We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, quiet and simple” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Ranked #23 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Small, quiet and simple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

After 14 days on tour it was nice to stay in a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of phnom penh. Our arrival was met with a drink and a friendly smile. The room was nice with great decor and with a comfy bed i think the bathroom door could not close from memory not that it was a problem. The downside was breakfast compared to other hotels of the same price not much to choose from. Location to restaurants was good and not very far to walk. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very professional.
Could not stay here for more than a couple of days but recommend for a short stay and a good price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul24101964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    36
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
30
35
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We arrived to Villa Samnang after trying to book in other boutiques hotels of the area... As they were all full, we decided to book in this one as it was recommended by other of the hotels...
Service is efficient and nice.
When we arrived, and while they do the check in, we were offered a drink by the pool while we were waiting.
The pool is a nice place, with the restaurant in one side... One of the mornings we were there there were some kids with their family... I wasn't bothered by them, but considering is a little place if you want some relax it can be a problem...
Room is great. Simple decoration but with a nice touch. Photos are posted to check it.
The bed is really comfy and big... All was very clean.
Not lot of amenities in the room. The door of the bathroom didn't close well... hope they fixed it after our stay, that small details make the difference between an incredible hotel or a simple one...
There was a dvd in the room, and some films were offered. We watched one...
The breakfast (which is included in the price) is poor... Only coffe & milk and toasts... Quite simple comparing to other hotels in the area, but enough for the start of the day.
The area where the hotel is situated is very quiet, think it is the "modern" part of PP, where the embassies, ngos and more are.
There is a street with restaurants and bars very near, so it's easy to find nice places to have dinner...
Over all, great experience...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macavigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesBong, Public Relations Manager at Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment about Villa Samnang. I am happy that you enjoyed our room, but I feel sorry that you didn't sleep well. At the time you were staying in our hotel, a group of teenagers with their parents were also staying and were noisy as they enjoyed the swimming pool.

I am sorry that you didn't get your fresh orange juice; my team told me they couldn't find fresh oranges in the local market. That is why we served you bottle orange juice.

As your credit card didn't work, we asked you to pay cash. But we do have the machine and we do accept credit cards.

I hope that you will forgive us for all these inconveniences, and I hope you still enjoyed your time with us.

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was looking for a place that doesn't accept sex tourists, cause you only want to stay at good places in Cambodia, and I found this place. I booked one of the last rooms but I was welcomed by a french cambodian receptionist who told me that the only free room is a windowless room and so he took me to the nearby Villa Srey.

After two nights I finally came back and all was well. The rooms have that modern look, bathroom was quite black (something that I haven't seen before), and it had the bubble gum scent coming from the strawberry-scented hand soap dispenser. It was something unique in Phnom Penh. Then I had a lovely sleep and a good view of the nearby rooftops.

I didn't use the pool or had breakfast, but if you're looking for something small and basic, then this is for you. It's a humble place with small hallways but with really nice rooms. While this isn't really my favorite accomodation but I can't find any flaw that would give it a lower overall rating. The place is excellent!

Room Tip: Book far in advance and get confirmation of the room that you want, or you might end up in Villa Sre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel and really enjoyed the amibience, good service and beautiful decor. It is in a nice part of the city with some quiet streets and good restaurants nearby but just a short tuk-tuk down to the river side area. We really enjoyed relaxing by the pool after a day spent walking around the city. The breakfast is served in the small dining area over looking the pool. They have great jam to go with baguettes, eggs and fresh juice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampot, Cambodia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had two rooms - one family room (two queen beds) - and one double room (one large queen bed). The rooms are nicely decorated with a concrete motif (even the bathrooms.) The beds are about a 7 out of 10. Most beds in Cambodia are typically hard and these were better than most!

The staff were very helpful and the free breakfast was nice (eggs, bacon, juice/coffee and plenty of bread). We were able to park our vehicle on the street with no problems. There are always tuk tuks waiting to take you places. The pool (no shallow end) was great but was cold - but we live in Cambodia and are acclimated to the heat so December and January feel cool to us!

Two of the 4 nights the family room (they have two) were booked and we switched to their sister hotel (Villa Srey) one street over which was no problem. It was actually quieter because there are only 6 rooms and no steps to climb.

Overall - a great place to stay with a personal and quiet feel!

Room Tip: Book ahead if you need a family size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope4Cambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa De La Paix
Villa De La Paix
#92 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Place Apartments
Embassy Place Apartments
#125 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phnom Penh Katari Hotel
Phnom Penh Katari Hotel
#46 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Cambell
Villa Cambell
#25 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilary's Boutique Hotel
Hilary's Boutique Hotel
#11 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Address: No 15 Street 302, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Villa Samnang)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Samnang is a recently renovated and refurbished modern villa style boutique hotel with a stylish designed salt water outdoor pool, garden, pool side bar and bistro. The hotel is located in a street just of the main central roads in the hart of the popular business and leisure BKK1 district of Phnom Penh. With all the major visiting sites nearby. Riverside is a 5 minute drive and shopping malls, many restaurants and bars at walking distance from the hotel. Villa Samnang is the ideal base for your visit to Phnom Penh. Villa Samnang features 14 spacious, modern and individually designed airconditioned rooms with ensuite bathrooms, free bath amenities, mini bar, fridge, flat screen tv, DVD player, tea/coffee maker, hairdryer, a safe and free super fast WIFI. Relax in our comfortable loungers set around our chlorine free saltwater pool. Enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner at our contemporary designed pool side bar and bistro. We serve your favourite coffee, drinks, cocktails, local and international dishes all day. Our staff at the 24 hour frontdesk speaks your language and is able to assist you with expert advice, book your tours, taxi or make reservation anywhere in Cambodia.Since November 1st, 2016, Villa Samnang has a new and dedicated owner. So please read previous comments with that in mind, as the previous owner has stopped caring for this property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing