We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Ranked #28 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent 3 nights here. Initially we were given the most pokiest of rooms but they changed it for us straight away. Classed as 4 star, I would give it a 3. The hotel is definitely dated and needs some tlc but overall we were very happy. The staff couldn't do enough to help, they were always happy and smiling. The breakfast was yummy. Best tea and coffee compared to other hotels we stayed at over there. Great location, walking distance to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caryis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your most positive comments on this forum. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and loved the hotel’s location.

Thank you ones again for your patronage, and we hope to have you back again very soon!

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    278
    121
    39
    17
See reviews for
90
257
84
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Good hotel in a great location. It has a modern feel to it without feeling out of place. The breakfast is awesome! The rooms are all a little different. Ours was large with a large bathroom (slightly awkward tub/shower- its a soaker tub very high up with a very low shower). Other rooms had, what we dubbed a "Sh***er Shower", the toilet and shower are one... The shower head is right next to the toilet and there's a drain on the floor next to the toilet. I've seen these around, it's really not that much of a problem, just don't leave anything on the floor. The rooms are air conditioned when the power is on but you can take the key off the card and leave it in the power. They managed to run out of towels while we were there but they gave us pool towels that worked just as well.
The pool is small but its nice on the roof, much cooler.
The river, royal palace and museum are all very close to walk to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your mix of positive and negative reviews on this forum. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and loved location of the hotel. Sorry about the shower issue.

Thank you ones again for your patronage, and we hope to have you back again very soon!

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Adequate buffet breakfast. Good view at rooftop swimming. The twin deluxe room is comfortable with good view facing greenery ground . Value for money but not for budget travellers.The room size is about 30sm with long bath in the toilet.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adidapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely thank you so much for staying with us and for spending the time writing us about your experiences. Most of our guests liked the location very much as it’s closed to royal palace, national museum, Mekong river, dinning outlets and many more.

We hope that we will have a pleasure opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you and with personal best regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cushendall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was very conveniently located next to the Royal Palace, bars and restaurants. Our room was not ready when we arrived and had to wait, but were given a complimentary drink. No problems after this initial hiccup. Lovely and refreshing rooftop pool area with a great view over The Royal Palace.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Neal,

We thank you so much for your recent stay at Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel and rating us positive feedback on the location and liked the rooftop pool area.

Our team looks forward to serving and welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

With best wishes,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is an interesting hotel in Phnom Penh. They have gone for the minimalist style which gives it a trendy feel. Lots of polished concrete and glass windows into the bathroom. Easy walk to the river, the Foreign Correspondent Bar, the Royal Palace and the National museum. There are lots of places close by along the river to eat at. There is a great roof top bar and a small but adequate roof top pool. It was the end of the Cambodian New Year celebrations and the staff, or lack of staff, were very conscious of this and tried very hard to do everything they could for the guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53Paul53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We really thank you for your loyal support and for taking the time to leave your good comments on TripAdisor.

If you return to stay with us in the future, we offer you a very special discount of 15% on best available rate for direct booking only. Please feel free to contact our reservation at reservations@frangipanihotel.com

With our best wishes,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good:
1) Super location, near attractions and restaurants and the cosy riverside.
2) Nice bar on the top of the hotel with an amazing view and happy hour from 17:00-19:00
3) Friendly and welcoming staff

What could be better:
1) The hotel was built for only about two years ago but not of the best raw materials, several places appears already worn, paint is flaking off, tiles are missing, cheap curtain rod in the bathroom which fall off, worn carpets in the corridors and so on. Not what one expect in a 4 star hotel.
2) Cleanliness can be improved several places, for example, dirty chairs and baseboards in the dining room, the ladder in the bathroom could also need a wash, the lift and so on. Many items are painted white and dirt is easy to see.
3) The design of the hotel doesn't gives you a feeling of being in Cambodia. It's have modern decor which you can found anywhere in the World.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your reviews which mixed of positive and negative experiences while you were staying at Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel.

We're so sorry for those defective problems were causing mediocre satisfaction and not exceeded your expectations. We’ve already refurbished the interior. It’s really nice now.

Once again, please accept our apologies and we sincerely hope that in spite of this inconvenience, we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Was happy to check in and loved the location. Very satisfied with the non too subtle "you are checking into the hotel by yourself, no extra guest accepted later". This hotel does not condone sex tourism and for that it should be lauded.

The rooms are utilitarian, clean and serviceable and loved the smell of the room with an oil burner giving the room a verbena smell. Location is brilliant, over the road from the royal palace. Staff friendly (taught one how to tie a tie or ribbon as they called it). Bars on the roof and 5th floor are good and cater to guests without being hassled. Looks very modern withy he polished concrete floors but can be a little noisy. Bathroom needs a little work with rust on the window frames and hone held to wall with Velcro which was falling off,

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Director of Sales at The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear William,

We really appreciate and sincerely thank you for your recent stay at Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel sharing us your great reviews. We're all glad to receive your positive feedback that you had a fabulous stay experience with us. We’ve already shared your comments with our team and they’re very happy to read your message. Sorry about the bathroom and we will improve the cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in a short distant future.

With personal regards,
Hotel Management
Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.0 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queen Grand Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel

Property: The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Address: 27 Street 178 (Corner of Royal Palace & In Front of Riverside), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel is situated in the heart of Phnom Penh on the edge of the citys art district and couple of minutes walk from the bustling river front area and the historic Royal Palace.With a roof top pool and restaurant, our own spa, and spacious, comfortable rooms, the hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Cambodia’s capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing