We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #74 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Had the fortune to stay at this small hotel recently on a long weekend in Phnom Penh.
Did the usual research on the internet and looked at fellow travelers reviews and decided i wanted to try something with a little style and not many guests, which The Governors House was was perfect.
Booked a landmark room which was more than adequate only surprise was the bathrub with no shower....yes in this day & age, most hotels have shower and no tub, here was the tub with only hand held shower... the tub was very large and water pressure low, so took a long time to get enough water in the tub to be able to wash yourself....but it was a pleasant change just to have a soak!.
Room had all the essentials, but no hanging space in the wardrobe, only shelves. Mini bar, tea & coffee, safe, TV, wifi, phone, Good A/C and good bathroom amenities with all you would expect in the big 5 star hotels.
The hotel is relarively new and all the staff are willing to chat, take care of you and i found them all very pleasant.
The collection of art and furnitue throughout the hotel shows someone has take great care in selecting each piece, i spent some time exploring each piece of each floor.
Breakfast was suppplied each morning which was more than adequate with various choices. Also expeirenced dinner one night and the food & wine was very good quality and great flavor.
The hotel is a little bit further away from the main palace and sites, but for a $3 tuk tuk ride and 15 mins you were in the centre of it all.
Overall would recommend and would go back...not so sure i want to go back to Phnom Penh!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor looked great (doors open when cleaners were in the room) smaller, but had all...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank experiencedir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

After spending a week in more "simple" accommodations, we treated ourselves to a night at the Governor's House prior to an early flight--and wished we had more time!

Although our tuk-tuk had trouble locating this new hotel, the trade-off was a lovely, relaxing space walled off from the street traffic. The decor is beautiful, and the service incredibly helpful. We stayed in the Hemingway room, and it felt how a pampering experience should with a comfortable bed, deep tub, etc. It is located a bit away from many of the city's main tourist attractions, but we didn't mind the extra dollar for the tuktuk ride. Definitely a nice spot for a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel_and_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed for a three week period in December. We were pleased with the accomodation and the food. It is a boutique hotel so small and personal. The staff were exceptional. Very kind and attentive. Special thanks to Mr. Song, Ms. Mony and Mr. Sam.
The antique furniture in the hotel is stunning. There are many inviting spots to sit down and relax. The owner, Alain was very helpful with local information and attractions. He also arranged a special dinner on Christmas and a riverboat cruise on New Years which was very nice.
We did leave for three days to go to Siem Reap and when we returned it felt so welcoming, just like coming home. We would certainly stay here again when in Phnom Pehn. It is about a 10 minute drive by tuk tuk to the riverside. Tuk tuks are always available and if one is not outside the staff call and one comes within 10 minutes. Our favorite driver was Mr. Bunnat. His prices were very fair and his english was quite good.

Room Tip: There are stairs to get up to the rooms so if mobility/ stairs are an issue for you check with the h...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arla55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

beautiful colonial place decorated with great taste and unique antiques. staff are very friendly but major improvement needed for the food but I am sure it will get there as the place is fairly new. the room are really wonderful and gives you a unique experience in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 7September
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We got picked up from the airport by the hotel owner who was very friendly and chatty and welcomed us to Cambodia which was a great start to our holiday.
The hotel is an old Colonial house that has been renovated and filled with beautiful teak furniture. All the staff were friendly and recomended us placed to go and organised tuk tuks for us. The location is out of the main tourist area but for 2$ you can get there so its no problem and there are plenty of them waiting to take you. We loved our stay here and would stay again when in Phnom Penh. Might ask for a different room next tim though as the room was tiny but this did not bother us that much as we only slept there.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room called the Petit journalist as it is the smallest room they have.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kezzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed here for three nights in December. From the moment you pull off the crowded street and into the courtyard you know that you're in for something special. The owner is an antiques dealer and has developed the hotel to a very high standard.

The room we had was right at the top and had a balcony. The room itself was modern and well maintained (although there were ants in the bathroom.) The building is in a Colonial style so is very open and spacious.

The hotel has its own tuk-tuk and driver who guided us around all the usual sights for two days. It's a 40 minute walk to the palace from the hotel (there's not much around the hotel itself.)

Breakfast was served outside next to the pool and was excellent (choice of several options from the menu.)

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bilbodotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Our 3 day stay started with no pick-up at the river pier where our ferry had dropped us even though a pick-up had been earlier confirmed. The tuk-tuk drivers had no idea where the hotel was either so it was a while before we reached.
Check-in was casually handled by seemingly inexperienced staff. Followed by a long climb up stairs to the 4th floor cramped room in the 'Attic'.
The room itself was decent, clean and had a nice balcony. It also had ants! The hotel is decorated beautifully and is worth a good explore.
Breakfast was good though the portions really tiny and very slow service. The staff was often too busy chatting with each other to be found.
Not a place I would recommend till they get their act together

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tri-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
#40 of 272 in Phnom Penh
122 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sangkum Hotel
The Sangkum Hotel
#44 of 272 in Phnom Penh
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#37 of 272 in Phnom Penh
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,255 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 272 in Phnom Penh
470 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £90 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing