-60s is the ideal if your kind of trip is not the mainstream kind. It's located in an area with other backpacker accomodations, not far away from the main streets. Staff are friendly and the amenities though are quite good with what I paid for. Despite it not having its own pool, one can be accomodated in its Fine Arts branch with the great pool (though I have not gone for it despite my plans). I was lent a bike for free for me to use to roam around. Armed with a map and that bike, I pretty much had a fun stay at Phnom Penh. Food was also great and a good price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaGne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    32
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
40
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The villa is centrally located but is still quiet. Close to Lucky supermarket and the restaurants in BKK1 area. The room was nice and clean. Shame about the construction next door and the hot/cold water issues in the bathroom (the water was cold most of the time, but the one time it was hot, it was scalding hot). The garden area out front is lovely and the breakfast was ace. They cook it fresh in front of you so none of that buffet stuff. The staff was super friendly and cheerful. If you need a tuk tuk, be sure to ask for Vichet who is often parked outside the villa. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

If you want to feel like living should have been in the golden years before this fascinating city turned into darkness you should check this little boutique hotel. It offers a few rooms in a carefully restored villa built in the style of architecture which makes Phnom Penh so intesting for a cultural city walk. I stayed in a the big double room, which has the character of a living room with a balcony and bathroom in lovely terrazzo. The hotel has a little bar with a shady terras downstairs. For you relaxing time you could take a bike or let you drive to Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel where you get access to the rooftop swimming pool.
The service, staff, breakfast should be improved!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katzi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I really don't have many positive things to say about this place. It's not awful, but the staff are a bit unsettling. From filling in the form at check-in to being shown the room, the interaction felt kinda like the start of a crap horror film, but it may have just been us.

The place is a lot more dated than it looks in the photos. We booked a double deluxe room, but like the other reviews were "upgraded" to the suite which consisted of very little natural light, and would be fine if it was just the bedroom/bathroom. The extra "suite" part with kitchen and tv/sitting area actually somehow makes the experience worst. It feels soulless and badly thought out. The suite features a redundant outside area with a sliding door and no seating.

We didn't hang around for long as the bar area isn't very inviting and we had stuff to do. The Internet is reasonably fast, but nothing special. The breakfast is terrible. We were handed a badly structured form to tick what we wanted. Having done this the waiter scribbled out the stuff we couldn't have and eventually brought half-toasted bread with fake, sugary butter, carton orange juice, two weirdly poached eggs and a terrible omelette. Even the fruit salad was crap.

I'm definitely not staying here again. Perhaps it's because we stayed in a decent hotel for a few nights before this place, but I think this place is just very mediocre.

Room Tip: Don't take the suite "upgrade"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoobusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
143 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

My short stay in Phnom Penh was the the Frangipani villa - 60s hotel. Though the rooms were quite decent and toilets clean, I was shocked to learn that they could not offer me anything to eat even though it was only about 9.30pm...I practically slept on an empty stomach. The breakfast next day was quite good and partially alleviated my woes.
All in all, the location too isn't great, though there is a nice old world charm about the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Docsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed at the 60's for five nights on the last leg of our Laos and Cambodia holiday. Very friendly and helpful staff who met the few requests we had promptly. Chose the Super Studio and it was exactly as depicted in the website photos. Spacious and with a private terrace. Were also able to get a 15% discount as we had stayed in a sister hotel in Siem Reap.
Whilst not having any affiliation with the Hotel itself we were able to secure the services of Mr.Lim the tuk-tuk driver who has set up in the street. A delightful and absolutely honest driver who looked after us on virtually all our trips around town and to the Killing fields and S21. Keep an eye out for him and ask for him by name.

Room Tip: Go for the Studio Suite which has its own private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThracyKathTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

If you are looking for honeymoon feel kind of place to stay in, this isn't it. However, it is good enough for those who plans to stay in Phnom Penh for only a few days. There's free wifi, room is really clean and the staff are friendly. I particularly that they are helping charity org to sell the friendship bands for the needy kids!

Room Tip: It is quite common for the entire street to experience blackout. Not to fear, the staff are super ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N1t3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.9 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.3 mi away
Manor House Boutique Hotel
Manor House Boutique Hotel
#7 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel

Property: Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel
Address: 252 #20r, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, leafy frontage of the Frangipani Villa-60’s boutique hotel conceals a carefully restored 1960’s villa of special character that gives guests an insight into the architecture of a period when Phnom Penh was known as the honeymoon capital of Asia. The hotel was restored by a team led by a Cambodian architect and a landscape designer and has 7 rooms, providing single, double, twin and suite accommodation. Guests can enjoy food and drinks throughout the day at the terrace cafe on the ground floor or relax in the comfortable outdoor seating surrounded by plants in the hotel’s garden. The Frangipani Villa-60’s hotel is centrally located providing ready access to all the popular sites in Phnom Penh as is just a few minutes walk from a good selection of restaurants, an international supermarket and ATM facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Southall Travel so you can book your Frangipani Villa-60s Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing