We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #69 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Visit to this hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Nice place well decorated by the manager Alain.they should take care more of the garden some rubbish lay around in the corner. They should put more attention to the garden.the food is excellent not cheap for P P standaard.the rooms we think are over price a little but if you can afford nice place to stay.the reception and the staff should be more trained but as we understand the place is only open for the last 6 months.proberly alain will inproved the matter.we wish alain he best luck with his cambodian adventure. Peter

Room Tip: Nice place to stay good food rooms they have different types depends what you like Check it out be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    70
    25
    16
    5
See reviews for
16
122
28
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I had the opportunity to stay in the big five star hotels but chose this old colonial villa hotel which has been converted by its dedicated French owners. It has only been open for eight months.

The hotel is 50 metres back behind the usual high wall from a fairly busy road. It has a small garden area with trees in which you can relax in the evening. The foyer is stylish and intimate, open up to to third storey roof.

There is a small swimming pool, and an indoor / oudoor restaurant. It has 12 rooms over three floors, each of them setout in unique European/Asian colonial style. The food is very good and the overall ambiance is relaxing. Personally I owuld have appreciated a gym, but I understand that is really not an option in hotels of this size.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. For a short stay in Phnom Penh it is worth trying. It gives you the feel of the city, and as it is not right in the centre it is more relaxed and quiet.

It may be an idea to get the hotel to send you the address in Khymer to make sure the TukTuk driver can find it from the airport. My taxi driver did not know where it was. It is immediately next to the American Education Centre, and all taxi know of that, so you should not have much of a problem.

Try it out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel away from the main road, and high up on tghe third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This colonial boutique Hotel is a very charming and romantic place that I wish to recommend for people in love to enjoy the nice attentive staff, the stunning antique furniture and decoration many oriental art objects mixed with retro feeling with the surprising peaces of furnitures the lobby bar chairs the impressive luster. A charming swimming pool along a delicious restaurant with fusion cuisinne inspired by the charming talented owner a Belgium gourmet and talented interior decorator involved by the east west fusion inspiration! A very attractive and charming experience. For my taste the best stay in Phnom Penh. with regrets to leave and a flavor of frequents returns !

Room Tip: Try the restaurant, . Reserve early,this confidential charming hotel is always full ! The location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordJim1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Had the fortune to stay at this small hotel recently on a long weekend in Phnom Penh.
Did the usual research on the internet and looked at fellow travelers reviews and decided i wanted to try something with a little style and not many guests, which The Governors House was was perfect.
Booked a landmark room which was more than adequate only surprise was the bathrub with no shower....yes in this day & age, most hotels have shower and no tub, here was the tub with only hand held shower... the tub was very large and water pressure low, so took a long time to get enough water in the tub to be able to wash yourself....but it was a pleasant change just to have a soak!.
Room had all the essentials, but no hanging space in the wardrobe, only shelves. Mini bar, tea & coffee, safe, TV, wifi, phone, Good A/C and good bathroom amenities with all you would expect in the big 5 star hotels.
The hotel is relarively new and all the staff are willing to chat, take care of you and i found them all very pleasant.
The collection of art and furnitue throughout the hotel shows someone has take great care in selecting each piece, i spent some time exploring each piece of each floor.
Breakfast was suppplied each morning which was more than adequate with various choices. Also expeirenced dinner one night and the food & wine was very good quality and great flavor.
The hotel is a little bit further away from the main palace and sites, but for a $3 tuk tuk ride and 15 mins you were in the centre of it all.
Overall would recommend and would go back...not so sure i want to go back to Phnom Penh!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor looked great (doors open when cleaners were in the room) smaller, but had all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank experiencedir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslindale, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

After spending a week in more "simple" accommodations, we treated ourselves to a night at the Governor's House prior to an early flight--and wished we had more time!

Although our tuk-tuk had trouble locating this new hotel, the trade-off was a lovely, relaxing space walled off from the street traffic. The decor is beautiful, and the service incredibly helpful. We stayed in the Hemingway room, and it felt how a pampering experience should with a comfortable bed, deep tub, etc. It is located a bit away from many of the city's main tourist attractions, but we didn't mind the extra dollar for the tuktuk ride. Definitely a nice spot for a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_and_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed for a three week period in December. We were pleased with the accomodation and the food. It is a boutique hotel so small and personal. The staff were exceptional. Very kind and attentive. Special thanks to Mr. Song, Ms. Mony and Mr. Sam.
The antique furniture in the hotel is stunning. There are many inviting spots to sit down and relax. The owner, Alain was very helpful with local information and attractions. He also arranged a special dinner on Christmas and a riverboat cruise on New Years which was very nice.
We did leave for three days to go to Siem Reap and when we returned it felt so welcoming, just like coming home. We would certainly stay here again when in Phnom Pehn. It is about a 10 minute drive by tuk tuk to the riverside. Tuk tuks are always available and if one is not outside the staff call and one comes within 10 minutes. Our favorite driver was Mr. Bunnat. His prices were very fair and his english was quite good.

Room Tip: There are stairs to get up to the rooms so if mobility/ stairs are an issue for you check with the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arla55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

beautiful colonial place decorated with great taste and unique antiques. staff are very friendly but major improvement needed for the food but I am sure it will get there as the place is fairly new. the room are really wonderful and gives you a unique experience in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7September
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm Boutique Hotel & Residence
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#7 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#37 of 267 in Phnom Penh
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
#72 of 267 in Phnom Penh
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing