We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No genuine effort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Kiwi Guesthouse
Ranked #149 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No genuine effort.”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed at Blue Kiwi for a whole week with friends. Initially the place seems okay, the rooms were clean, the location was central and the wifi worked in the rooms (rare find for us). However after a closer look i just cannot recommend this guesthouse. The place looks fairly new, to the point where its unfinished and badly thought out. Where do i start, well the bathroom just was unfinished grout still all over tiles, weird pipes leaking water and theres a bath tub and hot water however they havent made it possible for you to have a warm bath as the hot water shower head just dribbles. The room is ok except you dont actually get blankets just the linen cover which isnt quite enough (even in asia). The main thing is that there is no sound proofing on the windows and the place is situated right next to a school, at first this is quite charming but the students often have loud chinese band practice which is just crazy loud. Like koh phi phi beach rave loud. They have a rooftop which they encourage guests to use yet there is nothing up there, no seats or tables just concrete, rubbish and storage. Oh and the wifi and power just randomly went out, the wifi for whole days at times. The reception area is seedy, just a bar that at night is full of sad old men. The staff, friendly but uninterested. Its such a shame because it has alot of potential if they just put in a little effort. Alas, try elsewhere guys.

Room Tip: The guy who drives blue kiwis tuk tuk, I think his name is 'Otek' (so sorry im terrible with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss-n-Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    13
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
7
27
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms were basic but fine. Staff were disinterested and bored which made the central bar/breakfast area have a slightly odd vibe. The war films blasting at full volume all day didn't help.

Location is fine - but very near a seedy street.

If you're stopping for one night, this place serves a purpose.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouska13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights, really friendly owners who were happy to recommended restaurants and arranged a tuk tuk for the Killing Fields etc. Fantastic breakfast (not incl but v cheap) with real sausage and bacon, such a relief after months of terrible attempts! Great location nr Royal Palace and Sisowath Quay. Clean basic room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morovia, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Great room, great food and staff. Friendly place to hang out!! The owner is great to talk to and find the good places to go out breakfast was fantastic the bed had a real mattress and the air con was super cold and quiet. The anchor draft was less than a dollar a pint so I was a very happy customer. Thanks to all the staff will be sure to tell my friends.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I was only going to stay for a night or two , but ended up staying 10days . The welcome every day by the staff or owners was like family , the breakfast was awesome , like momma you's to make . Very clean rooms . Good location . I'll be coming back and bringing all my friends . Thanks Trevor & Sofia for a great time .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Kiwi for 2 nights after arriving very late into PP and staying at a Hotel that our tuk tuk driver took us to and can only be described as a dungeon it was so dark!

This hotel was sooo much nicer! The staff are super friendly, rooms nice, big and clean. They also contain good tv's and fridges.

Breakfast at the hotel is also very good with big size portions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Had a great time here the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is fantastic if you need advice on where to go out the owner knows his stuff about the city. My room was big and clean new aircon tv fridge it was really nice for twenty dollars. Close to everything and everywhere I wanted to go. Met some great people and staff organised my ticket to vietnam. Would recommend the blue kiwi to all my friends whenn they visit Cambodia thanks for a great week guys

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonlighttravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,439 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
771 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#44 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Kiwi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Kiwi Guesthouse

Property: Blue Kiwi Guesthouse
Address: Street 13, Sangkat Phsar Kandal I, | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Kiwi is a a 16 room Guesthouse in the heart of Phnom Pehn, offering rooms of various sizes and budgets.All rooms have free WIFI, clean comfortable beds, on suite bathrooms, and Air Con.At the time of writing most rooms have Flat Screen TVs and DVD players and in the near future all rooms will have these items, as well as in room safes.Our Bar/Resturant area is furnished to the highest standards, serving a mix of both European and Asian food with a well stocked bar and friendly english speaking staff is provides a comfortable place to have a bite to eat and a drink before exploring the nearby attractions and night life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing