We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One nighter only”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rain Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rain Rock Hotel
Ranked #145 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One nighter only”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Not worth the money spent. Stay elsewhere.

Con:
- terrible location, far from everything
- breakfast was awful. Upon check in was told by the person in charge that there wasn't enough guest so the buffet breakfast was canceled but we would be able to order from their menu. When we went to breakfast the next morning buffet was set up with barely any food. Tried to order from the menu but everything on the menu was unavailable. Ordered an omelette abs they brought us fried rice with so much msg in it. We ended up going out to eat.
- staff does not know much English except the bare minimum
- pick up service from airport not worth it as they sent a tuk tuk who parked outside the airport so you had to walk a way, not good if you had a long flight and kids
-staff are very loud in the hallways during the day so if you are jet lag and trying to rest it's not good
- room has balcony but it's so narrow there's no point to it at all

Pro:
-deluxe room is spacious and clean
- lots of storage space for your luggage

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castingshadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
10
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Hotel has not been a good experience: the location looks quite dangerous, the service is very poor and the food is really not nice.However the rooms are clean and you can reach the Russian Market quite easily
There are much better places in Phnom Pehn which cost the same

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eur0peangl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and although the rooms were nice, it wasn't four star standard. The bathroom was clean enough but the corners were dirty and I looked like they had swept the dirt into the corner instead of cleaning it up. Breakfast was very Asian which was okay but the rice and omelette and other food was all cold. The room was, however, very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biscarrosse, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I spent 2 + 1 days in this hotel in January. It s a **** hotel. Rooms corridors and lobby were very clean. For my first stay I asked for a large bed in a quite location. I had a very small deluxe room (less than 30 sq m indicate on my reservation via hotels.com -expedia-) a little bit noisy -there is some constructions outside and Cambodian people cant drive without horning....They don t have double glassed windows as we have in Europe! For my second stay I ask why the room is so small. The lobby told me that they have big rooms but with 2 beds. So I change easily with the lobby people, very courteous and helpful. They speak good and fluent English with a characteristic Asian accent! And I had a very big room (30 sq m) and very quite with a city view. The rooms have very good equipments and amenities. There is a big shower ( a l italienne). I had free pick up from the airport and from the bus station ( only one pick up for each booking : you have to pre-book and to give your flight or bus details). They have free wifi internet. Sometimes there were incommode smells in the bathroom (Cambodia people dont have the same water evacuation system as we have). This hotel is a bit far from the city but the cost of a tuk-tuk taxi to go downtown is around 2 US$. Good clean and quite place to stay outside the noisy nightlife of the Cambodia Capital.

Room Tip: Simply ask by mail the exact room you want after you have booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianMONCEAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

New hotel, with a very nice room and clean , room view to city, it just 10 minutes walk to super market, front desk staff can speak well English and Chinese...breakfast buffet ,test good... i am happy and feel comfort to stayed there, coz quiet at night time no any one disturb... the important is good rate with free airport pick up too.

Room Tip: Twin room are large side for 2 Pax, but am happy with double coz am staying alone..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I made a reservation via email at Rain Rock Hotel to stay there for 8 nights in March 2013 but the "devil was in the details" so I cancelled! I was corresponding with the manager so whatever he told me was undoubtedly their policy. Unlike other hotels I have stayed at in PP (from 2 star to 4 star) this one wanted a deposit of one-half my total amount upfront (immediately). Furthermore, he said, if I were to cancel for some reason, there would be no refund! That would be true even if I cancelled a month in advance. I tried to explain to him that other hotels where I have stayed have no such restrictions on their reservations but he wouldn't budge and gave me all the reasons why he had to do that. Further, he was going to charge me more if I booked directly with the hotel than if I used Agoda or Trip Advisor to secure my reservation. First he said Agoda's quoted price online was their 2012 prices. Then when I explained that Agoda's price was still $27 per night instead of the $35 he quoted me, he backed down from that argument and then said Agoda could afford to offer per night prices for less. Coupling all of that with the location of Rain Rock which is "nowhere" according to my PP friend who went there to check it out, I just gave up and will now make reservations back at Silver River where I have stayed before and where I never have problems.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank arizonawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

My room was very small. No safe in room. Bathroom was also small. Air conditioning and TV was good. Not in the best location. Breakfast was not good; the "hot" dishes were cold. The hotel had promised to pick me up from the bus station but I guess they forgot (I don't know the reason as there were no apologies - I had emailed to remind them just a few days prior) as there is complimentary pick up. When I called, it was hard to communicate so I just took a Tuktuk. When I got there, and had explained what happened, they did not say anything. In the end, I made them give me a ride to the airport for free.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Shaly Boutique Hotel
Shaly Boutique Hotel
#80 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#206 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirirom Crystal Hotel
Kirirom Crystal Hotel
#112 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
#90 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
#79 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.3 mi away
Relax Hotel
Relax Hotel
#214 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rain Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Rock Hotel

Property: Rain Rock Hotel
Address: #6AE, Street 150, Veal Vong | 7 Makara, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rain Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened, our hotel has spacious guestrooms that offer a spectacle view of city, sunset, sunrise and the state of the art facilities. Free one way airport pickup and free return transport to Royal Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rain Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing