We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your own salt and you should be fine.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Latin Quarter - CLOSED

The Latin Quarter
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Makassar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bring your own salt and you should be fine.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I once fainted after eating a pickled onion, and I sweat heavily with just a little HP sauce, such is my delicate tongue. But I could only taste the slightest hint of metal when eating the risotto ($8) from the Latin Quater, and I blame that on the folk. I tried to get some salt and pepper, but all the staff were busy touting for punters outside to notice us. Wouldn't have minded if it was busy, but it was a quiet Wednesday in low season. If you want Latin fare, try the Friends restaurant down the road. Better value, service and cause.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterHowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    15
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

When the person at the table next to you leaves annoyed without paying, it is usually not a good sign. And indeed it wasn't. The Patatas Bravas were flavourless and disappointing. The service was messy and the burrito (that did not resemble a burrito at all) was served completely cold on the inside. I would suggest to enjoy dinner elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolfwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“tapas and sangria delight in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great little place about 100mts from where we stayed; can't miss it, right on the street corner. Fantastic and tasty tapas plates; eat before 7.00pm and you get 3 good sized tapas plates and a sangria or beer for $US 10. Went twice during our 4 day stay in PP and would recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank beabay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

What made me decide to eating here was seeing roast potatoes on the menu. It is a little more expensive than some of the restaurants, but it's well worth it for taste and quality. I had the salmon the first time which was delicious and the second time I had the risotto again yummy. They serve wine by the glass if you ask for it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxtel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good tapas place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This restaurant is in my neighborhood and therfore one of my regulars. Good food and service. Between 11am and 7pm you can get 3 tapas from the board + a drink for USD10. A nice deal, especially if you go with more persons so you can share the tapas and have a taste of almost everything.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThijstR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Latin Quarter also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing