We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #69 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Real Treasure”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had asked for a smaller, cozier hotel rather than a big chain. This hotel couldn't have met our expectations any better. The food was fantastic--served in a lovely outdoor setting by attentive staff--definitely have the fish amok!! The room was small but more than adequate, and the bathroom was absolutely beautiful and completely functional--even with a fairly well lighted magnifying mirror. The bar was willing to provide ice for us to use for an evening cocktail on our balcony overlooking the city. We had a few problems with the Internet--basically it just didn't work sometimes, and other times it worked only in the reception area. And our safe didn't work. But in both cases, the service was prompt, friendly, and helpful--and I would have to say that we would return in a heartbeat. Oh, and there are other great restaurants within easy walking distance. This hotel is actually in a busy part of town, but once you are inside the gates, you feel like you are a million miles away.

Room Tip: We stayed on the very top floor. We loved it, but the staircase narrows significantly on the final...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarnier, Owner at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, let us thank you for reviewing The Governors House Boutique Hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is a great pleasure for us to see that you enjoyed every aspect of our hospitality, our amenities and facilities.

It is our goal to make our customers relax in our beautiful environment of the rooms and the hotel.

We are looking forward to accommodating you again soon.

Thank you for choosing The Governors House Boutique hotel Phnom Penh.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    70
    25
    16
    5
See reviews for
16
122
28
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was a wee diamond in the rough...Lovely breakfast!!!! Fantastic staff, especially Miiss Ellen & Mr Song..& others who i cant remember their names, also Mr Raymond our tok tok driver. We really could not recommend Governors House high enough. Will definitely be going back to stay and see our new friends. Thank you to the owner Mr Allan for always checking in on us & making sure we were happy.. God Bless to you all Kim&Mandy (New Zealand) xxxx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimMandy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarnier, Owner at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Kim, dear Mandy,

We are very happy that we made such a good impression on you. It is a great pleasure that you enjoyed your staying with us. We all were delighted with your presence at the GH. Ellen had such a great time when she was your guide on the Mekong sunset cruise. Your smile and positive vibes makes the whole team such a good impression and happy feeling. We already miss you...
We wish you all the best in New Zealand.

We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This wonderful small boutique hotel is an oasis of elegance in the midst of the noise of the busy city. The place is all decorated with antiques, the lobby as a patio on 3 levels is astonishing. On the back a small pool for relaxing after a busy day. My staying there was very pleasant and the staff helpful for everything. You really feel at home, with the place itself and the easy and natural behavior of the team. If you have a chance to have a chat with the owner, worth to take the time for it. The location on Mao Tse toung busy street is probably not the best, but once you enter the property, you forget it.

Room Tip: each room is different. I didn't have the chance to visit them all. Mine was on first floor, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarnier, Owner at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review and all the kind words towards the GH team. We are glad that you experienced this wonderful feeling of rest in this busy town, like an oasis in the city.
We always have a good feeling when our guests is feeling at home. Our goal is achieved when we succeed to create such a feeling. I thank you also for your compliments towards the staff, and as you said : even if they're not top professionals, their aim is to succeed to make the guest happy.
Thank you and I'll come to visit you once in Belgium, or hopefully we'll see you sooner back at The Governors House.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here 2 nights but we don’t want to leave this wonderful hotel. We stay one of their room ‘The Winston” from the time that we arrive they welcome us with the big smile and we saw our name written in their board and its make us very happy. Their receptionist are very helpful they are the one who organize tuktuk for us for whole day and every time that they saw us they always greet us with smile and called us in our name. We also experience a romantic sunset while we are in boat and they organized everything.
It’s very nice that when you asking something they know the answer and they don’t want you to upset.
I recommend this hotel to all my friends and specially to all couples. I wish we can stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Macky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We recently had a two week escorted holiday to Cambodia and Vietnam. We stayed at The Governors House on arrival for two nights - we loved it but at that stage had nothing to compare it to. It's a small hotel, (yes in a noisy part of town but everywhere in Phnom Penh is noisy and we definitely had no water issues). If you like to stay in hotels which have period character with modern facilities, rather than large modern hotels which are the same the world over, then this is the one for you. Our room on the top floor was lovely, the food there was abloutely the best we had on holiday, especially the breakfast - the Eggs Benedict are a must. The staff were so friendly and helpful too. It was the best hotel we stayed in and our only regret is that we couldn't stay more than two nights. If we ever go back to Phnom Penh, there is nowhere else we would consider staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarnier, Owner at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for very much for your positive review for us on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to see that all of our facilities and services made you feel so comfortable and pleased. Thank you so much for all your kind words. I appreciate you enjoyed our wonderful food, probably one of the best tables in town, but also one of the best kept secrets in town, only our guests and happy few in town knows...

Thank you for choosing The Governors House Boutique Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Governor's House is located on Mao Tse Tung Boulevard which carries about the same level of traffic as the North Circular in London. It is next door to the Phnom Penh passport office which is besieged by hundreds of noisy locals from 9 to 5. Hot water is available only on evenings when the sun shines so cold showers only in the mornings. Asking for a simple uncooked breakfast to be available the following morning at 6.30 for airport departure caused consternation and much sucking of teeth, but was nicely produced. A well intentioned amateur operation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonP674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarnier, Owner at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
I am very sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you for the comparison with the London circular road, I wish the traffic could be regulated in the same order. Nevertheless for this top location, once you arrived on the private driveway of the hotel, You have this wonderful impression of oasis (of 1000M2) in the middle of the town, like a riad in the Medina.

The hot water indeed comes from solar panels and the electrical backup was replaced the morning you arrived , after a long issue with the factory in Malaysia. (welcome to Cambodia) so there should not be any shortages. We checked again the bathroom and could not find any problem with the hot water. Pity you did not inform the reception while you were there so we could have reexplain why the hot water need some time to come all the way down from the roof to your bathtub, and this as first user (before 6 am), as the circular pomp was not yet activated. But thank you for your feedback as we activate the pomp from now on 24/24h.
I'm also very surprised about your take away breakfast? We provide wonderful take away breakfast on demand (the evening before) as breakfast "a la carte" are only served from 7.15am as clearly explained at the check-in. The guests always appreciate this attend service, so we deeply sorry if there was some mis-communication...
So I'm sure, apart this small mis-understanding your stay was more then enjoyable and we hope to welcome you in the future to enjoy the improvements as results of your feedback.
best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Check into this wonderful small boutique hotel in Nov, stylish interior filled with antiques, staff so friendly it was like being at home, nice small pool area at the rear if the hotel which was fine for taking a dip after a long trip. The breakfast was one of the best i have had recently in SE Asia, all a la carte and very tasty. We had diner the first evening in the hotel and it was very, very good. Special thanks to all staff who made our stay so special, if in Phnom Pehn and your looking for a wonderful experience look no further. We did have water issues on the first day as mentioned in some reviews but they were fixed within 1 day, wonderful service, and with 32 degrees a cold shower isn't that bad.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katanaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm Boutique Hotel & Residence
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#7 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#37 of 267 in Phnom Penh
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the 252
the 252
#13 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
#72 of 267 in Phnom Penh
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing