We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #71 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved every aspect of our stay here. The pleasant, helpful staff, the lovely design and fittings were top notch! Truly an oasis of gentle calm in this bustling city. Will certainly return and plan to make it our home every time we visit PP!!!

Room Tip: The Jackie Suite was Marvelous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jeff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for writing these kind words about our Boutique Hotel concerning your stay among us. We truly enjoyed your company and were very glad to accommodate you in Phnom Penh. My whole staff and I hope to welcome you every time you visit the city.

François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    69
    25
    16
    5
See reviews for
16
122
28
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor N. Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

stayed for 6 days and found the hotel to be perfect. The staff were extremely helpful.The breakfast was amazing as was the setting (right by the pool). There was free wifi throughout the building and by the pool. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EPCBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with "TripAdvisor" community. We are delighted to read your review and especially that you experienced a perfect stay with us. My whole team join me to wish you a nice return to your daily concerns and we all look forward to welcoming you again in Phnom Penh!

François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for three nights as part of our vacation in Cambodia and enjoyed it a great deal. For me it was'nt really my kind of hotel as I enjoy the anonimity or larger hotels but it was ideal for our needs.
We were the only guests for one night and only one of two for the remainder of our stay. The room ( Maralyn ) was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. we were upgraded from a Landmark room to this one which was kind of Francios the manager. The bed was huge and comfortable, although the linen ( from Beligium ) was a bit course and the pillows a tad firm for my liking.
The bathroom was nice but the shower was a real pain as it was an over bath shower and it could'nt be angled correctly so sprayed beyond the bath and onto the floor. THIS SHOULD BE CORRECTED AS WHEN IN SUCH A HOT STICKY CITY A GREAT SHOWER IS A MUST.
The pool is delightful but I would imagine it would be a crush with more guests ( two sun beds and some sofas) The food was nice as we ate in the resteraunt one night but it lacks atmosphere.
Stay here is you like intimacy and a colonial style but don't if you like anonimity

Room Tip: Ask for a separate rain shower room...you'll need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banffUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your kind support.

We have noted that the shower was not at your convenience. Unfortunately you did not mentioned that it is also including a Jacuzzi which provide our guests with great relaxing moments back from sight seeing in the city. We will undertake your remarks seriously to improve our services concerning this very important time of a traveler's day even if the bathtub is already featured with a shower curtain and an adjustable head shower holder.

Our pool, restaurant and Boutique Hotel are always very quiet. We are surprised that you found our restaurant lacking atmosphere as all our guests always appreciate having dinner with us in a colonial mood and private way. As you mentioned, our property is a place where we want our guests to feel treated with a personalized service unlike anonymous people.

We really enjoyed your company as much as you enjoyed your stay among us and we hope you will manage to come and visit us again very soon to discover more about our different products.

François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here under rather stressful circumstances as my son was involved in a motorbike accident in rural Cambodia. So the Governor's House was my peaceful sanctuary after long days. I stayed in two different rooms and each was different but with the same high standard of attention to detail, comfort and a heightened aesthetic.

The food in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner was well priced and delicious. The setting beside the pool was tranquil and elegant. This is a small, genuinely boutique hotel where guests speak to each other in a natural, friendly and unforced way.

This is such a beautiful building which houses a very special hotel. It is the absolute opposite of a generic chain. The owners have style and taste and I even loved the music! I hope to return one day out of choice rather than as an emergency.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nina99Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your touching review very much appreciated. We are delighted to read all your good comments on our property and quality service. We hope you will manage to come back to Cambodia under better circumstances to take advantage of this beautiful country. The whole staff of our Boutique Hotel is looking forward to welcoming you again in Phnom Penh.

François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We loved The Governors House Boutique Hotel. From the minute we drove through the front gates we knew that once again, with help from Trip Advisor we had another accommodation gem!
We spent two nights in room 1, which was on the ground level situated only a few metres from the swimming pool. It was "off season" when we were in Phnom Penh, so our room was very quiet, but think it may be a different story during a busier time if guests were taking advantage of the swimming area.
The food in the restaurant was first class - we were the only guests dining and it was a little off putting to have a staff member hovering behind us for the majority of the time but this seems to be the norm in Cambodia.
Our room was large with an outdoor shower, a wonderfully comfortable bed, large bath and an indoor shower for more modest guests. Even though the temperature was in the high 30s for our time in Phnom Penh the room was kept cool by the very efficient air conditioning unit.
The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful, Mr Vincent, our driver was entertaining and very informative and we felt very much at home.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the ground floor was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Kathy B,

Thank you so much for your good feedback on your stay among us. We really appreciate to read it and we are glad to know that you consider our Boutique Hotel as an accommodation gem. It was a pleasure to serve you at our restaurant and during your stay. Again thank you for your informative review allowing us to improve our quality service. As you mention you felt at home we want to let you know that we really enjoyed your company and hope to welcoming you back in our quiet property during your next stay in Cambodia.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I chose this place because i simply because i liked the name. it was not expensive compared to a lot other hotels. we were not disappointed. the house is really nice and beautifully decorated. there are 3 levels, each room is different, we were told. Ours was on the third level and we had a balcony with a view. The room and bathroom are clean and well equipped with modern amenities. We ate in the restaurant on the first night. The food and service were good. Breakfast was also served at the restaurant which is by the pool. The area is small but cosy. we enjoyed sitting and having a meal but certainly not being a meal to the mosquitoes -- so do remember to spray on the repellent. The frontdesk staff are generally friendlly and will talk to you. the location of this hotel is very convenient to many places - you can take the tuk tuk or walk. The tuk tuk are not expensive and the guys are more than happy to be your guide for a day - just have to negoitate the price upfront. it is very convenient to get around on them. when we left, the hotel was undergoing some redecoration work in the garden. i'm sure with that, it'll be even better.

Room Tip: The hotel has no elevator so if you can't climb up stairs, take a room on the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renee6764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

It is the first time someone mentioned that the reason of his choice is the name of our Hotel. We are very glad to read your review and would like to thank you in the name of the whole staff for supporting our property the way you do it with this great feedback. We hope you will manage to come back in Phnom Penh for your next journey out of Singapore. Pleasure will be our to accommodate you again in our Boutique Hotel and save you from the mosquitoes with a dinner in our air-conditioned dinning room.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
351 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

In a word - charming.

The service is very good...the staff are friendly and helpful ... Francois, Samlot ... and the serving staff in the dining area. They try and accommodate whatever your needs are. Even the resident tuk tuk driver (I don't think he is staff), Bunut is friendly.

The food served at breakfast is also very good, and we enjoyed it. It is freshly cooked western and asian options. The only mildly annoying thing is the sound of construction work going on next door.

Our room was on the top floor ... a bit of a trek up .. but not as bad as some other reviewers have stated. Wide wooden staircases make it a pleasant trek up... only thing is that the rooms on the top floor have to be accessed via a spiral staircase, which would be a challenge for older folks.

The only comment I would make is that there are 1-2 steps to get into hallways (e.g. corridor from pool area to main foyer) which could be better marked for safety as I almost missed a step a few times. Currently everything is wood colour.

I was in the Kipling on the top floor.. in this hot season ....rooms on the top floor ... the aircon sometimes struggles to cool the room... which can be very warm after a day out. The other annoying thing is that the wifi signal does't quite reach up here. Or at least... its acceptable on the balcony, its acceptable (but not great) near the room entrance... but the minute I curl up in bed with my iPad... it's a black hole.

I would also not suggest these top floor rooms (with balcony) for older folks due to the spiral staircase... the bannister doesn't quite go all around... so someone unsteady on their feet might find it dangerous.
--

And perhaps something I am not used to - this hotel is largely 'naturally ventilated'. That is, there is no air-conditioning except in the guest rooms . On some days where it got to 37 degC outside.. it was stifling indoors esp in the afternoons. This effect was compounded by the dark wood furnishing.

Thankfully we spent most of our time out and about so it wasn't an issue... but it did discourage us from hanging around in the hotel.

That said, several other notable locations (national museum) and restaurants (Khmer Surin) we visited were not air conditioned either, and rather warm in the hot season ... so air-conditioning is not as common in this city as it would be in others I have visited around the region (yet).

We also tried out the recommended spa La Rose (which is actually some distance down the street at another hotel, La Rose). I believe that complimentary tuk tuk transport to/from is available. I can say that the ambience at La Rose is not as good as Bodia ... but the technical skill of the masseuse are on-par or better.

Location wise... Governor's House not exactly near the waterfront where a lot of the activity is... but for about US$3 by tuk tuk , will take you on a fascinating zip across town (15min) to street 240, national museum , palace and where everything else is.

The ride itself and watching life on the streets was fascinating even for me as an Asian. Far more exciting than a taxi! And cheaper.

All said - I think too many travellers skip phnom penh and make a beeline for Saigon or Bangkok. Phnon Penh turned out to be fascinating, charming ... if you are thinking of visiting, do so before increasing urbanisation destroys its charm.

Room Tip: In the hot season, the coolest rooms are those on the lower floors. Also less of a climb. You won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your very informative review shared with "Trip Advisor" community. We are delighted to read that we provided you with fine dinning experiences and great service as well as our tuk-tuk driver partner Mr. Bunnat.

Unfortunately you also experienced the bad part of this growing city which is the noise. Most of the time it do not fall within hotel keepers competence but hopefully we are set back from most of the traffic and working sounds thanks to our garden and able to offer a quiet retreat to our guests as most as we can.

We are now planning to renovate the spiral staircase as well as the corridor from the lobby to the poolside as we enter the low season and will maybe put a lift outside in order to not spoil our beautiful atrium. This renovation plan will also be very important for our future hotel's accessibility to handicapped persons.

We really care about fitting every guests needs. As we accommodate a lot of business traveler we have installed one of our hot spot on the third floor and therefore never have experienced any bother with our WiFi on this floor. A little word to our receptionists would have saved you from this problem.

Cambodia is an amazing growing country where it is possible to experience internet or electric shut down sometimes reminding us that it is also still one of the poorest country in the world. The absence of air conditioning in common areas is a choice we assume for ecological reasons as Cambodia do not have his proper electricity production yet and this country's climate is tropical and warm. We also have chosen solar panels to produce our own energy used to get hot water and electricity during the day time.

We hope you will stay again with us in Phnom Penh in order to let you know more about our eco-friendly policy and maybe take an advantage of our refreshing poolside and garden areas.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm Boutique Hotel & Residence
0.3 mi away
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
#72 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
#77 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shaly Boutique Hotel
Shaly Boutique Hotel
#80 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
#57 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#37 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing