We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #97 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We also liked this hotel. Yes its a bit dated but it's in a wonderful location, our room was clean and comfy, and the service was very good. The guest services manager, whose name I unfortunately forget, was extremely helpful and informative. We were upgraded to a Club Room on the top floor which was nice. Had a city view rather than a river view, but this was fine by us (we'd spend some time on the river previous to our stay). Brekky was ok. Only real nitpick was the hot beer during happy hour. Pool area was slightly dated but had no impact on our enjoyment. My friend went in the sauna and gave a glowing report. Nightclub was heaps of fun - great place to meet the locals.

Room Tip: You pay extra for a riverview but the cityview rooms are perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyTaylor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    128
    120
    62
    27
See reviews for
44
109
36
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
173 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A Hotel of extremes,positively, it is well located, right on Mekong and handy for Palace and most attractions, a short 3 dollar Tuk Tuk ride from the wonderful FCC restaurant. It also has a lovely dark atmospheric cocktail bar.
It is also close to Pencil Express supermarket.
BUT although exterior is lovely, inside it is dark, tired and dated. Breakfast is poor, the rooms are grubby and on arrival we were greeted with an overflowing toilet which really affected the rest of our short stay. Surely there are better than this in city , there is a Sofitel nearby which must be an improvement. Beware if your tour takes you here.

Room Tip: River view if you have choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Dirty rooms. mine had an unexplained 2'x2' stain that they covered with towels AFTER 24 hours. Mattresses have pretty much collapsed. a request for a hard mattress immediately results in a plywood plank being moved to the room to place between the matresses! looks like this a frequently requested service.
Room service is awful. the server had a sever attitude problem and was downright rude.
Main dining room is large with a view of the river. cold cuts and fruits are stored in open containers and frequently flies settle on them.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quietkuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We liked this hotel. It's huge, and dated, but it has a wonderful location on the Mekong. For the price, it would be difficult to beat. The Royal Palace is a pleasant ten minute walk away.
I had dinner in the restaurant, which was unremarkable but fine. Breakfast was plentiful with dim sum, Asian and European choices. There's a good patisserie in the lobby. The pool veranda is nice to chill out at after the heat of the city. The tennis courts seemed popular, and I noticed gardeners working at the riverside, so maybe a revamp is underway.
The room was fine, with a decent sized bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Have stayed a couple of times. Rooms do have a bit of a musty smell and non smoking rooms are not really non smoking rooms. Comfortable for a Cambodian Hotel. The buffet at the restaurant is fine for variety of offerings.

Room Tip: Get the executive floor if you can. Better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buildguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is the second time I am staying at the Cambodiana and i must say that things have improved for the better. The hotel is located right on the great Mekong River which can be quite relaxing to look at if you have the time. It is conveniently located at the beginning of the lovely river promenade where most of the action is and about 30 minutes from the airport and the main city centre.

The hotel itself is a low grade 5 star, seems to be maintained in an average manner. It has two restaurants that i counted and a bar. The price is a corporate rate and was not too bad for what was delivered.

I didn't use the room much but it is standard with all basic amenities, and so is the bathroom - nothing special. It is relatively large, clean and everything was working.

The food is average in the main restaurant which has a buffet at night and for breakfast. They also have a French restaurant cordoned off inside the main restaurant. The bar was dark and very noisy with a live band giving it all they had.

The service was pretty good overall as they delivered everything i asked for on time and without fuss.

Generally the hotel is large and seems to have a deserted look everywhere you go. If you've OK with that, it's worth a stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as they are less noisy to the weddings and functions held in the gardens an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinayfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in Jan, very basic hotel for the price we paid. From the moment we arrived we found problem after problem. Entering our superior room with river view, we were welcomed with a horrific stench, like a mouse or rodent had died, we were advised we would have to pay for wifi, even though on the website it said it was included in the superior room. We checked out the pool which is looking really dated and could do with some tlc, the white sunloungers were all stained with dirt & looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while!
In our room both the kettle & shower did not work! After calling reception our shower was fixed within the hour but this should really have been checked to before we arrived! Tried to advise the housekeepers what was wrong with our room, but they did not understand english or wasn't interested i'm not sure which! The safe in the room was also very small.
Dining was terrible, we went for breakfast the first morning, only to be served tea in a dirty cup covered in lipstick, the waiter smelt of BO & there was a dead fly in the butter. We had lunch in the lobby bar which was a little better, however we had to wait half an hour for food & when it arrived it was cold!
The hotel has painfully slow lifts, sticky carpets & geckos keeping you awake at night! The staff really haven't got a clue about customer service or cleanliness. I went into the ladies toilets at 8pm to find three staff members cleaning the floor, I asked if it was ok to come in & was told yes, two seconds later the staff member was yelling at me to be careful!!
Terrible experience at this hotel & would definitely not return! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fionamc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#32 of 267 in Phnom Penh
595 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#85 of 267 in Phnom Penh
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
#36 of 267 in Phnom Penh
884 reviews
0.3 mi away
NagaWorld Hotel & Entertainment Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Property: Hotel Cambodiana
Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing