We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #34 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
kyabram
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

we were there in march and cannot fault it in any way ,the staff were great ,the meals the rooms and service were excellent ,couldnt of stayed in a better hotel, it was close to most things just a 5 to 10 minute ride to markets ,great sauna and steam rooms gym spa,manytypes of massages all was a great stay for us ,although my wife got sick on the last day had to go to hospital 3 days .the hospital was also great as were the staff

Room Tip: all rooms are good im sure most face the pool area great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natureguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sir (Natureguy2),
Thank you for the positive and encouraging comments, and we hope that your Mrs. have had a speedy and full recovery.
Meanwhile, we hope to welcome you and the family back soon, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    432
    161
    25
    7
See reviews for
78
274
80
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I arrived at 11:30pm, was checked in by the efficient staff in a few minutes, given the breakfast location and had my bags brought to my room immediately. I crashed at midnight, ate like a queen at the buffet the next morning and was gone by noon. It was clean and quiet and the food was great. I wish I could have stayed longer, but I was on my way to Kep the next day. I was able to find my way around quickly to pick up supplies and had plenty of offers from Tuk Tuk drivers if I wanted to go further than a quick walk. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful.
Deb N

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Ms. Deb,
It was a pleasure receiving and learning of your wonderful experiences while staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Ideally located for sightseeing. Only a short walk to both the night and day markets and the river. Plenty of restaurants to chose from by the river. The rooms are what you would expect for a city hotel. Reasonably sized with standard furnishings. We had breakfast each day of our stay, there was a reasonable choice of western food. We had lunch one day and that was good. There was a very long 'happy hour' in the bar, all drinks were half, price which made them a good buy.
The staff were friendly and the service was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam (Pat D),
Appreciate the favourable feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbum0204
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 nights
Nice location, nice hotel
We booked a room with balcony and that was lovely,also clean,would recommend asking for a balcony.over looks USA embassy.
Breakfast was ok ...staff rather slow both in restaurant and bar, overall a lovely hotel ..nice staff ,clean and just right for what we wanted ,we would use again if in the area .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigbum0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us and for the positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed 2 night in February as was recommended by our tour company. The hotel is a little tired and could do with updating. We noticed a sign in the lift saying the hotel has a non smoking policy with effect from 14 January. I myself smoke but my husband does not and he said it felt smokey in the lounge/bar and lobby area.

The room was clean and tidy but the bedrooms do need updating especially the bathroom. We noticed one bedroom opposite ours had white furniture compared to our dark furniture so perhaps they are updating the rooms.

Our evening meal was ok. Came some half hour late even through everyone else in the restaurant had been served. Breakfast was ok but no eggs on offer. I had to ask the chef to get the toaster to work but that was not heating properly so no toast.

The hotel has a good location not far from the river front where there are many restaurants, bars and food stores. You can walk but take you life in your hands as the roads are busy with every form of transport. If you want to take a tuk tuk they are just outside the hotel. The hotel is opposite the American embassy and yet on the park area in front of the hotel there are prostitutes there all day and night.

No pool and only balconies to deluxe rooms.

If this hotel was updated then we would probably give it another go if we returned to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAFCWombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you on the feedback and kindly allow me to clarify on some of the comments posted;
a) Non Smoking- all our guest rooms and public areas are designated Non Smoking, however smoking is permissible at the enclosed Smoking Room in the lounge and external porch area
b) Breakfast egg- available and served fresh, any style, from the buffet egg station
c) Guest room - work in progress, to upgrade the overall fixtures and furnishing
d) Dust park area- the authorities are diligently working to eradicate the ill social activities
Meanwhile necessary improvements have been taken on and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We overnight at this hotel and upgraded from a double deluxe room to one with a balcony as we like to sit outside and enjoy a drink and coffee in the morning- very minimal cost. Check in was smooth and efficient with english speaking staff that could not do enough for us.
Our room was large with a huge bed and very efficient airconditioning. It is equipped with TV, room safe, free wifi,frig, and a welcoming basket of fruit.
It is centally located with lovely parks nearby and not far to a mini mart and restaurants.
The furnishings were modern and spotlessly clean- even have a maid to come and turn down your bed for you (if you find that task too difficult!!!!!)
I would stay here again and recommend it -- I did not counter any of the negative issues raised by other reviewers

Room Tip: Depending on whether you like a verandah or not you need to pay a little extra ($20)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,
G'day and thank you for staying with us and for the pleasant and encouraging feedback.
Meanwhile we do hope to be able in welcoming both of you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We only over-nighted here in transit to Siem reap and as soon as we arrived, began to wish we had a little more time here.

We disembarked at a Boat terminal from a fast boat that we had taken from Cau Doc in Vietnam.

Transfer to the Hotel was smooth and we had an excellent guide, a vivacious Cambodian woman named Len. She was uber-professional and right on the ball the whole time and very personable to boot.

We checked in and headed straight to the Royal palace which is an excellent attraction. Unfortunately our schedule did not even allow us much of a look around Pnomh Penh,.

Cambodia has always been a bit of an enigma to me and although a few days in Siem Reap filled in a lot of gaps i want to find out more about why this is such a tortured country and still has not realised proper self-determination, instead being run as a proxy of Vietnam when clearly the will of the people in two elections has not been respected.

The hotel was well up to expectations, well appointed comfortable clean and airy.

We had breakfast only in the Hotel but it was well presented and of a good standard catering to both Western and Asian tastes.

We had an early transfer for our flight to Siem Reap and we bade farewell to the irrepressible Len at the airport.

I would come back to revisit Phnom Penh and would be more than happy to stay at th Sunway again.

Room Tip: None particularly - we had no complaints and slept like tops. Stayed here overnight Sat 5 / Sun 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mr. Steve,
Glad to receive your positive and encouraging comments and we hope to welcome you back soon for a longer stay, in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#29 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#65 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.4 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#38 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: 1 Street 92 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the city center at one of Phnom Penh’s exclusive areas, Sunway Hotel is a 4-star international chain hotel, comprising of 138 spacious guest rooms and suites as well as 10 meeting rooms. Surrounded by lush greenery amidst colonial buildings, the hotel is a walking distance to Mekong river front, major shopping, ministries, embassies, banks and tourist attractions and it is only 20 minutes drive from Phnom Penh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Expedia so you can book your Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing