We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay in Phnom Penh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #73 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best stay in Phnom Penh!”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed for only a night at the hotel but it was a fantastic and memorable stay! The room was tastefully designed with a balcony for chilling out. Our room was 'The Sean' located on the 2nd floor and it was beautiful. It was a pity that the bath tub is located in the middle of the room and there is no door to separate the toilet from the room.

Breakfast was delicious but the pool seems to be unused.

Location was not too hard to find as long as you quote "Passport Office" to the Tuk Tuk drivers.

Highly recommended to anyone who comes to Phnom Penh for a holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    69
    25
    16
    5
See reviews for
16
122
28
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We are a couple and we spent only one night in this hotel.
We had a room on the fourth floor (last floor without lift). Our room was small. Not really a problem but there was no door between the room and the toilet-bathroom... Not really nice!
Otherwise, we had a really good diner, with a good meat, a good wine! Was really tasteful!
The staff was nice but some of them didn't speak english. But the owner told us that there are managing this.
The pool is small and was not really clean, but we had a swim. Cocktails are good.

Room Tip: There is no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menteuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Quaint building. Decent wine cellar. Excellent chocolate fondant. Quiet at night. Easy access.

Service is good. Well furnished. We understand the hotel owner is a renowned European antiques collector. The Jacky suite is well furnished.

Room Tip: Jacky suite is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I recently spent 3 nights here on my first trip to Cambodia, and was extremely happy with this hotel. The hotel has a lot of character, the rooms were lovely with very comfortable beds, the staff made every effort to be helpful, and the resturant food was excellent. The hotel is near the centre of town but set in a quieter location than the river front, so a great place to rest and relax. The owner is taking on board some of the minor criticisms others have had and is working to fix them all. I would definitely try to stay here next time I visit, and am just worried that I won't be able to get in if everyone discovers it. Give it a try,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This small hotel is newly opened, it is a recently renovated old house with an original atrium and three floors of guest rooms . The furnishings are without doubt the most beautiful antique furniture mixed in with leather sofas at each level, the result is fascinating, it is asif you are staying in a friends house, free to enjoy the terraces and pool whilst being attended to by discreet staff. The decor was a mixture of old with modern accompaniments, good lighting ,comfortable bed and clean rooms.

The bathrooms were very modern again with discreet lighting everywhere but lacked a bit of practicality needed for hotel guests, no door on the bathroom wasn't to our taste but I understand doors are being fitted soon ! Somewhere to hang clothes in the bathroom after swilling them through would be a good move too.

Breakfast by the small but intimate pool was a pleasure, maybe a slightly quicker service and a wider selection of food would be better.

We arrived by boat from Chau Doc and was charged $8 for a Tuc Tuc, don't get caught on this it should only be $3 at the most.

I would sincerely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a small alternative place to stay, it is a bit in the suburbs and you need a Tuc Tuc there and back but at $2/3 a go it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: Check which rooms are available as apparently there are some small ones on the top floor, a couple h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallycolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain G, Owner at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and all your kind words!

It is very rewarding and encouraging to read you great review. We are genuinely happy we could provide you with amazing service and that you loved your stay. I will personally pass on your thanks to entire team, they will surely be delighted. We all look very much forward to welcoming you back and show you yet another wonderful time.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is a great little hotel that is beautifully decorated with wonderful ambience and charm.
I found the staff very friendly and helpful including, Alain, the owner.
I enjoyed dining by the pool with its intimate setting and very good menu.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a balcony that overlooks the pool...very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The Governor's House Colonial Hotel is very stylish with an impressive hall and bar. The service is good and the sanitaries are nice and modern.
Its location is really usefull to get a taxi or make a tour on foot.
I missed a good Internet connexion in my room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motonobu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm Boutique Hotel & Residence
0.3 mi away
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
#78 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residia at Silvertown
Residia at Silvertown
#115 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#38 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
#41 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
#79 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing