We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice option in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 327 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A nice option in town”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here just one day but we enjoyed it a lot. The room was spacious and clean, it was facing to the street so we had some noise during night. The breakfast was very basic and poor, surprisingly fruits had poor quality in a tropical country. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoww2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

As a fairly good mid-price option (c.50 USD per double room) in central Phnom Penh we can recommend Khmer Surin. After our first stay here and a few days at the beach we were happy to return to the hotel to have a good and reliable contact point. The bed- and bathroom are nicely decorated, it's spotless clean, the street is quiet in the night and the breakfast offers good choices. The best part are the many plants and flowers everywhere - so it feels like a small oasis in buzzling Phnom Penh.
Given the fact that Khmer Surin operates an impressive large restaurant (that's the core business with more than 300 seats, the rooms seem to be an add-on) the atmosphere however was a bit unpersonal - rather like in a hotel and not a small guesthouse. The service was fine, though.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sascha_and_Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Khmer Surin is a great boutique guest house. We stayed on level 3. The staffs are genuinely nice, and would go to an extend to accommodate. My friend left his wallet on the coffee table, and it was there when we come back. I would book that hotel again in a heart beat.

Here are the detailed reviews:

The goods:
- Safe environment
- Convenient location
- Great service, and there is a restaurant right downstairs (it's quite expensive for Cambodian's price)
- They have a balcony where you can sit down
- Very nice decor, and the rooms are newly renovated
- There is a lift

The bads:
- There's no swimming pools or spa
- The restaurant is quite expensive, I would recommend Tom Yam Kong, which is the next street up to the main street
- They reception closes around mid night, so DO TAKE THE PHONE NUMBER OF THE GATEKEEPER if you plan to stay out. We were scared we were locked out one night we went out.

Good luck with your trip, and have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhatAboutThisAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I live in Phnom Penh and hosted a group of 19 people in early October, 2013. I looked at several places but landed on Khmer Surin because they had space enough for my group and they gave me a nice discount for a group my size. It has more of a guesthouse feel than a big hotel and the restaurant is really relaxing and lovely. You feel in the middle of the jungle while you eat your dinner but just outside the city bustles. We had one group lunch at the restaurant and I've eaten there several other times and the food is quite good Khmer food. It's not fancy but the sanitation is good and it tastes great. They did a great job of taking care of my group including dealing with people who left things in the safe and booking extensions for someone who had a passport stolen (not at the hotel). This guesthouse is in the heart of a good safe place in the city. It's not on the popular riverside but I think that might even make it safer. It's central enough for all of the attractions you'd want to see in Phnom Penh and there are a slew of good restaurants and massage places nearby. I personally really like East/West massage around the corner on 278. The owner is Thai and he's taken time to really train the young men and women who work there.

I'd use Khmer Surin again in a heartbeat. The only reason why I don't give them a five start is no pool and one of my participants arrived and there was water standing in the floor in her room. I think there was a plumbing problem. This participant simply moved in with another guest which she did without complaint and Khmer Surin never charged me for the room. They made everything easy.

Room Tip: I think the rooms not on the main street are probably quieter although no one complained. Every roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Pros:
Very comfy bed
Rooms & building decorated with a lot of taste (it does actually look like in the pictures)
Lot of greenery > quiet & refreshing
Very helpful staff
Copious breakfast (included)
Located right in BKK area, close to the touristy area (Royal Palace etc.) and not too far from Russian market area

Cons:
As always in such place, overpriced restaurant, so I'd recommend lovely "Café Soleil" in the same street

Conclusion:
If you are not on a budget, this place will make you love Phnom Penh even more

Room Tip: If you go for a "Deluxe room", ask for C9, it's bigger and better furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louzdelaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We are so happy we stayed at the Khmer Surin Guest House.
The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, the restaurant ambiance is magical, the food is superb and the attention formidable. If you visit Phnom Penh you will find a peace of paradise in Khmer Surin.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is pretty close to perfect. It is well located on a reasonably quite street close to a number of good restaurants, bars and shops. The public areas of the hotel are lovely with a garden feel. My room was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and generally very lovely with a genrously-sized balcony. The breakfast in the lovely dining space was plentiful and the staff were friendly and helpful.

I cannot fault this place. I will be returning to Phnom Penh and I will stay here again. My only disappointment is that I couldn't stay here longer.

Absolutely excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 270 in Phnom Penh
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 270 in Phnom Penh
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 270 in Phnom Penh
856 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,637 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#7 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse
Address: House #11A, Street 57, Sangkat Boeung Keng Kang I | Khan Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Khmer Surin Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing