We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need some improvement ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Ranked #37 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Need some improvement ”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Every room has a nice wallpaper, Nice location( near to Russian market) . however, the air cond doesn't work very well. Besides that, a exhaust fan is needed in the toilet (pungent smell). The puller of drinking water machine at breakfast area need to be fixed too. Last but not least, Only 4 person can use the lift for each ride even though there are still plenty of space.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Chan,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa and taking the time to share your comments with us.
We’re glad to see your review that you liked the location of the hotel. The hotel is closed to Russian Market and Toul Sleng Genocidal museum.
We would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the smell, air-conditioner and free takeaway drinking water machine. our maintenance team has already fixed them.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback. We hope that we will have a pleasure opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    186
    78
    21
    17
See reviews for
60
120
63
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel features a nice pool on ground level and a smaller one on the rooftop, where you can also find a bar. Be advised that the location is not very central and officially offers bicycles, which didn’t exist when we were actually there, and the tuk tuk to the centre costs four dollars every ride. The room was very simple but more or less clean, apart from the floor at the day of our arrival. Sleep quality was good. The hotel was understaffed due to Khmer New Year, but the staff where all in all very friendly. On the upside, we probably had one of our best hotel-breakfasts in South East Asia here. A bit too pricey for what you get – we paid 30$ for a double room per night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5months2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your reviews for recent stay experience at Frangipani Living Arts Hotel and Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast. Our chef has created a lot of choices for both Asian and Western. Sorry for some of items and services were not met your expectation. Was that too pricey for accommodation USD30 a night in term of value of money you paid and in return hotel has full facilities such as pool, spa, restaurant, rooftop bar and its services?

Anyway, should you plan your next trip to stay at any Frangipani Villa Hotels either in Phnom Penh or Siem Reap, we’re more than happy to offer you, your family or friends a very special discount of 15% on best available rate for direct booking only.

With best wishes,
Hotel Management
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice rooms. With cool art on the walls . They have a small rooftop pool with city view. Helpful and fluent English speaking staff :-) breakfast is good but nothing to brag about.
But i ordered a massage in the spa. And to be honest, that was a huge disappointment . Beside that.
Good stay, maybe I'll be back. :-P

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jonas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Jonas,
We really appreciate and sincerely thank you for your recent stay sharing reviews with us. We're all glad to receive your positive feedback on room décor, breakfast and our staff. Sorry to hear about your massage experience.

We’re pleased to offer you, your family or friends a very special discount of 15% on best available rate for direct booking only for your return trip in the future visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in a short distant future.

With personal regards,
Hotel Management
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in mid April and overall the hotel is excellent and I would highly recommend the large and comfortable deluxe rooms.

Pro's -
1. the deluxe rooms are huge with aircon, safe, small balcony and a huge, comfortable bed.
2. The sky bar has amazing views, a bar and you can order food and drinks and it has a small plunge pool to soak in.
3. The main pool is quiet and set in the centre of the hotel, it was out of action while we stayed but it looked very nice.
4. Breakfast was excellent with a mix of cereal, western hot and Cambodian. It even had an omelette station!
5. Free wifi that was quite fast all over the hotel.
6. Free computers in the lobby
7. A spa. We didn't use it but it looked nice.


Con's -
1. the bathrooms are suffering the effects of a hot humid environment. The pressure and heat is fine and they are clean enough it's just impossible to get all the mould in the corners.
2. Location - whilst it is very close to the Russian Markets (very good by the way) it is quite a bit further away from the waterfront area than we were expecting. It's about a 10 min tuk tuk ride away which costs between $2-4 each way depending on how hard you want to haggle.

Requests - ask for a room away from the elevator! Not because it was loud because it wasn't it's just the people waiting for it in the morning are really loud, we were woken up both days really early by some children from NZ on a school trip laughing and joking right at our door.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danniell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Danniell,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments on this forum. We are delighted to know that you liked our room, breakfast, sky bar and other facilities. Further to con’s comment, it’s hot season in Cambodia now it might effect as the bathroom is just close to the balcony’s doors. With regards to the mold, our maintenance team is touching up all guest’s bathroom. It would be no problem.

Thank you ones again for your patronage, and we hope to have you back again very soon!

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe room. The price was competitive which enticed us and we felt as though we got good value for money

It's not a luxurious property but was kept clean the roof top pool and bar area was nice


It's in a quiet area which was good for us, and tuk tuks were cheap and easily accessible
For exploring the city

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eddie100012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Eddie,

Thank you so much for choosing The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa for your recent stay. The hotel is located in tranquil area, closed to Russian market and Toul Sleng genocidal museum.

Thank you ones again for your patronage, and we hope to have you back again very soon!

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed in the Frangipani hotel along with 2 colleagues during a business trip in November. The hotel is a good basic hotel and we were very pleased with the choice. It is close to the market and we felt safe in the area. Easy to find a Tuk Tuk as well.
My room was quite big with a nice double bed and ensuite bathroom. Decor very light and tasteful.
Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed an early evening drink at the roof top terrace.
If anything to put a finger on it would be the bar opening hours. We arrived around 10pm on a saturday evening and found the bar closed and was unable to order any food. At that time at night we didnt feel like going out to look for food, so went to bed on an empty stomach.
The following evening we tried to get a drink in the bar when we arrived back to the hotel after dinner (around 9pm), but again the roof top bar was closed. Such a shame as it has amazing views over the city and is the perfect place for a night cap.
The hotel staff though was absolutely brilliant and helped us contact the airport and airline after our luggage was lost and arranged for it to be sent to the hotel.
My colleagues have already stayed at the hotel a second time and I would definitely go back again too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your reviews on this forum. We are pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with our services, and staff. We have shared this review with our entire team and they are all excited after reading this review.
Sorry to hear that you were not able to spend your time on our rooftop bar during the night. We have extended the operation hour till mid-night now. Guest can enjoy Happy Hour from 17:00-19:30. All drinks are 50% OFF

Should you plan your next trip to stay at any Frangipani Hotels either in Phnom Penh or Siem Reap, we’re more than happy to offer you, your family or friends a very special discount of 15% on best available rate for direct booking only.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Management
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed here in January 2014 while visiting a friend living in Phnom Penh. My overall stay was for 10 days, with a 3 day visit to Siem Reap in the middle. This is not a great hotel for the loan traveller as the clientele seem generally to be people passing through so not really a friendly atmosphere. Has the feel of a backpacker hotel with extras. My rooms were overall ok, basic but clean, hot shower, but nowhere really to hang or store clothes, so had to live out my suitcases. I would say it is overpriced for what it offers.

My main complaint is that after leaving my luggage in store at the hotel for three days while I visited Siem Reap, when I returned it had gone missing. I was given a variety of reasons over the next 24 hours - someone had taken the store key home and I would get my luggage int the morning; it was being stored somewhere else in the city and would arrive by lunch time; it was on its way in traffic and would be back by 6.00 pm. All obviously untruths. It eventually turned up by tuk tuk at around 6.30pm. Another guest overheard me asking for a proper explanation and told me that she also had a case missing and believed it had been mixed up with that of a large party and was on its way to Hong Kong! You could say that 'all well that ends well', but all I was offered by way of compensation was a free massage - I was nursing a fractured shoulder at the time and did not want a massage. No-one ever actually apologised, no-one gave me a truthful explanation or even apologised. I requested to speak to the manager but he didn't have the courtesy to meet my request. Having refused the massage I received no compensation whatsoever and when I checked out there was a dispute about two fizzy drinks from the room fridge on my bill that I didn't drink.

So for a short stay the accommodation is ok if you don't mind a clean but anonymous sort of hotel, but the customer service is very poor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for sharing your reviews while you were staying with us in January. With regards to the room rate is very moderate rank from USD40 - USD50 per night as we have full facilities such as pool, restaurants, spa, rooftop bar and services so on. However, it might a bit higher for the month of January due to it was peak season in Cambodia.

Our architect team has designed each hotel with different styles. You may feel surprised to see the hook of clothes hanger attached to the wall. That’s the place where you can hang your clothes.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused which was related to luggage storage case. We will definitely improve it.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#19 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#47 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diamond Palace Resort and Sky Bar
1.1 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#20 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa

Property: The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Address: # 15 Street 123, Khan Chamkarmon, Toul Tompoung (Russian Market), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa is located in a quiet residential street near the Russian Market (Psa Toul Tom Pong), the Frangipani Living Arts Hotel and Spa has been designed by architects specialized in tropical architecture. The landscape artist designed the exterior which includes gardens, two swimming pools and lounge and spa. Completed in late 2012, the hotel is the main property of Frangipani Villa Hotels, a chain of boutique hotels in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap.The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel and Spa is the first 4-star hotel in Toul Tom Pong, an increasingly fashionable neighborhood in southwest Phnom Penh. It has 75 rooms with balconies including 60 superior and 15 deluxe rooms with both double and twin beds. We also have two suites with double beds. All rooms are air-conditioned and most have full-sized baths. Room service offering both Asian and Western food is available 24 hours a day. The 10-story hotel has two bars, a business center, banquet facilities and a meeting room capable of seating up to 130 people.The hotel’s proximity to the Russian Market, a few minutes walk away, makes it an ideal location in an area that has undergone significant refurbishment in recent years but still retains the old charm of Phnom Penh in the 1960s. The market has long been one of the city's premier tourist attractions, especially for Soviet visitors in the 1980s, and now offers a vast array of souvenirs, local silk and other fabrics, clothing and footwear as well as the latest DVD releases. Numerous cafes and restaurants offering a wide variety of Asian and Western cuisines are located in the area which also has banks and ATM facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing