We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Ranked #159 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here for four nights during my visit in Phnom Penh. I stayed in a two-bed dorm which I paid $5 per night for. I think that's very good value regarding the standard and location. I shared the room with nice people, who I also hung out with during my time in the city. The staff is friendly and easy to deal with. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are on a budget I highly recommend the two-bed dorm.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Golden River Palace Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very clean and quiet. Everything's working from hot water to fridge, air-con, tv, wifi plus location is very central; short walking distance to the national museum, the night market, the Mekong etc. Friendly staff as well. Will come back !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Good starting point to visit the city, at walking distance from the royal palace, the national museum and the central market. 500 meters from the riverside and very close to the nightclubs area too.
Our room was clean but unfortunately without windows.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a room online only to arrive and find the door was made of clear glass and there was no curtain! The bathroom was really dirty as well so I asked for a refund but the manager wasn't interested as he already had my money. Terrible, and not what I needed after a 7 hour bus journey. Found a hotel called '19 happy' just round the corner which was cheaper and much nicer!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cancelthemilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasibona D, Owner at Golden River Palace Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Did not you stay in my dormitory room because of my room or Tuk Tuk driver? You cheated TUK TUK driver by not paying him any money. You stated that agoda advertising that our hotel offered free pick up. WHERE? Agoda and I myself clarify again and again that we don't provide free pick up. Dormitory bed costs you only 5$ and you asked TUK TUK from our hotel to your bus station near Chroy Chong Va bridge which is so far away from our hotel. Tuk Tuk driver charged you 5$ and it is NOT expensive. You insisted him not to pay any money as it is free. You said agoda sating free pick up. You are a native speaker and it can't be confused. I ask agoda to contact you about this issue. ARE YOU HONEST CUSTOMER? or AM I STUPID that you ask me to pay TUK TUK driver for 5$ in which that bed also costs 5$? Honestly, you would face a problem with police as the Tuk Tuk driver asked police to solve this problem on that day but you run away. Where you gonna hide your face among other foreign customers for the case of cheating TUK TUK for little money? Ask everyone around you, agoda representatives, and the reviewers here about free pick up service from AGODA. It is true or a FAKE made by U? Please come to my guesthouse and I refund your money back but don't forget to pay TUK TUK driver. Agoda has mentioned about this issue and they know what kind of person you are. Please walk if you don't have enough budget. Don't cheat our TUK TUK driver. Even our country is poor, your 5$ can't pay even our breakfast. Be honest and fair since you r from Europe country. You are the first one for me that asking for free pick up which costs exactly the equal our room price. I think it is not stupid for you since you do business like this in your country. If you want to meet me and agoda agency, please come to my guesthouse or email.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The location, the staff and the space of the room are ok, but the rest......
The carpet in the room looks dirty, little carpets up on, to hide what?
The 2 beds of room 201 were made up strange, the sheets looked like when you protect something from dust. So no decent made up beds.
The shabby curtains hide a terrible view, right into the slums of Phone Penh. The windows half with bars, which made you feel like in prison.
No trashcan, no toilet paper and the towels looked used.
The telephone not working.
Ants in bed and a visit of a cockroach on the bed made it complete.
How come all the good reviews on TA???
Is 201 the only room like that? I can not believe that.
We booked by Agoda, already payed otherwise we would have left searching for an other place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TorretjedeCorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

i had a room with balcony which was great..i can watch the action on the street as it faces the market..lots of street food stalls in the area..and the main tourists sights are just a stone throw away no need for tuk tuk, just walk..clean rooms and the staff are very helpful..will definitely stay again when i go back to phnom penh

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank ladyrc1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I would give 6 points if I could, but I can't.

We ended up in Golden Palace by chance, because our hotel before was terrible. We wanted to stay for one night, but ended up staying almost a week...! Nice large rooms, great area and super friendly people!! What do you want more...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#77 of 272 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#217 of 272 in Phnom Penh
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic House
Nordic House
#79 of 333 in Phnom Penh
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Local - Riverside
The Local - Riverside
#125 of 333 in Phnom Penh
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
#92 of 333 in Phnom Penh
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
19 Happy House Backpacker
19 Happy House Backpacker
#128 of 246 in Phnom Penh
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden River Palace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Address: No.139, Street 13, Sangkat Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh,, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £9 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden River Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your long weekends in advance...Plan your visiting Phnom Penh, Kindom of Wonder ahead to benefit from our great deals! We offer a wide range of discount rooms to accommodate you and your family at an affordable rate. The Royal Palace, National Museum, Riverside and the Night Market are just 3 minutes by foot. Nightlife, restaurants and entertainment are just around the corner on Sisowath Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden River Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing