We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect slow place in Phnom Penh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 320 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect slow place in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If this spot is rated #25 of all B&B's in Phnom Penh, PP must have plenty of great places to stay. For me, I don't think I will look further. A small guesthouse with a very well designed pool area with small restaurant playing Miles Davies, each room with a different design, and in a quiet street in a central area of Phnom Penh makes this a perfect spot for grown up travellers looking for a quiet place with a chill feel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geirsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    36
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
30
35
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Lovely big rooms nice hot showers strong internet and a great pool and everywhere spotlessly clean! Upgraded on my second night to an even bigger room with a huge balcony that over looked the pool. Staff were super friendly and a credit to the hotel. Defo will stay here again only negetive thing to say is that the menu is very limited but its not a huge problem as there are loads of nice places around. This hotel is a proper little gem!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sakanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We left today and really enjoyed our stay. The place was clean, staff were friendly and attentive, and it was in a great spot for visiting the sights. Can't fault it. Would definitely recommend it and would stay there again if we ever return. We stayed in a triple room with our two small children (who loved the pool). It had a small bed and breakfast feel to it. Food was simple but what they offered they did well. Can't ask for more than that. Very happy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is situated in the embassies quarter. A quite and pleasant area south of the city centre away from the tourist crowd. Still 5 minutes tuk-tuk away from the main attractions. We had a very large and nice corner room in this old but nicely and elegantly restructured old villa. There is a small but pleasant swimming pool. Breakfast is simple but fresh and clean. It was a mirage after an unpleasant bus ride from Koh Kong to Phnom Penh with an outdated and dirty bus of the Rith Mony Transport (RMN) which was stopping every 15 minutes and took over 6 hours before arriving to destination. By taxi you would need only 4.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam188057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are very functional and clean. Complete amenities from safety box, minibar, tv with DVD etc. bathrooms are clean (for some reason the wash-bin is not connected to the hot water which made shaving more complicated).
We did not eat at the hotel as the menu is very limited. The dining area is very small with about 3 tables. We did not see anyone eating during our stay. The breakfast though is excellent with various choices.
The pool area is appropriate for a refreshing swim but a bit tight to spend hours lounging about.
Location is not downtown but is just a 5 min tuktuk drive away. 2 blocks away there is a restaurant area where we found a nice Khmer restaurant to celebrate new year eve.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lofberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesBong, Marketing Agent at Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Iofberg,

The Villa Samnang staff would like to thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about us. About the lack of hot water in the sink, it can simply be explained by the fact that in Cambodia, water-heater are small devices placed directly in the shower instead of heating the whole place because electricity is still an expensive commodity and must be preserved. About the neighborhood, I must tell you that our hotel is located in the heart of BKK1, which is the most valued area in the city and is also quite central. However, we hope you enjoyed our stay with us and that you will choose us again if you find yourself again in Phnom Penh.

The Villa Samnang staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and the location is convenient, however food menu is limited and beds are not overly comfortable.
TVs in room are small flat screens with built in DVD, however the room I had didn't work.
Bathroom products are limited to just liquid soap & shampoo.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AUSBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel close to a large number of good restaurants and a twenty minute walk from the city centre. We stayed in a large room with an excellent shower and a balcony overlooking the small pool, which had plenty of shaded seating. It was quiet and peaceful. We liked that there was a central tipping box at reception as all the staff were delightful and friendly. For example, having spotted a small midge in the room, I was given the largest can of insect repellent I have ever seen and told to hold onto it until we left. Breakfast was made to order and included fruit, cereal, eggs, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesBong, Marketing Agent at Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Eileen,
Thanks for your kind review, the Villa Samnang staff is really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our place. Insect repellent cans are always ready in case any of our guests sees the tiniest sign of midge invasion. We were really glad to make everything we could to give you our best during your stay in Cambodia. We hope to see you again soon.
The Villa Samnang Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa De La Paix
Villa De La Paix
#103 of 264 in Phnom Penh
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilary's Boutique Hotel
Hilary's Boutique Hotel
#57 of 264 in Phnom Penh
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Place Apartments
Embassy Place Apartments
#114 of 264 in Phnom Penh
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Cambell
Villa Cambell
#29 of 214 in Phnom Penh
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
House Boutique Eco Hotel
House Boutique Eco Hotel
#6 of 320 in Phnom Penh
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Villa Independence
Casa Villa Independence
#23 of 214 in Phnom Penh
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Address: No 15 Street 302, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Villa Samnang)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Samnang is a recently renovated and refurbished modern villa style boutique hotel with a stylish designed salt water outdoor pool, garden, pool side bar and bistro. The hotel is located in a street just of the main central roads in the hart of the popular business and leisure BKK1 district of Phnom Penh. With all the major visiting sites nearby. Riverside is a 5 minute drive and shopping malls, many restaurants and bars at walking distance from the hotel. Villa Samnang is the ideal base for your visit to Phnom Penh. Villa Samnang features 14 spacious, modern and individually designed airconditioned rooms with ensuite bathrooms, free bath amenities, mini bar, fridge, flat screen tv, DVD player, tea/coffee maker, hairdryer, a safe and free super fast WIFI. Relax in our comfortable loungers set around our chlorine free saltwater pool. Enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner at our contemporary designed pool side bar and bistro. We serve your favourite coffee, drinks, cocktails, local and international dishes all day. Our staff at the 24 hour frontdesk speaks your language and is able to assist you with expert advice, book your tours, taxi or make reservation anywhere in Cambodia.Since November 1st, 2016, Villa Samnang has a new and dedicated owner. So please read previous comments with that in mind, as the previous owner has stopped caring for this property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing