We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #34 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked this hotel last minute as we were escaping from another hotel in Phnom Penh.
The hotel is opposite the American Embassy and we felt this hotel was suited to Americans, it did lack character but it was spotlessly clean, the staff were very good and the breakfast was exceptional, will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam (Maidenhead),
Appreciate the positive comments and hoping to welcome you back soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
There are newer reviews for Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel works: large enough room w large enough bed, good enough linens and sufficient light. There is a bathtub, a plus for me. The biggest negative is that we were unable to cool our room below 24 C...not cool enough! The bathroom was a shorty, barely covered. No lotion, but all the other amenities. TV w CNN worked easily. Safe was attached.
Our room was clean, but dated and entirely bland.
The restaurant breakfast buffet and dinner buffet offered a wide variety of choices, something for everyone.
Service was attentive, but impersonal.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lsmkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Madam (Ismkw),
Thank you for having stayed with us and for the encouraging feedback. Rest assured, we have been working on enhancing the guest service experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a nice medium-size modern hotel that is quite old, though the rooms have been noticeably renovated. Staff in all departments are friendly though over-worked due to the high occupancy. At the basement there is a large gym, sauna, steam and jacuzzi facilities. This part of the hotel really looks old. Breakfast was extensive but poor in taste. As for the location, it is in a quiet area though in the midst of the city, but you'd have to take a taxi if going out anywhere because walking would involve going through dirty down-trodden and heavy-traffic areas. It is also dark at night and there are prostitutes around the Wat Phnom roundabout beside the hotel. Quite pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the US Embassy. The other side has a poor view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Mr. Frank M,
Thank you for staying with us and in providing the constructive feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon and once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

i'd pay $50-70 a night for this hotel in the u.s. so for cambodia it's a poor value i think
it seems dated and there's just nothing special about the design. service is very friendly and bar and restaurant are pretty good. i suppose some might like the location across from the u.s. embassy but i found the neighborhood very sketchy and i did not feel comfortable walking around even during the day and is located on some very crazy busy intersections that even by asian standards are difficult to cross on foot. a/c didn't work well by u.s. standards. i think a location nearer the river and all the restaurants/shopping there would be much better but this is what my tour company booked

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippytim3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam (trippytim3z),
Thank you for your feedback and having chosen to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is very well located and good for tourists and business people. We only stayed in it one night as this was the first night of our tour of Cambodia and Vietnam. There were several tourist groups staying there. Very good breakfast buffet. Didn't sample the hotel restaurant for any other meals. We had our pre-tour get-together in the bar and the service was very good as we were 14 people all ordering individual drinks

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyrilthesquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam (Cyrilthesquirrel),
We are pleased to learn of your positive experiences, thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here three times over three weeks and it was nice that the staff recognized me on the third visit and welcomed me back. I wish they understood English a bit better and could be friendlier all the time. The rooms have everything I want - decent shower, hairdryer, comfy bed. The restaurant has an extensive buffet breakfast but the egg chefs need to smile more! I only had lunch here once and the fungi soup was delicious. Feeling somewhat homesick, I tried room service once and do not recommend the spaghetti bolognaise - although the spag bol at the FCC was equally awful. After that I ate local Cambodian food elsewhere and had delicious meals. The spa is a steam and sauna room for women as the Jacuzzi is only for men, and there are no massages before noon. No pool and if I was staying longer this would have been disappointing.

Room Tip: The view is better from the rooms facing the US Embassy but all the rooms were quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam (JanleeCanberra),
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your trips into Phnom Penh over the 3 weeks. We appreciate the constructive feedback and actions have been taken for improvement.
Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This excellent hotel is ideally situated for both business people or tourists being quite central and also close to the riverside where there are many cafes and restaurants. Despite its position its spacious comfortable rooms are very quiet. We were greeted warmly upon our arrival and a basket of fresh fruit was sent up to our room. All the staff were courteous and absolutely charming especially helpful was the assistant manager Ms Mickey who spoke excellent English. The buffet breakfast was a wonderful spread consisting of fruit, cereals, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, baked beans and many other choices including pastries and croissants. My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting Phnom Penh.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank maryBiscarrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Madam (marybiscarrosse),
We are pleased to learn of your positive experiences during your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#36 of 272 in Phnom Penh
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#66 of 272 in Phnom Penh
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#15 of 272 in Phnom Penh
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#13 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,976 reviews
1.4 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#27 of 272 in Phnom Penh
623 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: 1 Street 92 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#18 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £58 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the city center at one of Phnom Penh’s exclusive areas, Sunway Hotel is a 4-star international chain hotel, comprising of 138 spacious guest rooms and suites as well as 10 meeting rooms. Surrounded by lush greenery amidst colonial buildings, the hotel is a walking distance to Mekong river front, major shopping, ministries, embassies, banks and tourist attractions and it is only 20 minutes drive from Phnom Penh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing