We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbelievable” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Ranked #162 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a room online only to arrive and find the door was made of clear glass and there was no curtain! The bathroom was really dirty as well so I asked for a refund but the manager wasn't interested as he already had my money. Terrible, and not what I needed after a 7 hour bus journey. Found a hotel called '19 happy' just round the corner which was cheaper and much nicer!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cancelthemilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasibona D, Owner at Golden River Palace Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Did not you stay in my dormitory room because of my room or Tuk Tuk driver? You cheated TUK TUK driver by not paying him any money. You stated that agoda advertising that our hotel offered free pick up. WHERE? Agoda and I myself clarify again and again that we don't provide free pick up. Dormitory bed costs you only 5$ and you asked TUK TUK from our hotel to your bus station near Chroy Chong Va bridge which is so far away from our hotel. Tuk Tuk driver charged you 5$ and it is NOT expensive. You insisted him not to pay any money as it is free. You said agoda sating free pick up. You are a native speaker and it can't be confused. I ask agoda to contact you about this issue. ARE YOU HONEST CUSTOMER? or AM I STUPID that you ask me to pay TUK TUK driver for 5$ in which that bed also costs 5$? Honestly, you would face a problem with police as the Tuk Tuk driver asked police to solve this problem on that day but you run away. Where you gonna hide your face among other foreign customers for the case of cheating TUK TUK for little money? Ask everyone around you, agoda representatives, and the reviewers here about free pick up service from AGODA. It is true or a FAKE made by U? Please come to my guesthouse and I refund your money back but don't forget to pay TUK TUK driver. Agoda has mentioned about this issue and they know what kind of person you are. Please walk if you don't have enough budget. Don't cheat our TUK TUK driver. Even our country is poor, your 5$ can't pay even our breakfast. Be honest and fair since you r from Europe country. You are the first one for me that asking for free pick up which costs exactly the equal our room price. I think it is not stupid for you since you do business like this in your country. If you want to meet me and agoda agency, please come to my guesthouse or email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    28
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
20
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The location, the staff and the space of the room are ok, but the rest......
The carpet in the room looks dirty, little carpets up on, to hide what?
The 2 beds of room 201 were made up strange, the sheets looked like when you protect something from dust. So no decent made up beds.
The shabby curtains hide a terrible view, right into the slums of Phone Penh. The windows half with bars, which made you feel like in prison.
No trashcan, no toilet paper and the towels looked used.
The telephone not working.
Ants in bed and a visit of a cockroach on the bed made it complete.
How come all the good reviews on TA???
Is 201 the only room like that? I can not believe that.
We booked by Agoda, already payed otherwise we would have left searching for an other place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TorretjedeCorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

i had a room with balcony which was great..i can watch the action on the street as it faces the market..lots of street food stalls in the area..and the main tourists sights are just a stone throw away no need for tuk tuk, just walk..clean rooms and the staff are very helpful..will definitely stay again when i go back to phnom penh

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyrc1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I would give 6 points if I could, but I can't.

We ended up in Golden Palace by chance, because our hotel before was terrible. We wanted to stay for one night, but ended up staying almost a week...! Nice large rooms, great area and super friendly people!! What do you want more...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

An affordable and comfortable guesthouse with clean environment. Beddings are clean and room for 3 person is very well-kept. Stayed in room facing main road but not noisy at night. Staff is helpful. Communication in English is not a major problem, simple basic English is understood for night shift staff and morning shift staff speaks fluent English. Bathroom and water is clean. Guesthouse is close to Royal Palace and riverside and Central Market.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Serene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolmie, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very happy with the room by SE Asian standards and good value for money. Aircon and shower good and cleanliness fine.

What was more important to me were the staff. They were all very keen to please and went out of their way to help me with a couple of tricky situations. My luggage was lost in transit from Aussie and I asked for the airline to deliver it to my hotel when it was found. That evening it turned up delivered to my room by the hotel staff so what more could I ask. Also one of the staff arranged for a locksmith to unlock the security padlock on my bag which somehow wouldn't open with the key. I am extremely thankful for all their help.

The managers English is very good, and while the others only speak limited English we managed to understand each other. On the one occasion they couldn't understand me (re my padlock situation) they phoned the manager and he spoke to me and then his staff and organised it.

They also organised my onward bus trip to Battembang for me - pickup from the hotel so what more could you want.

Room Tip: I had room 201 and was very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights, a friend of mine has been here before and she was right: next to a market and close to all touristic attractions, this sure is one of the best guesthouses in Phnom Penh. No bar, no restaurant, so of you want to meet backpackers you neef to go out. Especially the rooms at the back (I stayed in #301) are quiet. No view at all, but I don't need one since I only stayed in my room at night. Room came with a cooler and a tv.

En speciaal voor de Hollanders die dit lezen: prijzen zijn onderhandelbaar. Hij begon bij dertig dollar, maar toen ik zei max 10 te willen betalen was dit ok. Kwam ook deels doordat het guesthouse niet vol zat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan-Ynze v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#191 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#82 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Local - Riverside
The Local - Riverside
#137 of 333 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
#19 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fancy Guest House
Fancy Guest House
#15 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden River Palace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Property: Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Address: No.139, Street 13, Sangkat Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh,, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden River Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your long weekends in advance...Plan your visiting Phnom Penh, Kindom of Wonder ahead to benefit from our great deals! We offer a wide range of discount rooms to accommodate you and your family at an affordable rate. The Royal Palace, National Museum, Riverside and the Night Market are just 3 minutes by foot. Nightlife, restaurants and entertainment are just around the corner on Sisowath Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Golden River Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing