We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean hotel very close to Sisowath Quay”
Review of Diamond Palace II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Palace II
Ranked #191 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
bangkok
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, clean hotel very close to Sisowath Quay”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I spent a couple of nights in this hotel after checking out of another hotel in the area.
Overall, I would say this is a very good choice of hotel, in a great location close to Sisowath Quay.
The rooms are very clean, with A/C, cable TV and good wifi. They are a little on the small side but not uncomfortably so.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming and the breakfast better than average.
My only problem that I had was that I was on the third floor and there was no lift, but this did not detract from the enjoyment of my stay.
Overall I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    70
    64
    20
    24
See reviews for
8
80
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I booked via Agoda. Loved the central location to the Riverfront, markets, art street, Royal Palace and National Museum. Did one trip to the Killing Fields with a tuk-tuk driver out front. After that, I felt like he camped out there waiting for me every day to try and get me to do another trip. Not a bad thing I guess but I didn't like it. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Serenalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Diamond Palace II offers small but clean rooms with a nice design. All rooms have AC and private bathroom. The staff is very nice and helpfull. For the price, this hotel is great value.

The breakfast is great with a wide selection of Western and Eastern choices.

The location is absolutely perfect, 50m from the riverside, next to the national museum and the silver pagoda. Plenty of great restaurants around too.

Laundry service is very expensive at 0.5$ per piece, go to the laundry service around the corner on 13th street for 1.25$ per kilo laundry.

The windows are very thin so there is quite a lot of noise, both from other guests as from the street.
There is no elevator and the stairs are very narrow and steep.

Ask for an extra set of towels, as a double room only gets one.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms on the mezzanine floor (the staircase inside the lobby). These discount roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneleen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Best location. Right by the National Museum, royal palace and great restaurants like Friends and Daughters of Cambodia. We got upgraded to bigger room when we checked in and as spacious. Small bathroom with shower getting whole bathroom wet but that is normal for Cambodia. Amazing internet speed, best we had yet and great A/C. Breakfast included which was order of menu and was pretty good, had omelette on toast each day. Helpful staff, organising bus to HCMC and excellent English. Great value for money

Room Tip: Might get upgrade when checking in.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here twice my girlfriend at the start of June and about ten days later when a change of plan forced us to return to Phnom Phen for one night.

The main selling point for this hotel is its location - turn right out of the hotel and a two minute walk brings you to the museum; turn left and walk around the corner and you will find the King's Palace or alternatively, straight on at the crossroad and you come to the riverfront (turn left, the market and bus station is about a 10-15 minute walk). There are great restaurants and shops everywhere, so you should never need to get a Tuk-Tuk anywhere in the local area. The hotel itself was very good value for the price. The rooms are small, clean and functional, but with many of these style hotels you can hear people in other rooms and some road noise. You don't come to Phnom Phen to spend time in your hotel anyway, so this wasn't a problem. I have no real complaints about this hotel, it's a hotel for people who want to be in the centre and don't want to pay too much money. I would stay here again, if I return to Phnom Phen.

Things to take note of when considering this hotel: If you have a problem with stairs, there is no lift; the breakfast could do with some serious improvement.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the three rooms above the lobby as they will be very noisy. The rooms away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeammeupScotty_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What I liked most about this hotel is its close proximity to the major attractions like palace, national museum, independence monument and river front. Even The central market is just walking distance from the hotel. The rooms were very clean and the bed very comfortable. The restaurant overlooking the street was a nice place to relax and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. The only negative I could say about the hotel is its unusually high steps for going up as my room was on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: If you have much luggage choose a room on the lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of September with my daughter. Stayed in a room on the 1 st floor. We had 2 large single beds in our room. The room was advertised with a balcony but it was just a window overlooking the stairs. We just kept the curtains closed all the time and we didn't,t get disturbed by people using the staircase. There is a small bar and an outside area looking onto the street. Breakfast choice is limited, no fruit juice offered or chance of second hot beverage.
The staff were quite friendly. There is no lift available. Although sited on a busy street it was quite quiet.
Diamond Palace is situated within 5 mins of the Royal Palace, museum and there are plenty of bars and restaurants also a short walk away.
The River is also close by.
The rooms at the front of the hotel look better. This is a good hotel for those just wanting to be close to some of the many attractions. Tut tuts are always available.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LBJNrTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Khmeroyal Hotel
Khmeroyal Hotel
#144 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#113 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#101 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#183 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diamond Palace Hotel
Diamond Palace Hotel
#132 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#116 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Palace II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Palace II

Property: Diamond Palace II
Address: # 29EO Street 178, Next to Royal Palace | National Museum, River Front, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Palace II 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic sounds, smells and beauty of Cambodia come alive at the Diamond Palace II. Diamond Palace II is small boutique hotel with only 24 rooms, we are centrally located in tourist areas which is within minutes of Museums, Royal Palace, art galleries, Riverfront, bus & boat station, restaurants, night market, bar & pub, beauty salon, parks, travel agencies...etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Palace II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing