We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #36 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I was really happy during my stay at this hotel... check-in was fast and smooth and we got upgraded! what a nice surprise! the staff is very friendly and helpfull.. they really know how to keep their guests happy. The free wi-fi in the rooms were faster than i expected and the hotel is located in a good area. We booked our tours from the hotel and we had a great tour guide! He was like a walking Encyclopedia :) Its really worth it to take a day to visit the Killing Fields..not many people know about this...just beware it is not for the faint hearted - it is truly heart breaking what this country and its people went through.
The breakfast was great and our coffee cups were never empty... I would suggest to rather go out to eat for lunch and dinner - the food is quite expensive at the hotel and I think its much better to experience the local food for much cheaper (just dont eat at a vendors outside but ask the hotel to give you recommendations of where you can go to eat). I would definitely stay here again - but I wish they had a pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    445
    164
    26
    7
See reviews for
80
285
82
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. It lacks some of the amenities that other hotels in the area might have such as a pool, but it does have a gym and free wifi. It offers a standard buffet breakfast with the room and also has a bar and restaurant for dinner. The beers are very cheap in the bar. The location of the hotel is right next to the #1 hotel in Phnom Penh : The Raffles. The rooms are large and comfortable. This hotel is great for business and travelers looking for a good rate/deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrektheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

What a nice way to to begin our 6 day tour of cambodia, of which 2 nights were spent in Phnom Penh. Arriving at the airport and driving through the city with a shuttle service that picked us up we first expected nothing, but was greeted by friendly staff, an upgrade to the presidential suite, good food and a feeling that we are cared for.
Thank you Sunway hotel for a easy entry into Phnom Penh, if I can quote from another tripadvisor review. We also missed a swimmingpool after a long day in the heat, but with a huge jacuzzi/bath in our bathroom I am not going to complain. Definitely worth staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanli750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

this was an easy entry into Phnom Penh. Airport pickup smooth. Spacious rooms, decent views, and within minutes walking to major attractions like Wat Phnom. Friendly service, nice breakfast, and some great local food. Too bad no swimming pool. Nice bar on ground floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjansen333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights as part of a week long tour of Cambodia. This was the most comfortable hotel we stayed in, but we all wished we could have cooled off in a pool at the end of a long hot day. The markets and many restaurants are within walking distance if you know which way to go. We got lost the first night. The hotel was clean and the breakfast had good selections of both Asian and American foods. A decent choice in Pnom Penh.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
473 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We were travelling with a pre-booked package and had requested a non-smoking room. There seemed to be a little confusion when we booked in but without a quibble we were upgraded to a suite complete with a small kitchen and a sitting room! There were also two huge balconies, overlooking the city, complete with patio furniture, a table, chairs and an umbrella. We did find the lighting system a bit complicated but everything else was excellent. It was a shame that we were only staying for one night! We had the buffet dinner and breakfast the next morning. Both meals were very exceptable with a good choice of dishes. Sadly we did not get to explore the local area as we had a busy schedule and the former king's fineral was being held.

Room Tip: Try and get upgraded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueBrit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice on two different business trips. It is a nice hotel with decent rooms. Nothing really special, but good for the region. The room package I had included breakfast, which was quite good with a lot of selection, including the typical breakfast fare, omelettes made to order, fresh local fruit (my favorite thing to have when I travel), and even soup made to order (Pho - local noodle soup). I managed to get decent rates for the hotel because I was doing work associated with the government, so I was able to get the local government rate. I would guess that without that, this hotel would be somewhat expensive.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right next to Wat Phnom, which sits on the hill that Phnom Penh is named for. It is only a few blocks to the river (Tonle Sap) and is walkable distance to many of the sights along the river, including the Royal Palace and lots of restaurants and bars.

Like many hotels of this category, the pricing in the bar and restaurant tries to follow US/European standards, so a beer is $4 or $5 and dinners are $15-$30 (USD). My recommendation is to not eat at the hotel, but visit the extraordinary selection of bars and eateries in the area. My friends and I found a little bar less than a block away that sold Angkor Wat beer for 50 cents each.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that looks south toward the US Embassy. Try to get a room with a balcony where it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#31 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#65 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#34 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: 1 Street 92 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#19 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the city center at one of Phnom Penh’s exclusive areas, Sunway Hotel is a 4-star international chain hotel, comprising of 138 spacious guest rooms and suites as well as 10 meeting rooms. Surrounded by lush greenery amidst colonial buildings, the hotel is a walking distance to Mekong river front, major shopping, ministries, embassies, banks and tourist attractions and it is only 20 minutes drive from Phnom Penh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing