We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #14 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed there with family last week. The staff made our stay particularly special, and they were the highlight (as were the Cambodian people throughout our trip). Sothea at the front desk was a standout.

ALSO: After departing for Siem Reap I discoved I left my wedding ring in our room of Le Royal. I called from Siem Reap, the staff found my ring, and Sothea had it waiting for me upon our return to Phnom Penh.

The renovation of Le Royal was done tastefully and with great respect for the history of the hotel. I was here in '92, and was happy to see many of the original features of the hotel (the lobby staircase, the tile in the hallways, and the architectural design in general) preserved.

Pool area is beautiful, food excellent, and the atmosphere terrific. We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacificpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,564 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2009

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in May, I was slightly apprehensive having read some of the previous reviews but our concerns turned out to be completely unfounded. From the moment you turn in the hotel entrance its very clear that the hotel is colonial haven amongst the bustle of Phnom Pehn.
The pool is the best in the city and often deserted. The buffet breakfast is of a high standard. The Elephant bar is a great place to relax after a days sightseeing . Make sure to be there between 4-8 and take advantage of happy hour(s).
The rooms are colonial in style and are clean and well appointed and staff friendly and efficient.
The hotel is located a five minute cyclo ride from the centre of town on a pleasant tree lined square. Cyclos can be hired directly outside the gates for approximately twenty dollars for half a day. I would suggest a trip to the usual sights such as the killing fields at Choeung Ek, S21 Tuol Sleng Genocide museum, both of which can be comfortably managed in half a day. The Royal palace is worth a visit but we found the Russian market a liitle underwhelming.
For the more adventurous, a trip to the firing range which is out near the airport is worth a go. Virtually every weapon is available from AK47's and M16's to hand grenades and RPG's!. Take plenty of dollars, it's addictive!.
Due to being tired on our arrival we dined in the hotel at the upmarket Restaurant Le Royal on the first night. The food was excellent coupled with attentive service. A little expensive by Phnom Pehn standards but well worth it!. Other dining options are in town and include Friends which offers good Cambodian cuisine, prepared by rehabilitated street children under a UN development programme and Romdeng, which again offers very good Cambodian fare at reasonable prices.
After dinner, head down to Sisowath Quay for post dinner drinks. The historic FCC is a little touristy but worth a visit, head to Metro for a contemporary feel and finish the night dancing at the River house.
Raffles Le Royal offers understated, old world charm and hospitality which we would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Spacious rooms, excellent location, amazing staff, marvellous food . Had a wonderful time with wife and daughter who both loved it. Will like to return again soon

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anantGoa_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

This is a very special hotel that knows its important place in the history of Phnom Penh and delivers. Raffles Le Royal is a subtle, understated, and solid hotel. The old hotel has been beautifully restored and the more recent, sympathetic additions are indistinguishable from the original building. From the moment our taxi arrived at the entry to the hotel, we received consistent, extremely attentive, warm and professional service from everyone we met. Everyone, at all levels, was engaging, charming, friendly and proficient at anticipating our needs. This level of individual attention was maintained, despite the hotel filling to capacity during our stay with VIP delegates attending the ASEAN EU meeting. Even as tourists, we were made to feel like VIPs too.
All the management team were highly visible throughout the hotel from early morning to late at night and made a clear effort to interact with guests. A special mention should be made of Deddy Suryana, Director of Rooms, who went out of his way to make us feel welcome and offered us outstandingly professional and friendly assistance on many occasions during our stay.
The State Room we had, which overlooked the pool, had everything you'd expect in a 5 star property. We particularly enjoyed the beautiful pool and pool-side service, the lively and atmospheric Elephant Bar and the fabulous breakfasts and buffets in the Monivong Restaurant - especially the seafood buffet on Friday night.
The location of the hotel is slightly peripheral, but it is still an easy walk from all the action of the riverside, the National Museum and the Royal Palace, if you want to brave the heat, traffic and general lack of footpaths. We were worn out by the very pushy nature of many of the tuk-tuk drivers and soon opted to use one of the hotel cars and drivers instead. Although this cost 2-3 times the price of hiring a tuk-tuk, it made our time in Phnom Penh much more enjoyable. Our driver was worth his weight in gold, managing the horrific PP traffic, taking us wherever we wanted to go and waiting patiently, providing us with umbrellas and offering to escort us around the market in case we got lost etc. Thank you Vannak!
We spent seven memorable days at Raffles Le Royal and found it hard to leave.
We recommend it without hesitation to anyone looking for a special sanctuary in a very interesting city.

John, Tasmania, Australia

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zendoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

It is an excellent hotel, with excellent service, very friendly staff,

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I spent six nights at Le Royal.

When booking the room, some weeks in advance the rates I was shown were significantly higher than on web based consolidation sites. On those sites Le Royal was significantly discounting the rooms (offering free nights); some additional correspondence resulted in the hotel agreeing to match the rates shown. Given the property I consider the eventual rates a bargain.

The property itself is exactly as you might wish. It oozes colonial charm and is spacious and well appointed. The rooms are traditional rather than modern, but all in all the building and rooms match expectations. The hotel seemed rather empty (this being the start of the rainy season) but it was a pleasant respite from the city itself.

The pool, public rooms, dining rooms and (of course) the Elephant Bar are picture perfect. There's little if anything to complain about the building or the amenities.

The staff in the hotel are polite, although inconsistent. The Concierge desk was either able to give good advice and spend time or alternately provide the most unlikely and incorrect information. A request for 'modern' or 'fusion' Asian cuisine brought the answer of 'please try the hotel buffet'; this was not the right answer, the Quay hotel would actually be a reasonable response. Rooms were always made up well, laundry completed nicely and the business center helpful. However on other occassions the reception desk would be unmanned as one returned for the key, or staff would be chatting seemingly oblivious to one's prescence.

In the area of transportation the hotel has a few issues. The hotel isn't central to the area that most tourists frequent (the Riverside) but it's not that ar away. For safety, in particular at night, transportation is a must.

The car service used by the hotel is poor and the vehicles not in very wonderful condition. They are certainly worse than the airport taxis (and more expensive). However the blight upon the property are the tuk-tuk drivers who take up residence outside the hotel. There are more than a few of them and the rates they quote are at least double and in some cases up to five times what the rate should be. $5 to the riverside ~ no more than 5 minutes away) is not the going rate. Unfortunately the hotel rather leave you to them. On no occasion when leaving the hotel did the doorman ask me if I need transportation. Rather amusingly the gate security guard seemed to working with the tuk-tuk drivers, offering to help 'negotiate'. In reality it's probably difficult to expect the hotel to police the situation as the drivers are actually in the street but it's something that made leaving the hotel a frustrating experience. The drivers can be most impolite (the mutterings under their breath meant nothing to me, but I will presume they were not wishing me well).

Breakfast is in the Cafe Monivong and the staff there are pleasant. I also had lunch there more than once. The presentation of the food is good, albiet expensive, however I did think that the quality of the cooking was rather poor. While it may look good on the plate many dishes were bland. One dish a simple Croque Monsieur (a staple for any decent chef?) was truly dreadful. The temptation was to head to the kitchen to show them how to prepare it.


I did like the hotel and would be happy to return to it, and to be truthful it is an island of serenity in the city. The inconsistencies are there; in the detailing of them they may seem rather inconsequential but there are enough of them to constantly remind one that despite the fact that it says that it is a Raffles property, and depite the fact the the building and rooms are clearly equally 'Raffles' in total it doesn't quite meet the standards you'd expect.

But then given the price perhaps one needs to be a little forgiving and frankly from what I saw there's no other hotel with this level of potential class in town.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhileasFoggontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

After Seam Reap (Victoria) - see review - we flew to Phnom Penh and stayed two nights at Raffles Le Royal. We thought two nights was about right for a manic city like PP, but the Royal Palace, National Museum and markets are amazing.
We stayed in a Landmark room, which was lovely, albeit on the smallish side, but adequate for a short stay (you will only be in the room to sleep). The room overlooked the swimming pool and gardens. The usual robes, slippers, shampoo, conditioner, gel, etc., was supplied and fruit daily. The extensive buffet breakfast was served mainly inside with a corridor terrace on the outside of the restaurant. The evening buffet was fantastic, as we the cocktails! Very helpful, happy, staff. Lovely hotel for a short stay in PP, great food and service. Lovely swimming pool to cool off in after the heat of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cats41Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.0 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#28 of 274 in Phnom Penh
587 reviews
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £160 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing