We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of Diamond Palace II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamond Palace II
Ranked #200 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 7 May 2014

During our short term of stay at Pensione, the experience has been good, the staff are friendly, the housekeepers are brilliant! They come change your sheets and towels everyday! And fold your clothes for you, can't ask for more! Only thing is that ventilation in the bathroom is not the best, and the bathroom door won't shut properly. Location is great! It's literally close to everything! Would recommend anyone for a short time stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Basically slept here because I checked in late and checked out early.

Room: adequate for the price, clean
TV, ref, hot shower, hair dryer

Food: Free breakfast meal is average

Steep Stairs are not elderly and handicap friendly.

If you are looking for a cheap hotel that is walking distance to the riverside and basically neighbors with the Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda, then book this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd level because of the maze of steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcgmd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Staff were decent, place was clean and guest friendly and breakfast included was adequate. Pretty much what I expected, was just in for the night and needed a clean bed. I'd avoid the cheapest rooms as a few dollars more will get you something much better!

Room Tip: The second cheapest room is worth the extra few dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spenser R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We arrived in Phnom Penh having taken the bus from Saigon. We were disappointed that we were unable to get any response from the hotel about a number of things about our visit before we arrived in Phnom Penh e mails that I sent were ignored.
The bus is very cheap but the journey is very long using very poor roads travelling at slow speeds. The hotel is a short tuk tuk ride from the bus station.
The hotel is very central and from the hotel you can walk to many of the city’s central tourist spots. From our window we could see an ancient temple being built across the road it will be an impressive building when it is finished.
The room was comfortable and the breakfasts were ok. The staff were trying their best on a limited budget, there was a lot of stairs to climb to the room and no lift! Television with the usual channels.
Hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_tasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The diamond palace is just around the corner from the Royal Palace, National Museum and the boulevard along the Mekong river. A lot of shops, restaurants and travel agents around. The room we had was small but had everything we needed (drinking water, airco, private bathroom).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hestermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights here. When we checked in we checked the sheets and it appeared that they had already been used previously. We called the front desk and requested they change the bed linens and the pillowcases. They did do this, but it was definitely not something you like to find. The rest of the room was fairly clean and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was OK.

The location is the best thing going for the Diamond Palace II. Good location for the river walk and lots of good restaurants nearby. Also close to the National Museum and Royal Palace as well.

The staff was great, just had the bad experience with the unchanged bed linens.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is in a spectacular location. Walk to the riverfront, National Museum, Royal Palace, etc. and there are plenty of tuk-tuks outside very eager to take you anywhere else. There is a western-style convenience store a couple doors down with cold water, drinks and snacks. I booked a deluxe room but I don't think that's what I got as there was no private balcony with seating area - my view was of a hallway and the wall of the building directly next door - no natural light coming into the room at all. The room had a mini-refrigerator, which was a super bonus and the aircon was cold and fast to cool the room. The hotel was always clean and the free breakfast was great, though I didn't try any of the western options (you're in Cambodia, why not eat Khmer food). I tried dinner in the restaurant one night and I wasn't impressed. The staff were helpful but never went out of their way - I inquired about laundry and they sent me around the corner to the laundry place instead of taking the wash over themselves. I had flowers delivered but they didn't call me or otherwise let me know that they had arrived. But everyone was always pleasant and remembered what room I was in and always greeted me when I returned at the end of the day. I paid $36 a night and I'm thinking there are probably better options at that price in the area, so I think I'll try someplace different on my next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are a hike up three narrow flights of stairs - no elevator so be prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bd9902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#111 of 276 in Phnom Penh
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#191 of 276 in Phnom Penh
175 reviews
0 mi away
Skypark Guesthouse
Skypark Guesthouse
#161 of 276 in Phnom Penh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mekong View Tower
Mekong View Tower
#225 of 276 in Phnom Penh
18 reviews
3.4 mi away
NaNa Hotel & Caffe Restaurant
NaNa Hotel & Caffe Restaurant
#141 of 276 in Phnom Penh
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#116 of 276 in Phnom Penh
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Palace II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Palace II

Address: # 29EO Street 178, Next to Royal Palace | National Museum, River Front, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £10 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Palace II 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic sounds, smells and beauty of Cambodia come alive at the Diamond Palace II. Diamond Palace II is small boutique hotel with only 24 rooms, we are centrally located in tourist areas which is within minutes of Museums, Royal Palace, art galleries, Riverfront, bus & boat station, restaurants, night market, bar & pub, beauty salon, parks, travel agencies...etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diamond Palace II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing