We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room but Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Suites
Ranked #54 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room but Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at Riverside Suites for 1 night. We're a group of 4 friends. I got the deluxe suite with balcony for $75. There's an awesome view of the Mekong River and Sisowath Quay in my room. The bed faces the balcony which I believe is the best feature of my room.

The room has 2 ceiling fans and 2 A/C to completely ventilate the huge room. It also has a sofa, TV, office desk, robes, slippers, clean towels, and a fridge with food & drinks that you can avail.

However, there's a language barrier. The staff have this strong accent that we cannot understand. We stayed in a guest house in Siem Reap and the people there are easy to understand unlike the staff here.

After check-in, we realized that the rooms were not yet ready but they already let us enter the room. I immediately noticed that the pillows didn't have covers/cases yet. I asked why and they told that they were still in the laundry. My 3 friends wanted to have a room the same as mine (with the bed facing the river) but when we checked it out, the floors were all wet. Perhaps a strong rain came and it entered the room. To compensate the request, they just gave my friends an upgrade to a two-bedroom suite (but the view of the river is on the side only).

The main and balcony doors were hard to open and close. Since there was a language barrier, it was hard to ask and understand how to do it. Soon I just figured out myself that I have to rotate the key twice to open and close the door.

As for the breakfast, it was at La Croisette (across the hotel). It tastes good and filling. I had American breakfast.

There's no elevator in this hotel. I didn't mind however, I really found it bad service that the staff didn't bother to carry my 8kg luggage as we were about to climb the stairs! My 3 guy friends had to repeat to the staff to please carry my bag since I am a woman. It took us like 2 minutes for him to understand what we were trying to say.

We bought bus tickets to Siem Reap from them. It costs $15 (it's originally $13. They added $2).

It could have been a very relaxing experience in this hotel but the bad service killed them. I hope they train their staff on how to relate well with the guests.

Room Tip: - Room 203 has a good view of the Mekong River. The bed faces the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViajeraShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    50
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
34
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Really enjoyed my experience with Riverside suites. After an obvious injury a couple of days earlier, the staff couldn't do enough to help me, including checking me in early morning so i could shower and feel more refreshed after spending the night traveling. Rooms clean, spacious and relaxing. Quick access to riverside and a short walk to the Palace, markets and nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matts_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is the third year in a row that I have stayed at the Riverside. There are less expensive options nearby, but I prefer to pay a bit more for a spacious, quiet room at the Riverside, just a couple of steps from Sisowath Quay. There are only 9 rooms and I always request a room overlooking the quay and the river. People who have difficulty going up and down stairs might be better elsewhere as there are lots of steps to climb.
The rooms are quiet, spacious and comfortably furnished with a nice sitting area and a large desk. There are 2 fans and two A /Cs, a large-screen TV, a DVD player and lots electrical outlets. The WiFi works well. There is a nice terrace with chairs and a fan. The bathroom is large and modern but has terrible lighting. The lighting is excellent for people who like to read on the toilet, the but if you want to see your face clearly in the mirror, that is more difficult.
Once I stayed in the room on the top floor which is a sort of penthouse. The room is small but there is a large terrace. It can get pretty hot up there under the afternoon sun and there are some 90 steps to climb.
The hotel has no restaurant or bar. The minibar in the room is well stocked for drinks. Breakfast is brought to the room from the good restaurant across the street, or it can be taken in the restaurant.
The Royal Palace, the National Museum and numerous restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

When I first arrived at the hotel, I was stunned when I first looked at the lobby. My first thought was what have I got myself into. Feel deceived by the photos posted on agoda.com. worst of all there was no lift. I took the room with the balcony and assigned on the fourth floor. When I saw the room. It was just a total contrast. It was just simply awesome. Loved the room. The breakfast menu though was not a buffet menu as I expected. It was a choice of set meals between eggs. Not really a fan of eggs. So I tried the omelette with mushroom n cheese. What a life changer. I became a big fan of eggs nowadays. It makes me realise that dun judge anything by my first impression.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toonarmy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

No elevator, Internet that didn't work for 6 days, lots of garbage and trash outside their door. Aircondition too small to cool down the room.
At $120 a night you would expect a nice 4 star luxury hotel, this was 2 stars at best.

Room Tip: Do not choose the riverside rooms, they are not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorbenRudgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

A real gem of a boutique style hotel in the heart of PP.

I stayed in a deluxe suite overlooking the Main Street and river. The room is very, very large with a nice balcony overlooking the Tonle Sap. The balcony is a great place to watch the world go by, but from 5pm to 7pm can be quiet noisy, although with the double-glazed doors and windows the sound is completely muffled inside.

Excellent complementary breakfast from the French Bistro across the road and free tuk-tuk transfers to their nearby sister hotel if you fancy using the pool.

Free wi-fi worked absolutely fine throughout my stay and a very cheap but well-stocked mini-bar. Towels were a bit threadbare, but clean and replaced regularly. Laundry service was cheap and fine.

They arranged airport transfers for $12.50 and the room cost around $60 a night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel was more like a service apartment which was the type of accommodation we wanted for our family of 5 with 3 children. We stayed 3 nights in the 2 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor with a balcony facing the street and an angle view of Tonle Sap river. The 3 floor climbing was quite an exercise daily since there was no elevator. Bedrooms were comfy. Bathroom was big and clean.

The riverfront location was brilliant, which is the main reason we chose this hotel. This section of the Sisowath Quay was quite tourists concentrated, a lot happening at night, plenty of eateries and pubs along the street, and prices were more expensive than restaurants downtown.

Breakfast was freshly prepared by an Italian restaurant called La Croisette across the road and delivered to our room at the time we specified. Food and drinks were in good quality and amount (see photos). We finally found decent coffee (cappuccino) from this restaurant.

All the staff – the guys at the front door, the reception and the house keeping ladies were all very friendly, even including the tuk tuk drivers (2 brothers) outside the hotel.

It was quite interesting to watch from our balcony the quirky aerobics sessions formed by local people of different ages and even some tourists. It started 5:30pm daily at the riverfront opposite to the blue pumpkin restaurant. We just couldn’t help joining in the fun one evening. There was not much to do with children in Phnom Penh. We went to the Diamond Island City which was quite a sight at night. There was a carnival nightly with many fun rides and games for children.

If we have to pick something negative, then it would be the too thick pillows, the stains on the couch/rug in the lounge room, and the noise from the street.

However we were so happy with our stay that we spent another night in this hotel on our return from the trip to Kep, Kampot and Sihanoukville before we departed the country.

Room Tip: Only the balcony of the deluxe suite faces the river, other suites face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownUnder168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#99 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#90 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#134 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#53 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Suites

Property: Riverside Suites
Address: Corner Sisowath Quay & Street 144, Phnom Penh 10110, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO RIVERSIDE SUITES, A BEAUTIFUL NEW LUXURY RIVERSIDE HOTEL IN PHNOM PENH, CAMBODIA. Located in heart of the riverside area in Phnom Penh with stunning views over the Mekong, Bassac and Tonle Sap rivers, Riverside Suites also offers guests a secluded and luxurious refuge from the bustling city. Riverside suites bring luxury to the riverside area of Phnom Penh. Riverside Suites is recently renovated as has all the modern conveniences expected from any 4 star hotel around the world. With only 9 rooms, Riverside suites attention to guests' needs is our top priority. We wish to make your stay in Phnom Penh truly unforgettable. With 4 different room types to suit every guest's needs, Riverside Suites is the perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing