We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palace

Royal Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.00*
and up
Phnom Penh Full-Day City and Architecture Tour
Ranked #4 of 116 things to do in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Still the dwelling place of the king, this palace contains the Silver Pagoda, whose floor is made up of 5329 silver tiles, each weighing 1.125 kilograms.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was nice place but nothing special you are not allowed to take photo from some palaces and some where else under reconstruction!
so its better don't waste your USD6.5 !!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,837
    2,192
    1,145
    231
    91
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice craftsmanship”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Firstly, please be sure to wear shirts with sleeves and pants that covers your knees. They have a very strict rule that even if you have a shawl on, they will not allow you to go in. Perhaps they are afraid the shawl might droop off your shoulders hence exposing too much skin. But not to worry, if you happen to mix up your itinerary and wore sleeveless, they sell white t shirts at 3USD if I'm not mistaken. If you have a jacket or coat however, its ok to wear that over. Just drink more water and watch out for heat stroke ><

You'll be amazed by the craftsmanship on the buildings. Their roofs. I wonder how long it took them. Don't miss out the main hall. I guess that's where the king has his meetings or where any special occasions were held. You can't go inside but you can stand around and look through the windows. It is really beautiful.

Remember to walk over to the silver pagoda at the other side. One entrance fee for 2 attractions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JessHuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wow! I really enjoyed the palace. The grounds are beautiful and the culture is interesting.

It is worth getting a guide, they add so much value to the visit. Our guide explain a lot of the finer details and was very eager to answer all our questions.

Be warned that you need to dress modestly. We couldn't go in one day because I was wearing shorts. We had to return on another day when us girls had our shoulders and legs covered.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gisela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Royal Wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Feel the grandeur of the Royal Palace and the rich cultural environment as you stroll around the grounds of the palace..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

beautiful palace in heart of Phnom Penh! probably first reason to visit PP, because I did not see anything else such beauty in the capitol of Cambodia. in front of palace is a lot of doves, and children play with them, feed them, its so nice. highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Юля Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Palace also viewed

 

Been to Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing