We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar, Excellent Service for Tours & Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
11 Happy Backpackers
Reviewed 24 January 2014

While I didn't stay here I did drink in the bar, and get excellent advice from Jasper and the Staff regarding tours around Phnom Penh and onward travel to Siam Reap.

They arranged my Tuk Tuk with a great english speaking driver for tours of S21 Museum and the Killing Fields and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MikeENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

If u travel to Phnom Penh , stay at 11 backpackers .... Great place .... Nice staff ... Rooms are comfy and they have a super roof top bar which has some good draft beer , cocktails n food . Staying at this place was a good start to the trip ... Totally recommend it ..

Room Tip: If ur in a group of 3 or 4 .. They have 2 double beds in one room which are like king size .. Value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohit84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The hostel is perfect for backpackers. Great place to meet new friends and they can organise trips for you at the reception. The rooftop is good and they serve food together with facilities such as two pool tables, a tv, couches and tables. However they play loud music until 2am so bring earplugs.

The bad part is that the dorms lack locks for your luggage if you have computer and things like that with you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ynnojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

They do offer hot water here, but only in the more expensive suites. I stayed in a dorm. The single rooms were twice as much. There were no clean towels in the rooms or the dorm, but the staff provided them when asked. The rooftop bar was full of friendly and helpful staff I spent most of my time in Phnom Pehn there. The front desk was a little difficult to deal with at times. The food was average, but sanitary (only place I've had a salad in Cambodia). Theatre was small and cozy, the ticket price (3.50USD) seemed high, but was good for all four of the days movies.

I highly recommend checking out the rooftop bar, even if you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasterGears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We ate here a few times during our 5 day stay and enjoyed the best breakfast, dinner and cocktails that Phnom Phen had to offer. The staff are lovely and would do anything to keep us happy, one order came out wrong and they immediately took it back to the kitchen without question. The atmosphere is chilled but the guy behind the bar gave us control of the music playlist when it was busy. It's not in the centre of all the action but is located on the backpacker st which is away from town. We preferred eating and drinking here as it was much cheaper than by the river and had a much more relaxed feeling. Great place!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank EmYas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

During a trip through southeast Asia, we unfortunately ran into this place. Granted the lobby and the rooftop was nice, and nice to have. But the rooms... Our small room looked horrible and filthy. Dirty towels, hot room (with two fans), noise from the bar upstairs. Oh yeah and there wasn't any water in the room, (I don't mean hot) I mean none at all! Neither in the shower, sink nor toilet!! When I brought up the issue they couldn't have cared less, which is bad service in my opinion. I believe that the attitude of luring people with a beautiful trap, and receive no service whatsoever is wrong. This saga ended with me getting up at 5 am searching for other options. Glad I left that place. I would never recommend this place even to people im not fond of.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Edokon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

An extremely friendly hostel in the centre of Phnom Penh. The staff speaks perfect english and they are really friendly as well. Rooms are nice and clean. The place has an amazing rooftop bar with cheap drinks and great food, offering khmer and western dishes as well. They play nice music, and have free pool tabled. They have a cinema as well. The staff helps you book tours and bus tickets.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are noisy because of the rooftop bar above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#5 of 250 in Phnom Penh
718 reviews
1.0 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#8 of 250 in Phnom Penh
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
19 Happy House Backpacker
19 Happy House Backpacker
#89 of 250 in Phnom Penh
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Base Villa
Base Villa
#11 of 250 in Phnom Penh
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 274 in Phnom Penh
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 11 Happy Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 11 Happy Backpackers

Address: 136 #87-89, St., Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 250 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Happy Backpackers, With over 40 rooms and 75+ dorm beds and an amazing rooftop bar/restaurant we strive to be Cambodia's #1 Hostel. We aim for our guests to enjoy their stay to the fullest. We offer: - Super priced private rooms, dorms and big group stays - An amazing rooftop with 2 pool tables, 2 dart machines, beerpong table, great music, fresh air, safe environment, serve food and drink all day and night, friendly staff and the place to party. - Last year we opened our Movie House corporation with The Flicks 2, located on our ground floor we are playing blockbusters, docu's, Cambodian history and backpacking classic movies in our AIRCONDITIONED awesomeness MOVIE ROOM, RATED #1 ON TRIPADVISOR AT THINGS TO DO IN PHNOM PENH. - Visa, Tickets, Tours service, you name it, we have it! sharply price and our visa prices beat the embassy prices! -dorms with AC starting from 5$ a night, -private rooms w/bathroom starting from 8$ a night - a social envirement for you to meet fellow travellers and have a great stay! - most central location you can find! 5 minute walk from Riverside and 10 minute walk to Central Market, Royal Palace & National Museum. - big spacious dorms for tour-groups. more than 40 rooms and 75 dorm beds. Amazing rooftop bar with FREE pooltables, TV, Hammocks, drinking games, Awesome music, SAFE $ FRIENDLY and many more! We arrange visas and bus tickets with GUARENTEED LOWEST PRICE! Once you stay you wont want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your 11 Happy Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing