We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in every way”
Review of La Maison d'Ambre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Maison d'Ambre
Ranked #31 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely in every way”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My partner and I and our 18 year old son stayed in a 2-bedroom suite for just one night prior to departing for home. The room was luxurious and comfortable, the staff were extremely friendly, spoke good English, and were also efficient in arranging transportation and providing advice. We were provided with a generous fruit plate on arrival. We had a late departure and they generously allowed us to stay in a room until late afternoon so we could shower and repack after a day of tourism. Although we spent more on this hotel than any other during our S.E. Asia trip, we felt that it was a great value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We saw Monsoon Wedding (2 bedroom) and Casablanca (1 bedroom) and both were large, luxurious, and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    61
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
101
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed there for New Year's Eve celebrations... large rooms, great design, near the main city attractions and the river front, very convenient for our family trip. As a kicker, nice rooftop for lazy lunches or pre-dinner drinks... perfect to enjoy PP atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the New York room for one night while in Phnom Penh and wished we had more nights here. The room is so big and very tastefully decorated. I know what smell the other reviewers are complaining about - it comes from outside but I found that this was the general smell in phnom penh as another hotel we entered to use the bathroom had the same smell.

Really have nothing to complain about here but do wish that breakfast was included in the room rate.

Definitely a must stay while in Phnom Penh

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank neelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The entire staff made me feel welcomed and went out of their way to accommodate me. When I talked to the staff you could tell they enjoyed their jobs. The property is first class and made my trip perfect. The only problem was it was too short. Definitely will stay there on next trip to Cambodia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rima E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
367 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in the Midnight in Paris suite. The suite is HUGE: two very large rooms, with small kitchenette and huge bathroom.

This is a very stylish boutique hotel. The owners definitely have a sense of style (the wife owns a dress boutique in town) and the hotel has a swank, modern feel to it.

The good: each of the rooms is different and is very well done. Our suite was so huge it could be called an apartment, especially since it had a full size fridge and a small range--plus everything you need in terms of pots/pans, plates, etc.

The rooftop restaurant / bar is very pleasant. Nice view of the city and a very hip ambiance.

The not-so-good: the hotel is a little on the expensive side. Breakfast is not included and is $10 for a small/modest portioned breakfast. Everyone is as nice as can be but I probably prefer some of the other hotels in PP due to service. Specifically, the staff do not speak very good English so if you have a problem it's hard to communicate (its almost impossible over the phone). Since it is a small hotel, you should not expect the kind of service that you would get at a larger hotel. Eg. One of our suitcases did not arrive with us and it would have been great to have the hotel solve the problem, but instead we had to. During the late evenings it's especially tough to communicate with staff.

Re the smell that some people have alluded to. We did not smell anything in the hallways...but we did smell it in our room. Ugh. A bit disappointing for a $150/night room.

Finally, the hotel is not super close to the tourist restaurants. This was a bonus for us because we found the strip near the river to be packed with tourists. This neighborhood is more authentic, although our PP friends did not like it so much. For those who care, it is walking distance to the US Embassy.

Would I stay there again? Maybe. I loved the large rooms and the hip decor. But we get discounts at other hotels in PP that offer complimentary breakfast and better services for business travelers FOR LESS, so I would probably opt for a different place next time. It's hard to justify the expense.

Room Tip: I hear you can get a better deal of if you book over the internet. The one-room units are a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was together with my family in the two room apartment in first floor (called Mogambo). Ver nice decoration and good confort if you need to spend several days or weeks in Phnom Penh. Very big and confortable beds and stylish kitchenette with also powerful wifi. Some things still to be improved, like TV into the rooms (there is a flat TV in the living room), better flow of hot water in the showers ( I run out of warm water too quickly) and breakfast service (too basic and too slow, maybe better to order in-room service at certain time the night before).
The hotel is well located downtown but maybe in a too noisy corner. They arranged for us a very efficient pickup service at the airport and a tuc-tuc to visit the city with very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Mogambo room is a two rooms apartment at the first floor, really big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ercole_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights in December 2013. Good thing about this place is there is only about 10 rooms, each room with its own unique theme. We stayed in the 'Monsoon Wedding' themed room, on level 3.

Organised a transfer from the airport to the hotel, which is about USD$12 (Toyota Camry). Checkin process was smooth as we had prebooked online and paid the 40% deposit. The elevator at this hotel is very small, four people inside is very cosy, but I have since learnt that this is quite common in this part of the world due to space limitations. The doors do close too quickly though; I was sandwiched almost every time I used the lift.

The room was huge! We had 4 adults staying here, but the beds could easily have accomodated another 2 adults. Living area was very spacious, with a seperate dining area to the TV/lounge area. There is also a small balcony for smokers, or to enjoy the view - although not much of a view from this room. A big plus for the hotel is how they have kept with the theme when designing the room - a lot of attention to detail has been put into ensuring the room matches its theme. Even small things like the shape of the windows to the bathroom, and the cutlery and table decorations are well thought out.

Bedrooms were again spacious like the living areas, with comfortable beds and plenty of storage space. Airconditioners in each room - as well as 3 in the living area - meant the December heat was not an issue.

Bathrooms were large, and well lit. A couple of issues, there is a strong sewerage smell in the bathroom, and the drainage in the toilet was a bit slow. But otherwise the bathroom facilities were quite adequate.

Kitchen had a full size fridge and other utilities you would expect in a serviced apartment. One thing to note is the hotel ran out of coffee creamers! A call to reception informed us that the hotel had run out of its supply of creamers, so we couldn't make coffee. This wasn't a major problem as we just went out for breakfast anyway (USD$5-6 at nearby cafes).

Overall, this hotel was a clean, spacious apartment which was ideal for our stay. There is also a nice rooftop restaurant/bar - we didn't eat here, but had great cocktails for USD$6. Would definitely stay again next time we're in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shats86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#66 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
the 252
the 252
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ambre

Property: La Maison d'Ambre
Address: 123, street 110, Preah Ang Duong | corner Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Ambre 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MAISON D’AMBRE offers 10 elegantly-furnished, stylish and fully-equipped one-bedroom, one-bedroom plus and two-bedroom apartments, four of which have balconies. Each room, from 60m2 to 120 m2, offers a high level of service for hotel and long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison d'Ambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing