We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 335 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I would give this hotel 3/5 stars after but after considerating those factors, i gave 2/5. Here's why

I booked deluxe twin on agoda and they advertised the room has city view but turnt out there was no window at all. Yes u can still have city view if u get out of the room and go to shared balcony. The hotel has no elevator though so u may consider stay at lower level because it's a pain to go up and down the stair after long tired day travelling around. Staff's English was bad except receptionist who can spoke just ok. The service was not good, asked for toilet paper when i left the hotel for dinner and came back, there was no toilet paper. Called receptionist again, and it took 10mins for them to bring to our room. There was hot shower on the first day, but from that day midnight to next morning, hot shower did nt work anymore. It was a bit inconvenient to take shower though as there was no place to leave your shampoo and stuffs. Breakfast was not in buffet style but make to order. There were 5 options ranged from West to East but waitress informed that i could only choose one. I picked fried noodle and it took 30 mins for them to prepare that dish and there were only 3 tables at that time. Btw my friend asked for omlette but end up having sunny side eggs. In the evening we asked receptionist to book us bus to HCMc but he said the office closed so he couldnot call. Went our for travel agan and we were able to book the bus to HCMc.
On the bright side, the hotel room looks nice and the food tasted good. We were able to request eraly check-in and late check-out. The location is lovely, close to alot of restaurant and riverfront. With-in walking distacne to Royal Palace, Wat Phnom and Central Market.

Room Tip: Asked for a room in lower floor as there is not elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamali71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Traveller,
Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience with fellow travellers. I am sorry that your room experience did not meet your expectation and would certainly look into your comments in detail and correct the defficiencies immediately. As for elevator, we have clearly specify our available facilities on Agoda of what we do and don't though.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we will have opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Regards,
Leakhena Ya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was a great hotel - good location - close enough to mekong buslines. Very affordable and modern/asian design. Very friendly and hospitable staff and great food. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We only stayed one night - but would have hapily stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jo B,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We proud ourselves in a great location, great service and our team is our greatest asset. I am very happy that you enjoyed the time spent in our hotel as well as this beautiful city though it was a short one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Leakhena Ya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Along the street 130, busy street , I dont know how quiet or loud at night because I stayed for 6 hours only, 2-3 mins walk to the riverfront, lots of food around , pubs too. The famous Lemonglass Thai Restaurant is just somewhere opposite.

Corridor to your room was charming , with dim lights The room was pretty surprising , a little step down to the room , nice bed and cosy. The bathroom was kinda like '' spa '' , cement floor and wall. I would recommended this !!

Giant Ibis terminal is just about 10 mins walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PanWeiMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review. Glad that you had a great time with us though it was short. We are indeed well located in the heart of Phnom Penh and touristic spots which is definitely an advantage. Your comment best matched our slogan ''Monsoon Boutique Hotel---Simply Unique". Thank you very much. We hope to seeing you back in Monsoon in the near future.

Regards,
Leakhena Ya

reservation@monsoonhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, centrally located, close to night market and river front. Staff are honest and wiling to help you extra miles .. just to help! Room with balcony are brilliant especially for smokers. Nice nearby halal Khmer restaurant and also Indonesia restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qalam_Kitaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to go above and beyond for our valued guests. Our staff work hard each day to make our customers feel valued and we are pleased that this was evident during your stay with us. We look forward to being of your service to you again soon.

Regards,
Leakhena Ya

reservation@monsoonhotel.com
023 98 98 56

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here on and off (between trips to siem reap etc) for 3 and a half weeks. We really loved it. The staff went out of their way to be kind and helpful at all times and were very smiley and friendly. The rooms were clean with air conditioning, a safe and mini fridge. One room we stayed in had a bath. We always had an extra bed and that was always comfortable and not an issue to the hotel. The owner was often around and was very friendly, trying to teach us some Khmer. Breakfast options were a little slim but nice enough and included in the price! It was a 2 minute walk from the river front where there are many restaurants and bars and the view is beautiful! The best location to be in! Right opposite a little shop and about ten minute's walk from the central market! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evieakiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. We could not be more delighted to hear you have had a great time with us! I will pass my staff on your comments. Certainly, location is our huge advantage when exploring the town, restaurants, and nightlife around.
Once again, thank you for your stay and we all hope to serve you again in the near future.

Regards,
Leakhena Ya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in August '13 with a group and they did pretty good for a group. Rooms were clean and well decorated, and the whole party enjoyed the stay. Some construction in building was noisy but that was temporary. Breakfast was good too. Close to riverside, and walking distance to markets, and the palace. The area is a little seedy at night though - but not in the hotel ever.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your positive review in regards to your recent stay with us. It was nice to read your kind words and I apologize for unnecessary annoyances that you have also noted.
We very much appreciate your business and look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
Leakhena Ya

reservation@monsoonhotel.com
023 98 98 56

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is completely worth the price I paid. The design and décor are great .The staff is always welcoming and ready to assist for any requirement. My special appreciation and recommendation for the manager Thary who speaks good English and makes you feel special.
The rooms are spacious and clean. Good quality linen and soft duvets. I was expecting a stench in the bathrooms as it was written in the forum earlier; but to my surprise, the bathrooms were perfect with no odour and an aroma incense placed within to give a better feeling
The bathroom has a large stone bath tub that can occupy even 3 people. It complements the décor of the place ; but some guests may not feel comfortable.
Only drawback is that the rooms have high ceilings and the air conditioner may take more than usual to cool down the entire room. It would have been ideal if the rooms would have been equipped with a ceiling fan so that the cooling effect would be quicker.
Breakfast is OK; but may not suffice the quantum that most business travellers are used to.
The hotel is surrounded by many Bars and night clubs. But nothing to feel intimidated about. I have observed many single lady travellers staying in this hotel without the slightest fear or embarrassment. The hotel is completely Gfriendly.
The rooms do not have a writing table; so may not suit visitors on business as you may have to use the laptop on the bed. However the Internet kiosk in the lobby is good and can double up for using your laptop for work.
The hotel has a SPA attached. Very clean and well maintained. Tell the therapist on you pain points and she will ensure that you have a relaxed spa experience rejuvenated for the entire day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randylim, Owner at Monsoon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your amazing feedback. This is with pleasure I am reading through your experience with us and could not be more delighted to hear you have had a great time with us! I will pass my staff on your comments. We all hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at Monsoon Boutique Hotel!

Regards,
Leakhena Ya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#29 of 277 in Phnom Penh
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 277 in Phnom Penh
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#32 of 277 in Phnom Penh
424 reviews
0.9 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#8 of 277 in Phnom Penh
266 reviews
1 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsoon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsoon Boutique Hotel

Address: #53-55 E, Street 130, Psar Kandal I, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £22 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monsoon Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Monsoon Boutique Hotel! Set in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Monsoon boutique hotel commands an excellent location with just a stone’s throw from the riverside and royal palace. Each of the 21 beautifully appointed guest rooms features superior amenities including high quality bed and pillow, complete towel set & Eco-life bathroom amenities, satellite TV, air conditioning, tea/coffee maker, hair dryer, mini bar and complimentary in-room Wi-Fi to give our guests a delightfully comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monsoon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing