We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jan17-19”
Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #92 of 275 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Very good location. Very good river view. But they need to improve their breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank JarodWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

All and all I think the Hotel was rather good, nice clean rooms. It is a bit worn down.
The staff is very helpfull and the fitness center and the sauna was very good.

The Bar at the pool area is a bit boring looking and it would make alot to the whole impression if they just upgraded the Bar a bit.

Breakfast was OK, hade the usual stuff for a hotel with Cambodianas rating.

In regards to location it is located very well close to many of the sights and restaurant area.
They have Tuk-Tuks waiting that will pick ju up at the front so no need to run out and catch on your self, and the door man will help you with setting the price with the driver.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

There a varying reviews posted for this hotel and one must say the variations are justified. It all depends on what you want in a hotel. This is a hotel with 4 star facilities and 2 and ½ to 3 star accommodation with fabulous staff willing to help at every corner. The hotel lobby is impressive and spacious, as is the outdoor are, including the pool and environment. There is also an impressive well equipped gym below the pool level. The dining facilities and conference area are also very well appointed, so if this is what is most important to you, then the Cambodiana is the one. However, the rooms are dismal compared to the rest. They are spacious and ours had a great view over the pool and river but the décor is shabby and dated. We asked for a non-smoking room but didn’t get one. The room stunk of cigarette smoke. I suspect there are no non-smoking rooms as ashtrays litter the complex. The carpets are worn and lifting in places. The bathrooms are quite dingy and in need of a serious upgrade. There is so much wasted space in this huge hotel, you could drive a car down the hallways. The cost of drinks and food is ridiculous here. Just go down the street and pay 1/4 the price. However, the hotel is handy to shops and restaurants, just 10 minutes walk away and we found it quiet. You can probably do better but will need to weigh up what you want in your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. You will be impressed with that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oamaruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

After approx 14 days at Hotel Cambodiana I have not found any weak sides or fallacies, the only things are the temp on the floor in the bath room and a fix mounted shower. It is a very good hotel and acceptable in all ways.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Cambodiana hotel for 8 nights in Dec. We've stayed here before, and choose it because it has a good sized pool, with seating in sunlight all day, a well equipped (if not particularly modern) gym, very good staff and it is centrally located. We've tried other international brand hotels in Phnom Penh (we normally stay with Starwood and Mandarin Oriental in SE Asia) but none in PP tick all these boxes, and at less than £30 per night inc breakfast, the Cambodiana is very good value.

It has its faults - the rooms are quite shabby, and nearly all are smoking rooms so cigarette burns abound over everything. Also, very few have King size beds, so you have to be very clear about this when booking, and follow up before you arrive if this is what you want - we've never failed to get one. But they are very spacious, have good quality TVs, safes, refrigerators, and are very clean.

The shabby theme follows through into the gym and pool area - but having once paid £200 a night to stay in a 5 star hotel in PP that had one working treadmill and no aircon in the gym, and so much foliage around the pool that the sunshine couldn't get through, I'll take a bit of shabby over glitz! They are improving the pool area, and it does have great views over the Mekong.

We had the buffet breakfast everyday - not the widest choice, but fresh cooked eggs, salad, fruit and nice bread - and an endless supply of very good coffee was great for us.

Service throughout is friendly, efficient and quick. No problems getting taxi to airport - none of the usual 'hotel limousine only' lines that you get elsewhere.

This is not a luxury hotel - it can be quite basic in some areas and whether it's for you depends on what you want out of your hotel. Gym, pool, location and service at a great price are what the Cambodiana offers - it's functional, not luxurious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beansbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have had the opportunity to test several hotels in Cambodia. One should not expect to find the same level of service as in Vietnam. This hotel could be good if some rooms did looked out onto an noisy industrial area and an amusement park. Mine was a superior room and was exactly located between both.I had to move to a business room with an extra charge. The food is ok, and the staff kind. Worth to mention that my credit cards were not accepted upon checking out due to connexion issues. I had to pay cash my extras. This hotel would need refurbishing to reach international standards. Nicely located.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We recently stayed at the Cambodiana Hotel and found it to be a very efficiently run hotel with friendly and helpful staff!! The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We were part of a group tour and we booked an extra night before the trip started and really enjoyed our stay. The morning breakfasts were excellent with a cook taking egg orders and making pancakes on a griddle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbirdfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#27 of 275 in Phnom Penh
633 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#85 of 275 in Phnom Penh
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
#56 of 275 in Phnom Penh
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#69 of 275 in Phnom Penh
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.7 mi away
Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
#63 of 275 in Phnom Penh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £70 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing