We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in a superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diamond Palace II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Palace II
Ranked #186 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in a superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

An Enjoyable stay in Phnom Penh. Hotel is just around the corner from the palace, pagoda and restaurant street. Our room was very small yet nicely decorated and comfortable. The AC worked well but the Internet was very slow. Staff were friendly although communication between them could have been better. The tuk tuk drivers at the front of the hotel were great! Just make sure you haggle with them. There was a good selection at breakfast and it was tasty. All in all, can't complain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    70
    64
    18
    24
See reviews for
8
79
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Room not clean, there were rubbish at the corner under our bed..Laundry service is a total scam..they weight in front of us 4.5kg and told us usd2/kg before we send in and ask us to pay for blardy usd12 after laundry done! I bet hotel staff take commission from the laundry too..same thing happened when they
offer us to hail for tuk tuk service, it will much cheaper if we bargain by ourselves. .will never come back to this scam hotel anymore. .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san_wfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great location, 5 minutes from the palace, riverfront, etc.
Quieter than some of the other noisy hotels in the same area so we got a good night's sleep.
Not as clean as other places we stayed on this trip though.
Staff a bit unapproachable.
For any trips out, you're better off finding a tuk-tuk driver yourself as we found them cheaper than the hotel's prices (and we are not very good bargainers!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Diamond Palace is a reasonably nice hotel - we booked a $20 standard room on the 3rd floor though Agoda including breakfast. Room was very small but decorated nicely and was clean with a very comfy bed. There's no lift and the 3rd floor is a bit of a hike so ask for a lower floor if you can.
Breakfast was pretty poor - basically only eggs, bacon, frankfurter and toast available - no fruit options and the met was very poor quality.

The main issue we had though was that the hotel willingly offered to help process our visas for Vietnam. Thy said they'd done hundreds of times before so we thought we were in safe hands. We trustingly handed over $63 each (two of us) and our passports to get the standard 30 day tourist visa for Vietnam. To days latter we collected our passports very pleased with the efficient service. We the proceeded to book a bus for early the next morning and several days of accommodation and onward travel in Vietnam. Later than same evening I examined the visas in more detail to discover we had only been granted a 15 day visa. Trawling the Internet this seems to be a unique visa granted only in Cambodia by travel agents but not what we asked for or what is a standard visa.
We complained to the hotel who were responsible in a very drawn out conversation/negotiation with the manager over the phone. They weren't happy to take responsibility but in the end we agreed to take $40 to go towards the cost of extending our visas once in Vietnam but we will still be out of pokey nd time doing this.
The on thing that really of my back up though was tht the hotel manager said this money would come out of the staff wages as all complaints did! He made us feel guilty for their cock up.

Anyway......(!) don't trust them with your visa applications and be careful other places as well....ensure you write a note with instructions with your passport as thy don't use application forms or anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

The room was nice but cleaning staff left behind dirty coffee cups and did not replace. Quiet room, 305, except the last night from loud generator sound vibrating from bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Night reception was great. Rooms are more expensive than Vietnam for value at $20USD includes $2.00 for breakfast. Overall, good experience for the value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
544 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

As others have noted, the location could hardly be better. My room was plenty spacious for a solo traveler, but might feel cramped for two. It was spotless, reasonably attractive and featured a comfortable bed and effective air-con. The included breakfast was undistinguished, at best. My poached eggs were overcooked; the bacon was undercooked, and I regretted the one bit I took of their sausage. Ham was okay and the toast was okay, as was the oj. I think I paid about $18, booked on Agoda which I thought was pretty good value for this neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed here in Feb 2013 and it was a pleasant experience. The hotels location is very good, close to Museum and walking distance to the river. The rooms are small, but good value for the money you pay. The check in was smooth and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast served was good for a hotel of this budget. The hotel is in perfect location for a good walk in the morning. A lot of tuk tuks and taxis are available near the hotel for transfers.

The bed was good and the bathroom was big and had the basic amenities. The hotel is small and the walkways are small. But top location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander_Kuruvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Khmeroyal Hotel
Khmeroyal Hotel
#139 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#109 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#100 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#180 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diamond Palace Hotel
Diamond Palace Hotel
#129 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#113 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Palace II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Palace II

Property: Diamond Palace II
Address: #29EO, Street 178, Next to Royal Palace | National Museum, River Front, Phnom Penh 12206, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Palace II 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic sounds, smells and beauty of Cambodia come alive at the Diamond Palace II. Diamond Palace II is small boutique hotel with only 24 rooms, we are centrally located in tourist areas which is within minutes of Museums, Royal Palace, art galleries, Riverfront, bus & boat station, restaurants, night market, bar & pub, beauty salon, parks, travel agencies...etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Palace II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing