We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and big family room, some minor handicaps”
Review of La Maison d'Ambre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison d'Ambre
Ranked #37 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was together with my family in the two room apartment in first floor (called Mogambo). Ver nice decoration and good confort if you need to spend several days or weeks in Phnom Penh. Very big and confortable beds and stylish kitchenette with also powerful wifi. Some things still to be improved, like TV into the rooms (there is a flat TV in the living room), better flow of hot water in the showers ( I run out of warm water too quickly) and breakfast service (too basic and too slow, maybe better to order in-room service at certain time the night before).
The hotel is well located downtown but maybe in a too noisy corner. They arranged for us a very efficient pickup service at the airport and a tuc-tuc to visit the city with very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Mogambo room is a two rooms apartment at the first floor, really big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ercole_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights in December 2013. Good thing about this place is there is only about 10 rooms, each room with its own unique theme. We stayed in the 'Monsoon Wedding' themed room, on level 3.

Organised a transfer from the airport to the hotel, which is about USD$12 (Toyota Camry). Checkin process was smooth as we had prebooked online and paid the 40% deposit. The elevator at this hotel is very small, four people inside is very cosy, but I have since learnt that this is quite common in this part of the world due to space limitations. The doors do close too quickly though; I was sandwiched almost every time I used the lift.

The room was huge! We had 4 adults staying here, but the beds could easily have accomodated another 2 adults. Living area was very spacious, with a seperate dining area to the TV/lounge area. There is also a small balcony for smokers, or to enjoy the view - although not much of a view from this room. A big plus for the hotel is how they have kept with the theme when designing the room - a lot of attention to detail has been put into ensuring the room matches its theme. Even small things like the shape of the windows to the bathroom, and the cutlery and table decorations are well thought out.

Bedrooms were again spacious like the living areas, with comfortable beds and plenty of storage space. Airconditioners in each room - as well as 3 in the living area - meant the December heat was not an issue.

Bathrooms were large, and well lit. A couple of issues, there is a strong sewerage smell in the bathroom, and the drainage in the toilet was a bit slow. But otherwise the bathroom facilities were quite adequate.

Kitchen had a full size fridge and other utilities you would expect in a serviced apartment. One thing to note is the hotel ran out of coffee creamers! A call to reception informed us that the hotel had run out of its supply of creamers, so we couldn't make coffee. This wasn't a major problem as we just went out for breakfast anyway (USD$5-6 at nearby cafes).

Overall, this hotel was a clean, spacious apartment which was ideal for our stay. There is also a nice rooftop restaurant/bar - we didn't eat here, but had great cocktails for USD$6. Would definitely stay again next time we're in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shats86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our second trip to Cambodia in October. It falls short of what you would expect in this price range, and there are better options in PP for the same, if not better, rates.

I would not normally give a poor rating, but given my experience living and traveling in several countries compared to our experience at this hotel, having something stolen out of my room, and the owner's fabrications in response to my wife's recent fair and objective review (all of which below was included), it deserves no more than that.

On arrival - we were told that our room wasn't ready and we could have lunch on the terrace while waiting. The service was slow, the food was overpriced, and the quality was mediocre at best. I have had much better food in Cambodia for a fraction of the cost…even at other hotels and well known eateries.

• The owner's response was that they were doing us a “favour” by serving us lunch as they are not normally open – basically blaming the customer
• My response - the room wasn't ready, the staff shuffled us there and claimed to serve lunch. If you can’t provide the service, don’t offer it. This is your guests' first experience with your hotel - bad start.

On check in to our room, we were met with a pungent smell in the hall, a door knob that was basically falling off and easily broken into, and a key that got stuck in the door when trying to leave.

• The owner’s response to this fact – the smell comes from the street and it is not frequent. Therefore, there is nothing they can do about it. The other items have been mentioned in other reviews which seem to have gone ignored.
• My response – the definition of frequent “occurring or done many times at short intervals”. We were there for 3 days, and it occurred every day. I would say this is frequent.

We raised the issue of the stolen item on Sunday when we checked out. We waited to do so to avoid any further negativity and hoping that it turned up by the time we left as to not get anyone on the staff in trouble unnecessarily. There was no manager on site to address the issue, and the front desk staff basically just handed us our bill and said there was nothing they could do.

• The owner’s response – manager was off on Sunday but the manager turned up to address our “demand for reimbursement”.
• My response – this is a complete fabrication as this never occurred. First of all, we never demanded reimbursement for anything. Secondly, a manager never came back to address our issue. We paid our bill and went on our way. Thirdly, you are claiming to run a hotel and your prices are in line with much higher end establishments, but there is no one capable of addressing guest issues on a Sunday which is a day when many people would check in or out. There seems to be a contradiction here.

All-in-all, I think this hotel has potential, but it is not managed to it’s full expectation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The driver from the airport got lost and didn't speak English, the neighbourhood was run down, things weren't looking promising. But after a couple of conversations with passers by and swerving to avoid piles of garbage in the streets, the driver found this oasis. La Maison d'Ambre is a very stylish, chic and clean boutique hotel. Each room is named after a film title, and decorated in the style and manner of the film. With free DVDs are available for use in the rooms, there is a strong and fun cinematic theme throughout La Maison d'Ambre. The staff is extremely friendly, gracious and helpful. The rooftop lounge, with its pleasant breeze, is a comfortable place for a drink after the ride from the airport, though the view is largely of worn rooftops of neighbouring houses. Within walking distance is a superb strip of restaurants along the river--lots of variety, good quality, service, night life. Closer by is an open-air market worth exploring. Other than the initial ride from the airport, taxi service was good to and from the hotel, with reasonable fares. Didn't like the immediate neighbourhood so much, but this hotel is a very friendly and comfortable place, reflecting a lot of thoughtfulness and creativity in the room themes.

Room Tip: Pick a film you like and you'll be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This place has amazing rooms - very stylish, unbelievably spacious. They are all suites, with a huge living room with a dining area and kitchen, plus a bedroom and a nice bathroom. It's clear that someone with a real sense of design put it together. The bed is excellent. There are only about 8 rooms in the whole place, so it's very cozy. I personally like the location, which is in a busy neighborhood, but I can imagine that some people would not.

My only quibble with this hotel is something the management probably can't help, which is the occasional bad odors that pop up in different places. I suspect this is related to something outside the hotel, possibly in the pipes, but I don't really know. The place is perfectly clean so it seems unlikely that they are doing anything to cause this problem.

Room Tip: Look at the web site. Each room has a different theme, with different decor. I don't know if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andnobodyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Style rather than function. Clearly a lot of effort and planning has gone into this boutique hotel. Lovely bed linen. Upkeep and maintenace poor. Doors that don't close properly so that it was impossible to close off the bedroom from the sitting room. Even the front door didn't close properly. Kitchen that was non functional. No cutting knives or simple things like salt and pepper. A loo where your knees touched the walls. Extremely large stark sitting room - almost too big if that is possible. Find somewhere else with style AND function.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiesJandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel to stay with delicious food at the terrace. Superb place to be in Phnom Penh. The service is very nice with well trained people. I can stay here forever with pleasure. Address for people who have good taste and love beautiful place with good food!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Sphinxlegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#70 of 274 in Phnom Penh
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#14 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,983 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ambre

Address: 123, street 110, Preah Ang Duong | corner Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £62 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Ambre 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MAISON D’AMBRE offers 10 elegantly-furnished, stylish and fully-equipped one-bedroom, one-bedroom plus and two-bedroom apartments, four of which have balconies. Each room, from 60m2 to 120 m2, offers a high level of service for hotel and long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Maison d'Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing