We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Street but in the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Villa Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Quiet Street but in the middle of everything”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Villa Salt is located in a very quiet part of street 294 but within minutes you are back in the action. This is an advantage and the pool area is nice and quite with little traffic noise. The property is a $2 or night time $3 to the riverside area or if you choose to ride a scooter the Villa Salt make sure it is well secured when you are not using it.
The rooms are excellent and our shower area worked well. WIFI works well and they serve a good breakfast.
The pool can be a little cool as it is in the shade part of the day and the laying around area is a little restricted but then we did not visit Phnom Pen to lay around the pool.
Mine Hosts at the Villa salt are very informative and will recommend restaurants that are really good. In addition the rest of the staff also go the extra mile.
There is no lift so you may need to climb three flights.

Room Tip: The deluxe room will give you a handy second room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    34
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
30
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A Nice and Quiet little hotel. Rooms are comfortable, staff are friendly and speaks basic English. Rooms are clean and very cosy except when you having shower, the drainage system is very slow. Good thing the owner stays at the hotel too and you could see him mostly every morning to ensure things a going well. Pubs,massage, food stall etc are just around the corner. They welcome question with open arm. Anywhere or anything you could ask any of the staff or tuk-tuk driver. They have a very trustworthy tuk-tuk driver named Raymond. Awesome guy who work really hard and give his very best in serving and bringing you around Phnom Penh. I'm pleased with the hotel and services. It would be better if the price could be alittle Cheaper..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A small boutique hotel with no more than 8 rooms I reckon and situated at one of the posher areas of Phnom Penh. The staff and management couldn't be any more friendly and helpful !

The managers/owners seem to be living in the property itself and they are always around to make sure we got what we were looking for be it directions, taxis, tuks tuks or even restaurant recommendations ! They also have a couple of regular stand-by taxi and tuktuk drivers to make sure we get to where we wanted, with the local staff helping with all the translation. Everytime our tuk tuk leaves or return to the premise, the manager/owner would make the effort come to the front to ensure everything is okay and that we are not having problems with the drivers. As the property isn't too big, the staff and management recognizes almost every customer who stays there so it makes communication very easy for everyone. We very felt safe and well taken care of.

Rooms are spacious, clean and nicely done up with a daily cleaning service. Comes with a small fridge, complimentary daily bottled water and also a complimentary welcome fruit platter.

The reception area is well kept and always looks inviting. The small restaurant is cozy and situated just next to a nice pool which makes for a lovely view eating there. Breakfast is included, portion is modest but comes with a selection of western and local choices. We had the local savoury porridge and it was awesome !

The location is not exactly a 5 mins walk to any places of interest but a 5 mins tuk tuk journey will take you right into the buzz of Phnom Penh with each trip costing no more than US$2-3. It's a haven for those looking for tranquility.

There are plenty of posh restaurants in the area for those who are concerned with hygiene or ambient. There is even a Costa coffee cafe just round the corner which is considered a luxury in Phnom Penh. If you are looking for daily street food, this area might be a little tricky to find any but just take a 5 mins tuk tuk trip into the Russian Or Central market and you will have no lack of choices from there on.

All in all, very pleased ! :)

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room perhaps ? Although we didn't get any pool view with ours but there is app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muruku_fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for a few days recently and really enjoyed our stay. As the other reviews state, the location is good and the rooms are lovely.

There are no lifts so this could be a problem for some, and the swimming pool, although the photos are accurate, is in a very strange place right at the front of the property and in front of the breakfast area which renders it pretty much unusable. It is very small with only two sunbeds.

The place has recently been taken over by a couple of Aussie guys and they couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. They organised a private tour with a local tuk tuk driver (we didn't want anything formal), which was perfect for us and much appreciated.

I'm sure these guys will initiate a few procedural things as there were a few little things which would benefit from attention. For example, we requested more pillows but only one was available, we didn't have any hand towels in the bathroom which I requested but didn't get, there was a vase of dead flowers in the reception area for two days and one of the floor tiles was loose in front of the sink in the bathroom. The water pump system for the hotel supply is also really noisy and woke us up each day at 4.30 am which was a pain so if there was a way to improve this, the guests would benefit.

Nothing to dissuade us from staying there again, but little things which if addressed will improve the overall experience.

The wifi signal was free and worked well, and the TV was great with a good variety of channels.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if stairs are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

A small boutique hotel in the middle of everything.Rooms are comfortable,staff is friendly,amenities are sufficient and well priced.Nearby lots of choices-saw all types of restaurants-Indian,Italian,french Japanese-Samurai,Khmer,Thai,VietnameseChinese,even mexican.Fitness center,Brown and Costa coffees,Ice cream,bars and convenience stores,laundry.Almost everything you need.Tuks Tuks,taxi etc.etc.

Room Tip: Ground Floor right opposite the owners room.-dont have to climb stairs and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and me stayed in this boutique hotel during our short stay in Phnom Penh. Hotel is strategically located in the heart of the city. We love the rooms which are spotlessly clean and spacious. Lots of green around the hotel that made it serene. Staff are courteous and helpful. Real value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plkong02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Lovely little place in a quiet road in a great part of town. Staff very nice. Rooms clean and spacious, and tastefully done. Manager was very helpful with additional requests I had. Breakfast is fine but not large, which suited me fine and the coffee was good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
#91 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa De La Paix
Villa De La Paix
#98 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilary's Boutique Hotel
Hilary's Boutique Hotel
#59 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.2 mi away
TEAV Boutique Hotel
TEAV Boutique Hotel
#11 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Cambell
Villa Cambell
#27 of 226 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Villa Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Villa Independence

Property: Casa Villa Independence
Address: 04 Street 294, Sangkat Boueng Keng Kang 1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Villa Salt Independence)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Villa Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Villa Independence is located only a few steps from Phnom Penh's INDEPENDENCE MONUMENT within the area known as BKK1, close to the Riverside area and easy access to the new Aeon Mall, Naga World Casino and many International NGO's and Embassies. This very private boutique hotel exudes tranquillity; from the moment you enter you are immersed in its cool tropical gardens. A beautiful water feature with large Buddhist statue greets you on the short walk to your suite adding to the tranquil feeling at Villa Salt Independence. The private swimming pool and cocktail bar provide an ideal haven for relaxing and sipping a cocktail after an exciting day exploring the city of Phnom Penh. Because of the hotel's fabulous location our guests have easy access to many excellent restaurants, bars and tourist activities within a few minutes walk or tuk tuk ride. The concept of the villa's interior is impressive. The non-traditional approach has each of the suites superbly appointed and unique in its design. The hotel has 12 suites including several with 1 and 2 bedrooms including a kitchen. Most of the rooms have their own private terrace and are equipped with flat-screen televisions, fridges, internet connection, fans and air-conditioning. Many guests describe Casa Villa Independence the perfect peaceful and quiet retreat within the bustling city of Phnom Penh which is only enhanced by the personal service provided by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Villa Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing