We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chocolate Shop

The Chocolate Shop
Ranked #3 of 42 Dessert in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: Cafe, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Just two doors down from The Shop 240 is The Chocolate Shop 240, a charming air-conditioned haven of Belgian chocolates and excellent coffee located on the ground floor of a colonial-period house. Should you wish, you can order your lunch from The Shop 240 and enjoy it at The Chocolate Shop while your eyes feast on the tempting display case full of delicious, handmade chocolates.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Came across this place just walking around and absolutely loved it! Well cooled inside to escape the heat and then great chocolates and drinks were excellent too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Chocolate, Average beverage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Chocolate by the shop is well-decorated and good for escaping the heat outside.
They have many types of chocolate, truffle, almond and many praline chocolates.
They also serve food and beverage. The beverage is so so for me. The price for chocolate
is not too expensive and maybe the best chocolate shop in town. Nice seat and wifi.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wander-Beaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great quality for price chocolates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Taste: 4.0
Cost: 4.5
Service: 3.5
Decore: 4.0

Good display of chocolates in the shop.

Simple, but nice and cozy decor.

Not surprising or anything but you can get decent quality chocolates at like 70 cents a piece. Amazing quality for price.

Espressos are also decent (although could do better considering that the machine is a La Cimbali) and served at an amazing price of 1.5$.

Overall, great place to relax with good quality chocolate and drinks.

Helpful?
Thank VivaCambodia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
280 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Belgian chocolates with Cambodian soul, absolutely great. It was on my to-try list and stopped there for an afternoon coffee, with some chocolates aside, and I was not disappointed at all, a heaven for those choco-holic (like I am!). I tried the following (they have many more tastes):
- armangnac
- lime basil
- chili
- keffir lime
- ginger
- kampot pepper
Coffee was great as well, a very relaxing and tasting experience.
Just a little bit pricey, but it definetely deserves a try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maxscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
354 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Kampot Pepper Chocolate...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I came here on my first visit to Cambodia in 2010 for the Kampot Pepper Chocolate, sold then in thin slabs. In the years since then, we've made special stops to pick up orders on the way to the airport and I know my husband made a daily trek to the shop whenever we've stayed near it, but I haven't gone. This time, I was alarmed when I didn't see the pepper chocolate, but it is still there, in little squares now, and just as good as that first time. We also picked up some truffles and other chocolates and brought them back to our hotel. The mini-fridge is like a magnet tonight.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pagesixtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chocolate Shop also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing