We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Educational yet fun-filled tour in Nature

From the moment of pickup to the end of the tour, they made us feel most welcomed with amazing... read more

Reviewed 20 August 2021
178sachik
,
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Simply put: The best day I’ve had in over a year!

Hands down the best way to spend a day in Cambodia. Wildlife, nature, it doesn’t get much better! I... read more

Reviewed 26 July 2021
Q151DLdavids
Read all 847 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Phnom Penh
from US$15.39
More Info
from US$23.00
More Info
from US$49.00
More Info
from US$15.39
More Info
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
535
164
84
46
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
535
164
84
46
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews behind the scenes sun bears feed the animals baby monkeys prosthetic leg large enclosures money goes buy bananas tuk tuk amazing animals an amazing experience animal sanctuary day tour zoo gibbons otters tiger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Another great day with the family loved greeting to see lucky again and all the other animals at the park once again great staff very knowledgeable and made our day very enjoyable, so much packed into the day including a great lunch just loved getting up close with so many of the animals and hands on with the elephants and nursery full of cheeky monkeys is great, fantastic day will be booking again for next time we are in Phnom Penh

Took so many pictures can't upload them all

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Suzi1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildlifeRescueTours, Guide at Phnom Tamao Wildlife Rescue Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the park for the second time! Every tour can be different so I hope you had a new and exciting experience, while saying hello to some old friends! Thank you for your continued support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

It's a long, dusty road to get here, but it's definitely worth the trip if you like animals. The zoo is spread over many acres with large enclosures for the wildlife. Staff presence is minimal so you are free to wander around. Self-styled 'guides' might offer their services, but best to tell them no, otherwise you'll be stuck with someone pointing at a crocodile and telling you "It is a crocodile" and expecting you to pay them for the privilege. There is a fantastic collection of tigers living in relatively spacious enclosures. Avoid public holidays when local people descend to taunt caged reptiles and throw plastic food bags into the enclosures. Bring your own food as catering facilities are pretty dire. And watch out for the monkeys.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Flyingmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildlifeRescueTours, Guide at Phnom Tamao Wildlife Rescue Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your support and your review. I am sorry that you weren't able to hire an official guide to show you around the park. Unfortunately as they have other responsibilities in the park they are not always available. The park is quite large as you mention and it can be difficult to understand the stories of the animals kept there. Rubbish especially in animal enclosures is a problem, and we are working on raising awareness and making more bins available to the public. We hope you are able to visit again, and encourage you to request a guide so that you might have a more insightful view into the work that is being done. Thank you again for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We arrived at gates and paid the $5 US. You can buy fruit and treats for the animals before you enter the animal zone. Don't worry, the vendors will find you. LOL I bought $20 US. worth of goodies. They all love bananas ..... lmao

Great fun feeding the animals, especially the elephants. Walk around the elephant enclosure until you find an area where you can get close enough to feed them out of your hand. An amazing experience.

Totally worth every $$ spent. Do it for you and the animals; you won't regret this. Also, it gets you away from the craziness of Phnom Pehn.

We didn't take a guide; but in hindsight, it probably would have proved worthwhile. The signs and other info. were there, but we were missing the "interaction".

Cheers

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank chefdano49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildlifeRescueTours, Guide at Phnom Tamao Wildlife Rescue Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the park and that you were able to feed some animals treats! As you mention signage is not always available, and to get the best experience I do recommend that our visitors request a guide. This is an area we are striving to improve upon. Thank you so much for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

This is referred to locally as the country's only zoo. There is a $5.00 entry fee for foreigners ($1 for Cambodian citizens) and I suggest hiring a guide for $15.00. It is easily possible to wander through without the guide but it is great to hear about the wildlife and in particular the stories of the individuals who have been rescued and brought here. The animals are in appropriate enclosures and well cared-for. Beware of the local monkeys that trail you for treats. The wild pigs were much easier to deal with. There are snack and drink stands spread throughout.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 57txtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildlifeRescueTours, Guide at Phnom Tamao Wildlife Rescue Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am very happy to hear that your felt your guide had valuable information regarding the animals who stay at the park. Thank you for your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We did a behind the scenes day with the charity, Free The Bears and I highly recommend it. Our fantastic guide, Ronnie has worked at the park for 10 years, so there is no better person to take you around for the day and tell you stories about the animals. The focus is on the 120+ bears there, meeting them and preparing food and treats for them and discovering why they are endangered. After a delicious, home cooked lunch, we also had time to see some of the other animals in the park too. Transport and lunch is included in the price. Price varies depending on group size.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Darce1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews