We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
One Up - Banana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 317 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Sadly only got to stay one night but very happy with everything. Very clean and happy surprise the rooms are so big. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked our friends in the following night! Nowhere is very far from anywhere really in PP and tuk tuks everywhere. Takes 30-40 minutes to airport.
Only had enough money for small bottle of water as we were leaving for family of 4 so manager kindly gave us a large bottle for free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camclanAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear camclanAucklandNZ,
Great review from a top reviewer! Thank you for that. We were also sad you only got to stay one night :-))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    94
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
288
97
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We got to the hotel on a hot afternoon in June 2014. They immediately took our bags from us, offered us cold towels and a delicious drink. They then told us that they had upgraded us to the penthouse suite, free of charge. A really great start, service-wise!

Unfortunately, my partner was up sick all that night because of a stomach virus. We were scheduled to check out early the next morning, but because of her health, we couldn't. I got in touch with the front desk who quickly offered me a reduced rate for another night's stay. They seemed genuinely concerned for my partner's health (she's fine now!) and offered to send up tea or new sheets.

I was very, very impressed at their level of professionalism and service. Though I wasn't surprised by it, given the TA reviews.

In terms of the hotel itself, it is straightforward, clean, and in a good location. Nothing fancy. Just what we needed - and at a great price.

Thank you to the whole staff at One Up and to Arun especially who treated us so well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willyliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Willyliam,
Thank you for your amazing review and to read about your experiences at One Up Hotel. It shows your fellow travellers that our staff really, genuinely, cares for the wellbeing of our guests. We do outperform our peers on the level of SERVICE. This is written with capital letter S in the mindset of our staff! We love our guests, we love our job. And that shows, consistently since 2 years, in our TripAdvisor rating.... Happy travels and kind regards to your partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

One Up Banana hotel is a wonderful place to stay. I can't say enough about the staff, and the room.

First - the staff. Yes, it's the staff that makes this place wonderful, and that's why I've placed their review before the room. Arun (the General Manager of the hotel) and his staff instantly became family to myself and my wife. They were able to cater to our needs, which was a pickup service from the bus stop (we traveled in from Kratie, and the "bus company" dropped us off in a different place than what was stated), and they were able to re-route their driver (Mr. Kin) to pick us up in a flash.

For all of our transportation needs, whether it was a tuk tuk, moto, or motorbike rental, Arun took care of us, and all for local prices. (Trust me, I checked dozens of times - I work in Purchasing, so that's what I do.)

He was even able to anticipate our concerns, like when the Giant Ibis bus company was late picking us up from the hotel. Before we could even ask him, Arun had already called, calming our fears of not getting picked up. Now that is service.

Next - the rooms. They were perfect. Nice sheets, comfy comforter, and extraordinarily clean. They cleaned the room daily, and got it back to how it looked when we checked in. Included 2 small bottles of water daily, which they left in the refrigerator. Shower stalls have a glass partition, keeping the bathroom dry.

Right in the heart of Phnom Penh, it has easy walking access to dozens of restaurants, both local and Western. It's set back a short way from the street, down a well lit alley way. So, noise is kept to a minimum when you need to get some sleep.

We took a side trip on a Honda XR250 down to Kampot for 4 days, and during that time, One Up Banana was able to store our bags safely without any charge.

Again, this is the best hotel we've stayed at on our trip to Cambodia, and likely in the top 5 of our six month SE Asia trip.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have a good view - but the top floor rooms give a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear DrSpeed,

WOW, that is an A-MA-ZING REVIEW!!!

Your review even managed to silence the owners, whom are by now already used to compliments for the hotel and its wonderful staff....

Indeed, we do our utmost best to pass on local prices for (any mean of) transport we organise for our guests. And we give tea, coffee and water for free with the room. Doesn't everybody also hate being in a big hotel and the fridge sells for triple the going rate? We do offer excellent value for money and care a lot for our guests holiday experience!

Thank you so much DrSpeed, just amazing....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Super friendly staff who is up at all hours to ensure you get to your room safely. Nice lil pub just outside full of some of the friendliest expats I've had the pleasure of meeting. Ac was great and wifi was ok. Tuk tuk drivers were always on hand. Loved my stay here, thank you guys!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi natalie w,

Our reception is staffed 24/7. We love our guests, arriving at any time of the day or night! Thank you for your review Natalie. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Clean, spacious and well designed rooms. Very friendly and attentive staff.

We stayed two nights and it was heaven on earth.

Best price value you could imagine.

I highly recommend staying in this hotel.

best Regards from happy travelers!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemens12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Clemens12345678,

"Heaven of earth" HA!! You are a funny happy traveler. But yes, we do offer the best price value amongst our peers. Hence, our TA rating :-))
And besides attractively priced rooms, our staff will to their utmost best to make sure you have an amazing holiday experience. Service, with capital S, that is hard to match! Thank you for your visit Clemens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Extraordinarily good value, friendly, helpful, great location etc etc. I couldn't recommend this place more. The rooms are lovely and even have a little kitchen. Many thanks to Arun and his outstanding team.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ramblingwoman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear ramblingwoman2014,

"Extraordinarily good value". We loved your review. We excel in the city for our High Value for Money Offer. One Up Hotel is spotless clean, a safe and quiet place to rest after a hectic day in town. Our Rooftop terrace garden offers a wonderful place to relax at the end of the day (our rooms there, number 12 and 13 are definitively worth the few extra dollars....).

We recommend guests to book directly with us to save you some money. Nowhere cheaper then directly booked! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I travelled with a group of 22 people and arranged everything directly with the hotel. The General Manager, Arun was very accommodating and helpful in terms of arranging the booking and even the airport transfer. The moment we arrived at Phnom Penh, everything was well taken cared.

With the price that we paid for, the quality of the rooms are very good. Everything is clean and all the basics are catered for. The hotel itself is a very good location with a lot of food options nearby.

The hotel staff are also very friendly and more than willing to help recommend us places to eat. We can't thank them enough for the hospitality. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahayu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Rahayu,

Thank you for your review! We were very happy to have been selected to accommodate your wonderful group and are quite happy everything went super smooth! It was a pleasure to have you and we hope we'll see you back in the future some day.

All staff, but especially Arun and Rith, hereby sends their warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
1.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Up - Banana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Up - Banana Hotel

Property: One Up - Banana Hotel
Address: Z9-132, Street 51 | BKK1, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — One Up - Banana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 14 great rooms, two with private balcony, and two on our beautiful rooftop. All our rooms feature: Mini Bar, Air Conditioning, In-room WiFi, 32" LCD TV, Kitchenette with fridge, Kettle Tea and coffee in room, Walk-in shower with hot water, Daily cleaning service, 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Up - Banana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing